Revised: June 30, 2025

TENTATIVE AGENDA for the SECOND MEETING of the WATER AND NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE

July 1-2, 2025 New Mexico Highlands University Student Union Ballroom Las Vegas

Tuesday, July 1

-		
9:30 a.m.		Call to Order and Introductions —Senator Elizabeth "Liz" Stefanics, Chair
		—Representative Matthew McQueen, Vice Chair
9:45 a.m.	(1)	 Welcome and Local Updates —Neil Woolf, Ed.D., President, New Mexico Highlands University —David Romero, Mayor, City of Las Vegas —Harold Garcia, Commissioner, District 1, and Chair, San Miguel County Board of County Commissioners
10:45 a.m.	(2)	 Acequia Disaster Recovery Efforts —Paula Garcia, Executive Director, New Mexico Acequia Association —Debbie Hughes, Executive Director, New Mexico Association of Conservation Districts —John Romero, Director, Highway Operations Support Division, Department of Transportation (DOT) —Jonathan Martinez, Acequia Bureau Chief, Interstate Stream Commission —John Cyle Sharp, Technical Assistance Coordinator/Governmental Claims Contractor, Hermit's Peak/Calf Canyon Claims Office, Federal Emergency Management Agency
12:00 noon		Lunch
12:45 p.m.		Public Comment*
1:00 p.m.	(3)	Northeastern New Mexico Dams: Current Projects and Statewide Priorities —John T. Romero, P.E., Director, Water Rights Division, Office of the State Engineer (OSE) —Sushil Chaudhary, Chief, Dam Safety Bureau, OSE

- 2:00 p.m. (4) Hermit's Peak/Calf Canyon Fire Recovery and Funding Status
 - —Emily Hilla, Program Evaluator II, Legislative Finance Committee
 - —Ali Rye, Secretary, Homeland Security and Emergency Management Department (DHSEM)
 - —Jeremy Klass, Bureau Chief, Recovery and Mitigation Bureau, and Deputy State Coordinating Officer, DHSEM
 - —David Romero, Mayor, City of Las Vegas
- 3:15 p.m. (5) Drinking Water Systems Impacted by Fires, Floods and Drought
 - —Jonas Armstrong, Director, Water Protection Division, Department of Environment (NMED)
 - —Joe Martinez, Chief, Drinking Water Bureau, Water Protection Division, NMED
 - —Travis Martinez, Utilities Director (Water), City of Las Vegas
- 4:15 p.m. (6) <u>San Juan Generating Station and Mine Remediation and Restoration</u> Study Report
 - —Erik Munroe, Program Manager, Coal Mine Reclamation Program, Mining and Minerals Division, Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department (EMNRD)
 - —John Ayarbe, Senior Hydrologist, Daniel B. Stephens & Associates
 - —Jonas Armstrong, Director, Water Protection Division, NMED

5:15 p.m. Recess

Wednesday, July 2

- 9:00 a.m. (7) **Post-Fire Flood Issues**
 - —Jonas Armstrong, Director, Water Protection Division, NMED
 - —Jeremy Klass, Bureau Chief, Recovery and Mitigation Bureau, and Deputy State Coordinating Officer, DHSEM
 - —John Romero, Director, Highway Operations Support Division, DOT
- 10:00 a.m. (8) <u>Forest Management: Reforestation Centers, Buffer Program</u> Implementation and Economic Development
 - -Laura McCarthy, State Forester, Forestry Division, EMNRD
 - —Owen Burney, Ph.D., Professor, College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences, New Mexico State University
 - —Matt Hurteau, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Biology, University of New Mexico
 - —Peter Vigil, District Manager, Taos Soil and Water Conservation District
 - —Gerald Romero, District Manager, Tierra y Montes Soil and Water Conservation District

11:15 a.m. (9) Wildfire Prepared Act Implementation, Fire Planning Task Force
Updates and the Fair Access to Insurance Requirements Plan

- —Laura McCarthy, State Forester, Forestry Division, EMNRD
- —Alice Kane, Superintendent of Insurance, Office of Superintendent of Insurance
- —Julie Rochman, Member, Fire Planning Task Force; Retired Chief Executive Officer, Insurance Institute for Business and Home Safety
- —Miles Conway, Director, New Mexico Home Builders Association
- —Kendra Zacharias, Chair, Governing Committee, New Mexico Property Insurance Program

12:45 p.m. **Public Comment***

1:00 p.m. Adjourn

^{*}Members of the public may make virtual public comments during the public comment period of the meeting by following the instructions under the "Virtual Public Comment" section of the Water and Natural Resources Committee web-page.