

Officers: Wilfred Herrera, Jr., Chairman Governor Phillip A. Perez, Vice-Chair David M. Toledo, Secretary

RESOLUTION

Acoma

ALL PUEBLO COUNCIL OF GOVERNORS

RESOLUTION 2021-10

Cochiti

SUPPORTING THE 2021 NATIVE AMERICAN WORKING GROUP PRINCIPLES FOR REDISTRICTING

Isleta

WHEREAS, the All Pueblo Council of Governors is comprised of the Pueblos of Acoma, Cochiti, Isleta, Jemez, Laguna, Nambe, Ohkay Owingeh, Picuris, Pojoaque, San Felipe, San Ildefonso, Sandia, Santa Ana, Santa Clara, Santo Domingo, Taos, Tesuque, Zia and Zuni, and one pueblo in Texas, Ysleta Del Sur, each having the sovereign authority to

Laguna

govern their own affairs;

Ohkay Owingeh

WHEREAS, the purpose of the All Pueblo Council of Governors is to advocate, foster, protect, and encourage the social, cultural and traditional well-being of the Pueblo Nations;

Picuris

WHEREAS, through their inherent and sovereign rights, the All Pueblo Council of Governors will promote the language, health, economic and natural resources, and educational advancement of all Pueblo people;

Pojoaque

Sandia

WHEREAS, the 20 Pueblos possess inherent government authority and sovereignty over their lands;

San Felipe

San Ildefonso

WHEREAS, in 1948, Miguel Trujillo, a military veteran and a member of Isleta Pueblo, successfully litigated the right of Pueblo people to be able to register and cast a vote in elections:

Santa Ana

WHEREAS, the U.S. Constitution requires the reapportionment of legislative and congressional districts at least once every 10 years (U.S. Const. art. I, § 2.);

Santa Clara

WHEREAS, section 2 of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 prohibits voting practices and procedures, including redistricting plans, that discriminate on the basis of race, color or membership in a language minority group.;

Santo Domingo

Taos

WHEREAS, the Supreme Court of the United States has affirmed the

Constitutional mandate to create voting districts of equal population, see *Baker v. Carr*

(1962); Gray v. Sanders (1963); Reynolds v. Sims (1964); and Wesberry v. Sanders

(1964); and

Ysleta Del Sur

WHEREAS, during the 2021 New Mexico Legislative Session, the passage of Senate Bill 304 established a Citizen's Redistricting Committee in order to advance the

Zuni

Zia



Officers: Wilfred Herrera, Jr., Chairman Governor Phillip A. Perez, Vice-Chair David M. Toledo, Secretary

decennial state redistricting process through a fair, transparent, open, and participatory process;

Acoma

Cochiti

Isleta

Jemez

Laguna

Nambe

Ohkay Owingeh

Picuris

Pojoaque

Sandia

San Felipe

San Ildefonso

Santa Ana

Santa Clara

Santo Domingo

Taos

Tesuque

Ysleta Del Sur

Zia

Zuni

WHEREAS, the Citizen's Redistricting Committee is charged with creating and proposing maps that reapportion district lines for New Mexico's Congressional Delegation, New Mexico Senate, and New Mexico House of Representatives, and the Public Education Commission; and

WHEREAS, currently in New Mexico's northwest quadrant, Native American voters are the majority in (6) State House Districts and (3) State Senate Districts and (1) State Senate influence district;

WHEREAS, the Pueblo Nations seek to maintain and improve the voting strength within the majority-Native American congressional, state house and senate districts, so that Native voters in each of those districts are able to continue to elect a legislative candidate of their choice;

WHEREAS, in 2011, the Pueblos, Tribes, and Nations of New Mexico successfully developed and submitted redistricting maps, consistent with state and federal law and the doctrine of self-determination, to the New Mexico Legislature for adoption;

WHEREAS, the Pueblo Nations share significant social, political, geographical and economic interests, such as: cultural territory and resources, and sovereign rights to access and utilize traditional cultural properties and sacred sites that are located both within and outside of each Pueblo's current boundaries;

WHEREAS, to advance the Pueblo Nation's interests, the All Pueblo Council of Governors joins the Native American Working Group comprised of New Mexico's Tribes and Nations to work together to develop redistricting-maps that protect and advance the interests of tribal communities;

WHEREAS, The Pueblo Nations recognize the impact and implications on New Mexico's redistricting efforts when tribal leaders work together to exercise their collective right to Tribal Self Determination; and

WHEREAS, the All Pueblo Council of Governors finds it in the best interest of the All Pueblo Council of Governors and its member Pueblos to enact this Resolution.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED THAT, the All Pueblo Council of Governors supports the principles for redistricting proposed by the Native American Working Group comprised of the All Pueblo Council of Governors and New Mexico's Tribes and Nations:



All Pueblo Council of Governors

Officers: Wilfred Herrera, Jr., Chairman Governor Phillip A. Perez, Vice-Chair David M. Toledo, Secretary

- Acoma
- Cochiti
- Isleta
- Jemez
- Laguna
- Nambe
- Ohkay Owingeh
- Picuris
- Pojoaque
- Sandia
- San Felipe
- San Ildefonso
- Santa Ana
- Santa Clara
- Santo Domingo
- O.

Taos

Tesuque

Ysleta Del Sur

Zia

Zuni

- 1. **Tribal Self-Determination**, enforcing the doctrine of self-determination that tribal communities are in the best position to determine what is best for their own communities.
- 2. **No retrogression** of the voting strength of Native American voters in New Mexico's six (6) State House Districts and three (3) Senate Districts and (1) Native American Influence District.
- 3. Native American Voting Age Population is 65%.
- 4. No Packing or Cracking of Native American populations.
- 5. Proportional Representation should maximize the potential for Native Americans to elect representatives of their choice equal to their share of the population.
- 6. State Redistricting Maps must comport with Native American Redistricting Principles and Communities of Interest.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the All Pueblo Council of Governors overwhelmingly express that State Redistricting Maps must comport with Native American Redistricting Principles and Communities of Interest of the Pueblo Nations;

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the All Pueblo Council of Governors calls on New Mexico's Citizen's Redistricting Committee, the New Mexico Legislature and Governor Michelle Lujan Grisham to support maps endorsed by the Pueblo Nations in their own self-determination.

BE IT FINALLY RESOLVED, that the All Pueblo Council of Governors Chairman and his Designee(s) shall do all that is necessary to carry forward the intent of this Resolution.

CERTIFICATION

We, the undersigned officials of the All Pueblo Council of Governors hereby certify that the foregoing Resolution No. APCG 2021-10 was considered and adopted at a duly called council meeting held on 26th day of August 2021, and at which time a quorum was present and the same was approved by a vote of 15 in favor, 0 against, 0 abstain, and 5 absent.

ALL PUEBLO COUNCIL OF GOVERNORS

By

Wilfred Herrera Jr., APCG Chairman

ATTEST:

David M. Toledo, APCG Secretary