AGENDA

Legislative Education Study Committee Virtual Meeting Zoom December 16-18, 2020

Wednesday, December 16

- 9:00 (1) <u>Call to Order, Introductions, and Approval of December Agenda and November</u> <u>Minutes.</u> **Representative Christine Trujillo**, Chair
- 9:10 (2) FY21 and FY22 General Fund Estimates. Debbie Romero, Acting Cabinet Secretary, Department of Finance and Administration; Stephanie Schardin Clarke, Cabinet Secretary, Taxation and Revenue Department; Dawn Iglesias, Chief Economist, Legislative Finance Committee
- 10:30 (3) <u>Public Education Reform Fund Uses and Projected FY21 Year-End Balance.</u> Joseph Simon, Principal Analyst, LESC
- 11:15 Lunch
- 11:45 (4) <u>Civil Rights Commission Recommendations.</u> Justice Richard Bosson, Commission Chair, former New Mexico Supreme Court Justice; Steve Neville, State Senator, District 2, and member, New Mexico Civil Rights Commission; Grace Philips, General Council, New Mexico Association of Counties; Richard Valerio, Executive Director, New Mexico Public School Insurance Authority
- 1:15 (5) Education Partners and Other Stakeholders 2021 Legislative Session Budget and Policy Priorities.

EDUCATION PARTNERS

- 1:15-1:30 Joint Partner Priorities
- 1:30-1:45 New Mexico School Board Association

Olivia Calabaza, President, New Mexico School Board Association **Joe Guillen**, Executive Director, New Mexico School Board Association

1:45-2:00 New Mexico Coalition of Education Leaders and New Mexico School Superintendents' Association

> Will Hawkins, President, New Mexico Coalition of Education Leaders Dennis Roch, President, New Mexico Superintendents' Association Stan Rounds, Executive Director, New Mexico Coalition of Education Leaders, New Mexico School Superintendents' Association

Wednesday, December 16 Continued

2:00-2:15	National Education Association New Mexico
	Mary Parr-Sanchez, President, National Education Association New
	Mexico
	Dave Greenberg, Executive Director, Center for Community Schools,
	National Education Association New Mexico
2:15-2:30	Albuquerque Teachers Federation and American Federation of
	Teachers New Mexico
	Ellen Bernstein, Ed.D., President, Albuquerque Teachers Federation
	John Dyrcz, New Mexico State Affiliate Political Organizer, American
	Federation of Teachers New Mexico
2:30-2:45	New Mexico Parent Teacher Association
	Renata Witte, Vice-President, Legislation and Advocacy, New
	Mexico Parent Teacher Association
	Mary Beth Weeks, President, New Mexico Parent Teacher
	Association
OTHER STAKEHOLDERS	
2:45-3:00	Public Charter Schools of New Mexico
	Matthew Pahl, Executive Director, Public Charter Schools of New
	Mexico

- 3:45 (6) <u>Albuquerque Public Schools School Improvement Transformational Model.</u> Gabriella Blakey, Interim Chief Operating Officer, Albuquerque Public Schools; Antonio Gonzales, Associate Superintendent, Albuquerque Public Schools; Eugene Saavedra, Interim Associate Superintendent, Albuquerque Public Schools
- 4:30 Recess

Thursday, December 17

- 8:30 (7) <u>Executive Session Staff Briefing.</u> LESC Staff
- 9:30 (8) <u>Public Education Department FY22 Public School Support Budget Request.</u> Ryan Stewart, Ed.L.D., Secretary, Public Education Department
- 11:30 Lunch
- 12:00 (9) <u>Executive Session</u>. LESC Staff
- 1:30 (10) <u>LESC Public School Support and Other Public Education Budget Recommendations.</u> LESC Staff
- 2:00 (11) Potential Committee Endorsed Legislation. LESC Staff

Thursday, December 17 Continued

- 3:00 (12) <u>New Mexico Educational Retirement Board Benefit Analysis.</u> Jan Goodwin, Executive Director, Educational Retirement Board; Rod Ventura, Deputy Director, Educational Retirement Board
- 4:00 Recess

Friday, December 18

- 8:30 (13) <u>Update from New Mexico Alliance for College and Career Readiness.</u> Lillian Torrez, Ph.D., Superintendent, Taos Municipal Schools; Chanell Segura, Ed.D., Superintendent, Truth or Consequence Municipal Schools
- 9:00 (14) Ensuring All Students Are Engaged in School During the 2020-2021 School Year. Gwen Perea Warniment, Ph.D., Deputy Secretary of Teaching, Learning, and Assessment, Public Education Department; Katarina Sandoval, Deputy Secretary of Academic Engagement and Student Success, Public Education Department; Rebekah Richards, Chief Academic Advisor and Co-Founder, Graduation Alliance
- 10:15 (15) Food, Hunger, Water, Agriculture Working Group 2021 Legislative Priorities. Melanie Stansbury, State Representative, District 28; Mag Strittmatter, CEO, Roadrunner Foodbank and Vice-President, New Mexico Food Bank Association; Helga Garza, President, New Mexico Food and Agriculture Policy Council; Lilly Irvin-Vitela, President and Executive Director, New Mexico First
- 11:15 (16) <u>Housing Stability and Education Outcomes.</u> Deanna Creighton Cook, Special Projects Coordinator, ABC Community School Partnership; Serge Martinez, Associate Dean, University of New Mexico School of Law
- 12:00 ADJOURN

Prior to the meeting, presenters must submit an electronic copy of any presentation materials to <u>lesc@nmlegis.gov</u>. Public comment may be sent to <u>lesc@nmlegis.gov</u>. For instructions for written materials or power point presentations, please visit <u>https://www.nmlegis.gov/Entity/LESC/Documents/Webex%20Instructions%20for%20Presenters.pdf</u>. If you require special accommodations to attend and participate in any scheduled Legislative Education Study Committee meeting, such as an American Sign Language interpreter or reader, please contact Marissa Branch at 505-986-4591 at least five (5) working days prior to a scheduled meeting.