Revised: August 9, 2019

## TENTATIVE AGENDA for the THIRD MEETING of the ECONOMIC AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

August 14, 2019 New Mexico Highlands University Margaret J. Kennedy Alumni Hall 905 University Avenue Las Vegas

> August 15, 2019 Plaza Hotel 230 Plaza Street Las Vegas

August 16, 2019
University of New Mexico-Taos
Klauer Campus
1157 County Road 110
Ranchos de Taos

## Wednesday, August 14 — New Mexico Highlands University

10:00 a.m. Call to Order, Introductions and Approval of Minutes

—Senator Benny Shendo, Jr., Chair

10:15 a.m. Welcome

—Sam Minner, Ph.D., President, New Mexico Highlands University

10:30 a.m. (1) Economic Development Department — Film Matters, Rapid Workforce

Development Act, Economic Development Innovation Task Force,

General Update and Legislative Priorities

—Alicia J. Keyes, Secretary, Economic Development Department

12:00 noon Working Lunch

- (2) <u>United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development</u> <u>Programs Overview</u>
  - —Arthur A. Garcia, New Mexico State Director, United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development
  - —Brian Smith, Arizona/New Mexico General Field Representative, United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development

- 1:00 p.m. (3) Rural Broadband Update from Relevant Entities
  - —Mike Ripperger, Chief, Telecommunications Bureau, Utility Division, Public Regulation Commission
  - Kendra L. Karp, Director, Office of Broadband and Geospatial Initiatives,
     Department of Information Technology
  - —Marquita D. Russel, Chief of Programs, New Mexico Finance Authority
  - —Brian Smith, Arizona/New Mexico General Field Representative, United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development
  - —Leo Baca, Director, Government and Regulatory Affairs, CenturyLink New Mexico
- 3:00 p.m. **Public Comment**
- 3:15 p.m. Tour of Broadband Facility: New Mexico Highlands University
- 4:00 p.m. **Recess**

## Thursday, August 15 — Plaza Hotel, Las Vegas

- 9:00 a.m. **Reconvene and Introductions** 
  - -Senator Benny Shendo, Jr., Chair
- 9:15 a.m. (4) SUN PATH Health Career Pathways
  - —Pamela K. Blackwell, J.D., Senior Policy Director, New Mexico First
  - —Kristen Krell, Manager, Academic Career Education, Santa Fe Community College
  - —Jenny Landen, R.N., M.S.N., Dean, School of Sciences, Health, Engineering and Math, Santa Fe Community College
- 10:15 a.m. (5) Cloud Seeding
  - —Mike Cone, Chair, Roosevelt Soil and Water Conservation District (RSWCD)
  - —Rick Ledbetter, Treasurer, RSWCD
  - —Charlie Marquez, Owner and Principal, Broad Spectrum Consulting, LLC
- 11:15 a.m. (6) **Economic Development in Las Vegas** 
  - -Allan Affeldt, Owner, Plaza Hotel, Las Vegas
- 12:15 p.m. **Lunch**
- 1:30 p.m. (7) Unmanned Aerial Systems Industry Opportunities and Challenges
  - —Jill Meyers, Owner, Meyers AeroConsulting
  - —Eugene C. "Cliff" Hudson, Chief Executive Officer, Emerging Technology Ventures, Inc.

- —Luca Ispirescu, Director, Business Development, Silent Falcon UAS Technologies
- —Gary Oppedahl, Vice President, Emerging Technologies, Emera Technologies, LLC

3:00 p.m. **Public Comment** 

3:30 p.m. Recess

## Friday, August 16 — University of New Mexico-Taos

9:00 a.m. **Reconvene and Introductions** 

—Senator Benny Shendo, Jr., Chair

9:10 a.m. Welcome

—Patrick Valdez, Chief Executive Officer, University of New Mexico-Taos

9:30 a.m. (8) Rural Electric Cooperatives — Self-Governance (House Memorial 61, 2019)

- —Luis Reyes, Jr., Chief Executive Officer, Kit Carson Electric Cooperative
- —Duane Highley, Chief Executive Officer, Tri-State Generation and Transmission Association
- 10:30 a.m. (9) <u>University of New Mexico Vision for Film and Digital Arts in New Mexico</u>
  - —Regina Carlow, Interim Dean, College of Fine Arts, University of New Mexico
  - —James Stone, Chair, Department of Film and Digital Arts, College of Fine Arts, University of New Mexico
- 11:30 a.m. (10) New Mexico Filmmaking Opportunities

—Thomas Sanchez, Owner, Pueblo Media, LLC

12:30 p.m. (11) Village Investment and Development Project — Update

—Carol Miller, Director, National Center for Frontier Communities

1:00 p.m. **Public Comment** 

1:30 p.m. **Adjourn**