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 No  fiscal impact $13.3 $39.3 $52.6 Recurring General Fund 
Parentheses ( ) indicate expenditure decreases. 
*Amounts reflect most recent version of this legislation. 
 
Sources of Information 
 
LFC Files 
 
Responses Received From 
Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC) 
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New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD) 
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SUMMARY 
 
Synopsis of Senate Bill 363 
 
Senate Bill 363 amends the voluntary manslaughter statute.  Manslaughter is the unlawful killing 
of a human being without malice.  Voluntary manslaughter is manslaughter committed upon a 
sudden quarrel or in the heat of passion.  SB363 excludes from voluntary manslaughter a killing 
committed in the course of or during an escape from the commission of a felony or while 
resisting a lawful arrest by a law enforcement officer or another person. 
 
This bill does not contain an effective date and, as a result, would go into effect June 16, 2023, 
(90 days after the Legislature adjourns) if signed into law. 
 

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS 
 
Incarceration drives costs in the criminal justice system, so any changes in the number of 
individuals in prison and jail and the length of time served in prison and jail that might result 
from this bill could have moderate fiscal impacts. Although this bill creates no new crimes, the 
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intended increase of felony degree, or increase of sentencing penalties will likely increase the 
population of New Mexico’s prisons and jails, consequently increasing long-term costs to state 
and county general funds. The Corrections Department (NMCD) reports the average cost to 
incarcerate a single inmate in FY22 was $54.9 thousand; however, due to the high fixed costs of 
the state’s prison facilities and administrative overhead, LFC estimates a marginal cost (the cost 
per each additional inmate) of $26.6 thousand per year across all facilities.  SB363 is anticipated 
to increase the time incarcerated individuals spend incarcerated.   
 
Overall, assuming one person’s conviction and sentence is increased from a third degree felony 
(average length of stay about four years) to a second degree felony (average length of stay about 
5.5 years), resulting in an increase in the average length of stay of almost 1.5 years, this analysis 
estimates SB363 will result in increased annual incarceration costs of $13.3 thousand to the state 
beginning in FY27. The bill’s full cost impacts will not be felt until FY28. Costs to the state are 
estimated to be at least $13.3 thousand in FY27 and will rise to $39.3 thousand in FY28 and 
future fiscal years.  
 
Additional system costs beyond incarceration, such as additional costs to the judicial branch for 
increased trials or increased costs to law enforcement to investigate and arrest individuals for the 
expanded crimes under SB363 are not included in this analysis, but could have some impact.  
 
This analysis does not include potential benefits of crime deterrence due to increased 
punishment, as research shows sentence length has little to no deterrent effect. Certainty of being 
caught is a significantly more effective deterrent to criminal behavior than the severity of 
punishment if convicted.   
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
Changes to the crime of voluntary manslaughter proposed by this bill increase penalties for the 
existing crime. Research shows the certainty of being caught is a more powerful deterrent to 
crime than severity of punishment, and although laws and policies designed to deter crime focus 
mainly on increasing the severity of the punishment, this does little to deter criminals because 
most know little about sanctions for specific crimes. These findings suggest increasing penalties 
for crimes is unlikely to produce a significant impact on crimes committed. Incarceration (and 
length of incarceration) has also been shown to have a criminogenic effect, meaning time in jail 
or prison may make people more likely to commit crimes in the future. 
 
Prioritizing solving crimes and securing convictions, particularly for serious offenses, could be 
much more impactful than increasing penalties. In New Mexico, however, punishment has 
grown less certain as crime has increased, with fewer violent crimes solved and more violent 
felony cases dismissed. LFC’s evaluation team has found in the 2nd Judicial District (Bernalillo 
County) specifically, neither arrests, convictions, nor prison admissions have tracked fluctuations 
in felony crime, and in 2020, when felonies began to rise, accountability for those crimes fell. 
Improving policing and increasing cooperation and coordination among criminal justice partners 
could help increase the certainty of punishment for the most violent offenses and provide a 
stronger deterrent to serious crime than heightened penalties.  
 
As to the particulars of SB363, NMAG explains, voluntary manslaughter is: 
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A less serious offense than first- or second-degree murder. A defendant who cannot establish 
that he killed lawfully in self-defense may argue that he should only be convicted of 
voluntary manslaughter under an “imperfect self-defense” theory by claiming that the 
victim’s actions provoked such an intense emotion that the resulting homicide was less 
culpable. State v. Abeyta, 1995-NMSC-051, ¶ 17, 120 N.M. 233, abrogated on other grounds 
by State v. Campos, 1996-NMSC-043, ¶ 17, 122 N.M. 148. 

