Revised: November 2, 2017

## TENTATIVE AGENDA for the FIFTH MEETING of the RADIOACTIVE AND HAZARDOUS MATERIALS COMMITTEE

November 3, 2017 State Capitol, Room 321 Santa Fe

## Friday, November 3

9:00 a.m. Call to Order and Introductions —Senator Jeff Steinborn, Chair 9:10 a.m. (1) Methane Capture/Venting and Flaring —Ken McQueen, Secretary, Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department —Jon Goldstein, Director, Regulatory and Legislative Affairs, Environmental Defense Fund —Bill Jordan, Senior Policy Advisor and Government Relations Officer, New Mexico Voices for Children —Ryan Flynn, Executive Director, New Mexico Oil and Gas Association 11:00 a.m. **Update: Los Alamos National Laboratory Chromium Plume Cleanup** (2) —Bruce Yurdin, Director, Water Protection Division, Department of Environment —Doug Hintze, Manager, Environmental Management, Los Alamos Field Office, U.S. Department of Energy —Danny Katzman, Technical Program Manager, Los Alamos National Security 12:00 noon **Approval of Minutes** 

## 1:00 p.m. (3) Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (WIPP) Funding

Lunch

12:05 p.m.

—Eletha Trujillo, WIPP Program Coordinator, Energy Conservation and Management Division, Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department 1:30 p.m. (4) Interim Spent Fuel Storage —John Heaton, Chair, Eddy-Lea Energy Alliance -Eletha Trujillo, WIPP Program Coordinator, Energy Conservation and Management Division, Energy, Minerals and Natural Resources Department —Noel Marquez, Alliance for Environmental Strategies 3:00 p.m. (5) Update: Kirtland Air Force Base Fuel Spill Status and Legacy Military **Waste Disposal** —Diane Agnew, Hydrologist, Department of Environment -Kate Lynnes, Senior Advisor, United States Air Force —Dave McCoy, Executive Director, Citizen Action New Mexico 4:15 p.m. **Discussion of Proposed Legislation for Endorsement** (6) **Public Comment** 4:45 p.m.

5:00 p.m.

Adjourn