2017 APPROVED WORK PLAN AND MEETING SCHEDULE for the

RADIOACTIVE AND HAZARDOUS MATERIALS COMMITTEE

Members

Sen. Jeff Steinborn, Chair	Sen. Gay G. Kernan
Rep. Carl Trujillo, Vice Chair	Sen. Carroll H. Leavell
Rep. Cathrynn N. Brown	Sen. Richard C. Martinez
Sen. Carlos R. Cisneros	Rep. Angelica Rubio
Rep. David M. Gallegos	Rep. Debra M. Sariñana
Sen. Ron Griggs	Rep. Larry R. Scott

Advisory Members

Sen. Gregory A. Baca	Sen. Nancy Rodriguez
Sen. William F. Burt	Rep. Nick L. Salazar
Rep. Stephanie Garcia Richard	Sen. Clemente Sanchez
Sen. William H. Payne	Rep. James E. Smith
Rep. Jane E. Powdrell-Culbert	Rep. Jim R. Trujillo

Work Plan

The Radioactive and Hazardous Materials Committee was created in 1979 pursuant to the provisions of the Radioactive and Hazardous Materials Act. During the 2017 interim, pursuant to Section 74-4A-11 NMSA 1978, the committee proposes to review the following topics:

- 1. Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP) operations and management;
- 2. Department of Environment programs and operations;
- 3. Los Alamos National Laboratory operations, including progress on uranium legacy site and chromium cleanup, shipment of waste to WIPP and efforts to address safety concerns;
- 4. Kirtland Air Force Base fuel spill status and legacy military waste disposal;
- 5. Gold King Mine disaster status;
- 6. interim spent fuel storage (Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance);
- 7. uranium mining and cleanup efforts;
- 8. Sandia National Laboratories' research on lignin;
- 9. dry cleaning chemicals and ground water contamination;

- 10. heavy metals detection and monitoring;
- 11. transforming New Mexico's energy resource future;
- 12. brackish ground water concerns and actions to address those concerns; and
- 13. a status report from URENCO.

Radioactive and Hazardous Materials Committee 2017 Approved Meeting Schedule

Date Location June 26 Santa Fe

July 28 Carlsbad

August 22 Nenahnezad (joint

meeting with the Indian Affairs Committee)

September 21 Los Alamos

November 3 Santa Fe