

New Mexico Children, Youth & Families Department

Legislative Priorities* LHHS July 9, 2021

Subject to change or expand.



Would increase legal protections for youth in the juvenile justice system in out of home placement including requiring reunification and permanency efforts by CYFD, increased court supervision, and expanding ICWA protections to tribal youth who are on probation.

Would increase supports and entitlements for youth in the juvenile justice system in out of home placements including increased funding to stabilize placements, free housing until 21, guaranteed Medicaid until 26, and money for college.

Would increase federal funding to CYFD through Title IV-E of the Social Security Act for supportive services for children, supervision, and training costs.

Attempted in 2021 as <u>SB 257</u> (Senator Padilla). Was tabled in Senate Judiciary.
Was supported in 2021 by ACLU, NASW. The expert witnesses on the bill was Senior Justice Barbara Vigil and CYFD.

State Indian Child Welfare Act (SICWA)

Would maintain and increase protections of Native American children in out of home placements including legal protections to help ensure that Native American children are placed in ICWA preferred homes and cases are appropriately transferred to tribal jurisdiction. For more information, see http://nmstateicwa.org/ .

State Indian Child Welfare Act (SICWA)

Creating and expanding protections afforded by the federal Indian Child Welfare Act in state law in New Mexico has been a priority of the New Mexico Tribal Indian Child Welfare Consortium (which includes tribal ICWA social workers representing 21 tribes in New Mexico) since 2015. Supporting the passage of a state ICWA was also a term of the Kevin S. settlement agreement.

SICWA

Attempted in 2021 as HB 209 (Rep Louis) and SB 278 (Sen Shendo). Both bills were referred to but never heard in Senate Judiciary. Was supported in 2021 by a majority of the 23 New Mexico tribes through formal letters or verbal testimony by tribal leadership, including Eight Northern Pueblos (consisting of Taos, Picuris, Santa Clara, Ohkay Owingeh, San Ildefonso, Nambe, Pojoaque, and Tesuque), Navajo Nation, Laguna, Zuni, Isleta, Cochiti, San Felipe, and Jemez as well as by the New Mexico Tribal State Judicial Consortium.