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Relates to House Bill 110 which seeks to increase the minimum wage and remove minimum 
wage exemptions.  
  
SOURCES OF INFORMATION 
LFC Files 
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Department of Health (DOH) 
Workforce Solutions Department (WSD) 
 
No Response Received 
Developmental Disabilities Planning Council (DDPC) 
 
SUMMARY 
 
     Synopsis of Bill 
 
This Bill repeals Section 50-4-23 NMSA 1978, which provides for reduced minimum 
Wages for persons with disabilities. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
The bill may have an indeterminate impact on DOH’s and WSD’s Operating Budget. With a 
change in labor laws, WSD may receive increased reports of violations and DOH may have 
impacts to their workload or services.  
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Furthermore, according to the Department of Health the fiscal impact is difficult to project in 
relation to repealing subminimum wage. As it relates to state general fund match, the impact 
could be decreased services or cause movement to other services.  
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
The United States Department of Labor/Wage and Hour Division under section 14(c) of the Fair 
Labor Standards Act has the authority to issue certificates, commonly known as 14(c) 
certificates, that allow employers to pay workers with disabilities less than minimum wage. A 
2012 the National Council on Disability report included a number of findings and 
recommendations regarding subminimum wage and supported employment. The committee 
determined there should be a transformation strategy to phase out the subminimum wage policy 
and increase the use of supported employment. Furthermore in September 2020, the U.S. 
Commission on Civil Rights released a report that determined the 14(c) program was 
inconsistent with the civil rights protections to which people with disabilities are entitled.  
 
According to the Workforce Solutions Department, New Mexico ranks forty-third in the nation 
in employment for people with disabilities. There are 169.3 thousand working age (18-64 years 
of age) New Mexicans with disabilities and approximately 34 percent or slightly over 57 
thousand are employed. 
 
According to the Governor’s Commission on Disability:  

In a report issued in September 2020, the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights found that 
section 14(c) of the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938, which allows employers to employ 
people with disabilities below the federal minimum wage, actually limits people with 
disabilities from realizing their full potential and allows employers to profit from their labor.  
 
Although the intent of section 14(c) was to support people with disabilities in becoming 
ready for competitive employment, it has not had that outcome. The Commission on Civil 
Rights recommends that repeal of subminimum wage laws should be paired with investment 
in other supportive work opportunities for people with disabilities. Some states have already 
started to implement subminimum wage phase out plans. The Commission’s report can be 
found here - https://www.usccr.gov/files/2020-09-17-Subminimum-Wages-Report.pdf  

 
According to the Department of Health: 

HB214 could have an impact on New Mexico Department of Health stakeholders and 
customers, including individuals receiving Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) 
through the Developmental Disabilities (DD), Mi Via, Medically Fragile, and Supports 
Waivers and State General Funded services for people with Intellectual and Developmental 
Disabilities.  

 
There are two (2) agencies in New Mexico who are certificate holders and use those 
certificates to pay their employees less than minimum wage.  Per the Department of 
Labor/Wage and Hour Division website, the two (2) providers in New Mexico are CARC, 
INC in Carlsbad, whose 14(c) certificate expires on January 31, 2021, CARC supports 59 
individuals, and Zuni Entrepreneurial Enterprises, Inc. in Gallup whose application is in 
Pending Status, so the number of individuals supported is unknown/unavailable. It should be 
noted that in January 2018 there were a total of 430 individuals who were permitted to make 
less than minimum wage in New Mexico.  The number of individuals who make less than 
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minimum wage has dropped significantly, as have the number of agencies holding 14 (c) 
certificates (down from three (3) to two (2)).  

 
The Developmental Disabilities Supports Division (DDSD) adopted an Employment First 
Policy in 2016 which “establishes procedures for supporting working age adults to have 
access to valued employment opportunities as the preferred service in New Mexico. Access 
to competitive integrated employment will enable the person to engage in community life, 
control personal resources, and receive services in the community.”  The policy also defined 
“Supported Employment” which means competitive, integrated employment for people with 
severe disabilities and a demonstrated need for support to obtain and maintain employment. 
Supported employment occurs in typical integrated business, industry, or government 
environments and includes:  Minimum wage or better; Support to obtain and maintain jobs; 
Opportunity for career development; and Workplace diversity.  Employment First has been 
integrated into the standards that dictate services provided in all waivers. More information 
on Employment First can be found here: Supported Employment (nmhealth.org)  

   
The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), passed in 2014, set restrictions on 
the use of 14 (c) certificates. Workers who are paid less than minimum wage are required to 
receive counseling about alternate employment options.  In New Mexico, the Division of 
Vocational Rehabilitation is the party who is responsible to provide this counseling. 
https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/fact-sheets/39h-14c-WIOA .  Subminimum wage is no 
longer considered a best practice and is being phased out in New Mexico.  Waiver services 
encourage and provide supports for individuals to move into competitive integrated 
employment.  

 
CONFLICT, DUPLICATION, COMPANIONSHIP, RELATIONSHIP 
 
HB110 also repeals the unused statutory provision (§ 50-4-23) that authorizes the employment of 
certain individuals with physical or mental disabilities at subminimum wage rates and also 
eliminates almost all other exemptions to the statewide minimum wage, which it increases to $15 
an hour by 2024, with subsequent annual increases tied to a cost-of-living index.  
 
SD/al             


