•		

## SENATE BILL 3

## 55TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SPECIAL SESSION, 2021

INTRODUCED BY

Mark Moores

AN ACT

RELATING TO CONGRESSIONAL REDISTRICTING; ESTABLISHING
CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES TO
THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; CHANGING PROVISIONS OF THE ELECTION
CODE RELATING TO PRECINCTS; AMENDING, REPEALING AND ENACTING
SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

SECTION 1. Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, Chapter 240, Section 365, as amended) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-15 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-15. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE-CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ESTABLISHED.--New Mexico is divided
into three congressional districts to be known and designated
as congressional district one, congressional district two and
congressional district three."

SECTION 2. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE-CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS.--

A. Congressional district one is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 1 through 30, 32 through 44, 46
through 57, 59 through 62, 68 through 70, 78 through 87, 89, 94
through 96, 98, 100 through 138, 140 through 143, 145 through
239, 241 through 249, 251 through 259, 261 through 269, 271
through 287, 289 through 339, 341 through 550, 554, 560 through
569, 581, 583 through 594, 598 through 602, 604 through 628,
631 through 653 and 655 through 687; and Sandoval county
precincts 30 through 32, 34, 37, 39 through 50, 58, 60 through
63, 65 through 73, 75, 80 through 83, 85, 86, 96, 97, 100, 101,
103 through 111, 115 through 117, 120 through 129, 134 through
139, 142 through 151, 155 and 157.

B. Congressional district two is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 45, 58, 63 through 67, 71 through
77, 88, 90 through 93, 97, 99, 139, 144, 240, 250, 260, 270,
288, 340, 629, 630 and 654; Catron county; Chaves county;
Cibola county precincts 1 and 26; Dona Ana county; Eddy county;
Grant county; Hidalgo county; Lea county; Luna county; Otero
county precincts 1 through 55 and 57 through 66; Roosevelt
county precincts 1 through 5, 10 through 16 and 21; Sierra

county; Socorro county precincts 1 through 14 and 16 through 27; and Valencia county.

C. Congressional district three is composed of
Bernalillo county precincts 31, 551 through 553, 555 through
559, 570 through 580, 582, 595 through 597 and 603; Cibola
county precincts 2 through 25 and 27 through 30; Colfax county;
Curry county; De Baca county; Guadalupe county; Harding county;
Lincoln county; Los Alamos county; McKinley county; Mora
county; Otero county precinct 56; Quay county; Rio Arriba
county; Roosevelt county precincts 6 through 9 and 17 through
20; Sandoval county precincts 1 through 29, 33, 35, 36, 38, 51
through 57, 59, 64, 74, 76 through 79, 84, 87 through 95, 98,
99, 102, 112 through 114, 118, 119, 130 through 133, 140, 141,
152 through 154 and 156; San Juan county; San Miguel county;
Santa Fe county; Socorro county precinct 15; Taos county;
Torrance county; and Union county."

SECTION 3. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:
"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS.--

A. Precinct designations and boundaries used in the [1991] 2021 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] November 30, 2021.

B. The boards of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district, nor shall the boards of county commissioners divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional districts. Votes cast in an election to fill a vacancy in the office of United States representative or any general, primary or other statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."

SECTION 4. Section 1-15-17 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1969, Chapter 240, Section 367, as amended) is amended to read:

"1-15-17. UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--NOMINATION AND ELECTION.--One representative in congress shall be nominated and elected from each congressional district for voting purposes. Ballots for representatives in congress shall designate the office as congressional district [number] one, congressional district [number] two and congressional district [number] three. Only voters of each district shall be eligible to vote for the respective candidates of the district."

SECTION 5. TEMPORARY PROVISION--COMPILATION

INSTRUCTIONS.--The compiler shall remove from the NMSA 1978 the provisions of Section 1-15-15.2 NMSA 1978 (copy of congressional districts established by Judgment and Final Order in Egolf v. Duran, D-101-CV-2011-02942 (1st Dist. Ct., filed .221449.1

```
2
 3
 4
 5
 6
 7
 8
 9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
```

January 25, 2012)).

- 5 -