## 1 A JOINT MEMORIAL 2 DECLARING JANUARY 29, 2018 "SPACEPORT AMERICA DAY" AT THE 3 LEGISLATURE TO RECOGNIZE AND CELEBRATE THE SOCIAL AND 4 ECONOMIC BENEFITS PROVIDED BY SPACEPORT AMERICA. 5 WHEREAS, New Mexico is host to Spaceport America, the 6 7 first purpose-built commercial spaceport; and 8 WHEREAS, the federal aviation administration-licensed 9 launch capabilities at Spaceport America attract aerospace 10 industry members to perform secure and safe commercial space 11 activities in New Mexico; and 12 WHEREAS, Spaceport America is already home to some of 13 the most respected companies in the commercial space 14 industry, including Virgin Galactic; the Boeing company; 15 United Launch Alliance; UP Aerospace, incorporated; EXOS 16 Aerospace Systems and Technologies, incorporated; and 17 Pipeline 2 Space, incorporated; and 18 WHEREAS, Spaceport America has ideal conditions to 19 attract additional commercial space companies; and 20 WHEREAS, Spaceport America has exceptional capacity to 21 support those companies' needs for research, engineering,

22

23

24

25

WHEREAS, Spaceport America has hosted one hundred one launches, and its educational program has reached over six

launching and landing facilities; and

testing and manufacturing, as well as access to space flight

1	thousand New Mexico students in science, technology,
2	engineering and mathematics; and
3	WHEREAS, Spaceport America has the potential to anchor a
4	thriving commercial space industry in New Mexico encompassing
5	a broad range of support businesses that will contribute to
6	the New Mexico economy; and
7	WHEREAS, Spaceport America is already a major generator
8	of space operations, educational programs and tourism,
9	contributing significantly to the economy of southern
10	New Mexico and the entire state;
11	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE
12	STATE OF NEW MEXICO that January 29, 2018 be declared
13	"Spaceport America Day" at the legislature; and
14	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be
15	transmitted to the office of the governor, the secretary of
16	tourism, the secretary of economic development and the
17	executive director of the spaceport authority
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	

SJM 19

Page 2