 
According to NMAG, HB363 would prevent such an argument when the killing occurs in the 
course of or during an escape from the commission of a felony or while resisting a lawful arrest. 
As LOPD points out, however, if the intent of the bill is to exclude this conduct from 
manslaughter and instead require that conduct be charged as murder, New Mexico already 
defines killing “in the commission of or attempting to commit any felony” as first degree murder. 
Section 30-2-1(a)(2) NMSA 1978.  This crime is known as felony murder. As LOPD notes, 
whether a person escaping is still “in the commission” of a felony appears to be unclear in New 
Mexico law. Amending the felony murder statute to include flight from any felony might address 
this issue more directly. Further, LOPD advises that: 
 

In New Mexico, the law already prevents a ‘first aggressor’ (for example, someone 
committing a dangerous felony) from claiming self-defense (either ‘perfect’ or ‘imperfect’). 
It is “well established in this jurisdiction that a defendant who provokes an encounter, as a 
result of which he finds it necessary to use deadly force to defend himself, is guilty of an 
unlawful homicide and cannot avail himself of the claim that he was acting in self-defense.” 
State v. Deleon, unpublished, S-1-SC-34808, ¶ 33 (NM S. Ct. 2017).  

 
However, LOPD goes on to advise, if self-defense is not a grounds for outright acquittal, under 
well-established law in New Mexico, the fact that a person acted out of fear for the person’s own 
life can reduce a homicide charge from murder to manslaughter. That agency warns that altering 
the existing law of self-defense likely would be litigated as unconstitutional. See New Mexico 
Constitution, Art. II sec. 4. 
 
Additionally, NMAG advises that even with SB363’s revisions, juries in many cases might still 
be instructed on manslaughter because the jury would need to resolve the question of whether, 
for example, the homicide occurred in the course of committing another crime.  
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
According to the LOPD, this bill has been referred to as to “Tyler Lackey Memorial Bill” in 
reference to a recent murder case.  NMAG provides this summary of the case: 
 

In State v. Chavez, 2022-NMCA-007, 504 P.3d 541, Matthew Chavez attempted to rob Tyler 
Lackey at an ATM. Lackey drew his gun and turned the tables on Chavez, who retreated to 
his nearby car. Lackey held Chavez at gunpoint, apparently trying to conduct a citizen’s 
arrest. Chavez drew his gun, shot Lackey twice, and sped off. The jury convicted Chavez of 
second-degree murder. The Court of Appeals reversed, holding that the district court should 
have instructed the jury on voluntary manslaughter under an imperfect self-defense theory. It 
found that a reasonable jury could have concluded that Lackey’s response sufficiently 
provoked Chavez such that the homicide was manslaughter instead of murder. Id. ¶ 26. Judge 
Hanisee, in his concurring opinion, specifically urged the Supreme Court or Legislature to 
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address this issue. Id. ¶ 52. The Supreme Court initially granted certiorari, but then quashed 
it, leaving the Court of Appeals’ decision intact.  

 
NMAG suggests that: 
 

SB363 would change the definition of voluntary manslaughter to address cases like Chavez. 
It would clarify that “a sudden quarrel or heat of passion” does not include any conduct 
occurring during the commission of or attempt to escape from the commission of a felony. It 
also could not include conduct that occurred while resisting a lawful arrest. Under the bill, 
the jury would likely not have found that Chavez committed voluntary manslaughter because 
he killed Lackey either: (1) in the course of attempting to rob him, (2) while trying to flee 
after attempting to rob him, or (3) while resisting a lawful citizen’s arrest.  

 
ALTERNATIVES 
 
LOPD recommends amending the felony-murder statute at Section 30-2-1(A)(2) to include the 
phrase “or flight from” (so that it reads “murder in the first degree may be caused…in the 
commission of, attempt to commit or flight from any felony”) as a more direct method of 
addressing the apparent intent of this bill. 
 
NMAG recommends another approach, explaining: 
 

An initial aggressor cannot claim that he acted in self-defense unless the victim 
responded with unreasonable force or he tried to stop the fight but the victim continued it. 
UJI 14-5191 and -5191A. SB363, together with State v. Gaitan, 2002-NMSC-007, 141 
N.M. 758, would create something like an initial aggressor rule for imperfect self-
defense. But the precise contours of the rules would be somewhat different, requiring 
separate jury instructions and legal analysis. The Legislature could unify the areas of law 
by providing that acting upon a sudden quarrel or in the heat of passion does not include 
circumstances in which the defendant was the initial aggressor. 
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