TENTATIVE AGENDA for the THIRD MEETING of the LEGISLATIVE HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES COMMITTEE

August 10-12, 2022 Bataan Hall University of New Mexico-Taos 115 Civic Plaza Drive Taos

Wednesday, August 10

8:30 a.m.		 Call to Order and Introductions —Representative Christine Trujillo, Chair, Legislative Health and Human Services Committee (LHHS) —Senator Gerald Ortiz y Pino, Vice Chair, LHHS
8:45 a.m.		Welcome to University of New Mexico (UNM)-Taos —Dr. Mary Gutierrez, Chancellor, UNM-Taos
9:00 a.m.	(1)	 <u>State Strategies for Prescription Drug Access, Cost and Pricing</u> —Colleen Becker, Senior Policy Specialist, National Conference of State Legislatures
10:00 a.m.	(2)	 <u>Access to Pharmacy Care</u> —Melanie A. Dodd, Pharm.D., Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs, and Associate Professor, Pharmacy Practice and Administrative Sciences, College of Pharmacy, UNM —Donald Godwin, Ph.D., Dean, College of Pharmacy, UNM —Micah Lansford, Pharm.D., Owner and Pharmacist, Roden-Smith Pharmacy, Clovis —Ashley Seyfarth, Pharm.D., Owner and Pharmacist in Charge, Kare Drug, Aztec and Bloomfield
11:00 a.m.	(3)	 <u>Controlling Prescription Drug Costs: Consumer Perspective</u> —Jane Horvath, Principal, Horvath Health Policy —Joseph P. Sanchez, Ph.D., New Mexico State Director, AARP —Barbara K. Webber, M.S., Executive Director, Health Action New Mexico
11:45 a.m.		Public Comment
12:00 noon		Lunch

1:00 p.m.	(4)	 <u>Pharmacy Supply Chain Stakeholders: Wholesalers</u> —Will Dane, Director, State Government Affairs, Healthcare Distribution Alliance
1:30 p.m.	(5)	 Pharmacy Supply Chain Stakeholders: Pharmacy Benefit Managers and Insurers —Jonathan Buxton, Director, State Affairs, Pharmaceutical Care Management Association —Karlee Tebbutt, Regional Director, State Affairs, America's Health Insurance Plans
2:00 p.m.	(6)	 <u>Pharmacy Supply Chain Stakeholders: Manufacturers</u> —Brett Michelin, Senior Director, State Government Affairs, Association for Accessible Medicines —Katelin Lucariello, Director, State Policy, Rocky Mountain Region, Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America
2:30 p.m.	(7)	 <u>Primary Care Clinic Challenges</u> —David Roddy, Health Policy Director, New Mexico Primary Care Association
3:00 p.m.	(8)	Medicaid Cost Savings Initiatives —Alanna Dancis, C.N.P., Medical Director, Medical Assistance Division, Human Services Department
4:00 p.m.		Brainstorming Session
4:30 p.m.		Recess
<u>Thursday, </u>	August	<u>11</u>
8:45 a.m.		Reconvene
9:00 a.m.	(9)	 Update: Wholesale Drug Importation Plan —Courtney Lovato, R.Ph., Pharmacy Director, Public Health Division, Department of Health (DOH) —Aryan Showers, Policy Director, DOH —Russell Toal, Superintendent, Office of Superintendent of Insurance
9:30 a.m.	(10)	<u>All-Payer Claims Database</u> —Kenneth Geter, Ph.D., Bureau Chief, Community and Health Systems

Epidemiology Bureau, Epidemiology and Response Division, DOH

10:00 a.m.	(11)	 The New Mexico Prescription Drug Price Task Force —Barbara L. McAneny, M.D., Chair, New Mexico Prescription Drug Price Task Force; Former President, American Medical Association; and Chief Executive Officer, New Mexico Oncology Hematology Consultants, Ltd. 			
10:30 a.m.	(12)	Substance Use Disorder Treatment in Northern New Mexico —Lawrence A. Medina, M.B.A., Rio Grande Alcoholism Treatment Program, Inc.			
11:00 a.m.	(13)	Expanding Rural Residencies: Our Experience —Nora Lamartine, M.D., El Centro Family Health, Taos			
11:30 a.m.		Public Comment			
12:00 noon		Lunch			
1:00 p.m.	(14)	 Update: Center on Alcohol, Substance Use and Addictions —Katie Witkiewitz, Ph.D., Distinguished Professor, Department of Psychology, and Director, Center on Alcohol, Substance Use and Addictions, UNM 			
1:30 p.m.	(15)	Office of the State Medical Investigator —Heather S. Jarrell, M.D., Chief Medical Investigator, Office of the State Medical Investigator, and Director of Neuropathology and Associate Professor of Pathology, UNM			
2:00 p.m.		Brainstorming Session			
3:00 p.m.		Recess			
Friday, August 12					
8:45 a.m.		Reconvene			
9:00 a.m.		Public Comment			
9:15 a.m.	(16)	Working Session			
12:00 noon		Lunch			

- 1:00 p.m. **Public Comment**
- 1:15 p.m. Working Session
- 3:00 p.m. Adjourn