STATE LEGISLATIVE APPROACHES TO TRAUMA
AND SCHOOL DISCIPLINE IN THE EARLY YEARS
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STATE POLICY APPROACHES TO ADDRESS CHILDHOOD TRAUMA

Mandatory or recommended screenings
®  Healthy surveys

= Developmental screenings
Trauma-informed practices

®  Evidence-based procedures

®  Culturally and linguistically responsive

= Developmentally appropriate

Professional Development

®  Teachers and early educators
" Administrative staff

®  Other child-serving adults
Task forces and study groups
®  Gathering data

= Making recommendations
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STATE EXAMPLES

Nevada Senate Bill 80 (enacted 2019)

®  Based on the West Virginia Handle with Care
Program model

®  Created a notification system for law enforcement to
report when a child enrolled in public school has
been exposed to trauma

®  Provided for subsequent notification of designated
school staff

Oklahoma Senate Bill 1517 (enacted 2018)

Created the Task Force on Trauma-Informed Care to
study and make recommendations to the legislature
on best practices with respect to children and youth
who have experienced trauma

Interagency membership spans health, early and K-
12 education, criminal justice, academic and tribal
sectors
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https://legiscan.com/NV/bill/SB80/2019
https://legiscan.com/OK/bill/SB1517/2018

STATE EXAMPLES CONT'D

Kentucky Senate Bill 1 (enacted 2019) lowa Senate Bill 2113 (enacted 2018)
= Requires each public school to: ®  Requires annual training for all K-12 school
= Adopt trauma-informed practices recommended by personnel on identifying ACEs and strategies to
the federal Substance Abuse and Mental Health mitigate toxic stress responses
Services Administration;
®  Create a trauma-informed team to identify and Ohio House Bill 318 (enacted 2018)
assist students who have been impacted by trauma;

m  Requires all teacher preparation programs for

preschool through fifth grade to include instruction
= Provide training to teachers and staff on recognizing on the impact of trauma and toxic stress on learning

and understanding trauma behavior
i
|(|l|||\)| NCSL 4

NATIONAL CONFERENCE OF STATE LEGISLATURES

and


https://legiscan.com/KY/text/SB1/2019
https://legiscan.com/IA/text/SF2113/2017
https://legiscan.com/OH/text/HB318/2017

STATE APPROACHES TO SCHOOL DISCIPLINE IN THE EARLY YEARS

Context:

= Disproportionate use of suspensions and expulsions
in preschools and early elementary grades,
especially among students of color

®  African Americans comprised 20 percent of public
preschool enrollment in school year 2013-14, but
represented 53 percent of preschoolers suspended
more than once!

= Some preschools may use informal or “soft”
suspensions by requesting parent pick up?

1U.S. Department of Education Office of Civil Rights, Civil Rights Data Collection 2013-14)
2”Building a Comprehensive State Policy Strategy to Prevent Expulsion from Early
Learning Settings.” State Capacity Building Center, Administration of Children and
Families, Office of Child Care

State Strategies:

Prohibit or severely limit exclusionary discipline for
certain age groups

Limit the length of suspensions

Restrict the violations for which suspensions and
expulsions may be given

Require the use of positive behavior interventions
and restorative practices before suspension can be
considered
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http://ocrdata.ed.gov/
https://childcareta.acf.hhs.gov/sites/default/files/public/expulsion_tool_092317.pdf

17 STATES AND D.C. LIMIT THE USE OF SUSPENSIONS AND EXPULSIONS

FOR CERTAIN GRADE LEVELS

®No ®Yes
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STATE EXAMPLE: COLORADO HOUSE BILL 1194

= Enpactedin 2019

= Prohibits suspensions or expulsions for state-funded preschool and elementary grades kindergarten through two,
except under specific circumstances that jeopardize student safety

®  Students suspended under allowed circumstances may not be suspended for more than three days

m  Specific provision for state-funded preschool: “If an enrolling entity requests that a parent remove a child for
disciplinary reasons from the school grounds for any length of time during a school day, the request constitutes a
suspension.”
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STATE EXAMPLE: OHIO SENATE BILL 318

" Enactedin 2018
= Prohibits suspension of students in preschool through third grade, except in specific circumstances

= |f astudent in preschool through third grade is to be suspended or expelled under specified circumstances, the
school principal must consult with a mental health provider

®  Requires training in positive behavior intervention and supports (PBIS) for all teachers, administrators, and staff
that serve students in preschool through third grade

m  Requires all school districts to adopt and implement a PBIS framework
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