Fiscal impact reports (FIRs) are prepared by the Legislative Finance Committee (LFC) for standing finance committees of the NM Legislature. The LFC does not assume responsibility for the accuracy of these reports if they are used for other purposes.

Current and previously issued FIRs are available on the NM Legislative Website (www.nmlegis.gov) and may also be obtained from the LFC in Suite 101 of the State Capitol Building North.

FISCAL IMPACT REPORT

SPONSOR	Pirtle	CRIGINAL DATE LAST UPDATED		НВ	
SHORT TITL	E Permanent Mounta	in Daylight Savings Ti	ne	SB	377/aSJC/SFI#1
			ANAI	YST	Jorgensen

ESTIMATED ADDITIONAL OPERATING BUDGET IMPACT (dollars in thousands)

	FY15	FY16	FY17	3 Year Total Cost	Recurring or Nonrecurring	Fund Affected
Total	NFI	NFI	NFI	NFI		

(Parenthesis () Indicate Expenditure Decreases)

SOURCES OF INFORMATION

LFC Files

Responses Received From
Department of Transportation (DOT)
Department of Public Safety (DPS)

SUMMARY

Synopsis of SFI Amendment

The Senate Floor amendment to SB 377 strikes "biennial" (occurring once every two years) and inserts in lieu thereof "biannual" (occurring twice a year).

Synopsis of SJC Amendment

The Senate Judiciary Committee Amendment to SB 377 strikes every instance of the word "savings" and replaces it with "saving".

Synopsis of Original Bill

Senate Bill 377 proposes setting "Mountain Daylight Savings Time" as the permanent year round time for the State of New Mexico and requires the Office of the Governor, prior to January 1, 2016, to apply to the United States Secretary of Transportation, "pursuant to the federal Standard Time Act of 1918," to have the State of New Mexico transferred to the Central Time Zone.

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS

There are no fiscal implications associated with enactment of the provisions of SB 377.

Senate Bill 377/aSJC/SFl - Page 2

SIGNIFICANT ISSUES

The DOT notes:

In the United States, Daylight Savings Time commences at 2:00 a.m. on Sunday, March 8, 2015. Accordingly, time in most states will advance forward an hour. Time will return to standard time on Sunday, November 1, 2015, when Daylight Savings Time ends. If this SB 377 passes, New Mexico will no longer observe Daylight Savings Time adjustments.

The federal government does not require states or territories of the United States to observe Daylight Savings Time. Residents of Arizona (except for Navajo Nation Reservation residents), Hawaii, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, American Samoa, Guam, and the Northern Marianas Islands have opted to enact legislation which authorizes them to not observe Daylight Savings Time adjustments.

Tufts University professor, Michael Downing, author of <u>Spring Forward: The Annual Madness of Daylight Saving Time</u>, has reported that each year at least 10, and often as many as 30 new bills appear in various state legislatures to advocate either permanently ending Daylight Savings Time or observing Daylight Savings Time all year long.

OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES

National telephone surveys conducted by Rasmussen Reports in 2009, 2010 and 2011 revealed that 47 percent of Americans "don't think the time change is worth the hassle," while 40 percent disagree.

CJ/bb