Revised: November 15, 2022

TENTATIVE AGENDA for the SIXTH MEETING of the

SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY AND TELECOMMUNICATIONS COMMITTEE

November 16-17, 2022 State Capitol, Room 322 Santa Fe

Wednesday, November 16

10:00 a.m.		Executive Session (Legislators Only)
11:00 a.m.	(1)	New Mexico Exchange Carrier Group (NMECG) Broadband Update —Matejka Santillanes, Executive Director, NMECG —Jay Santillanes, Lobbyist, NMECG
12:00 noon		Lunch
1:00 p.m.	(2)	Department of Information Technology (DoIT) Looking Toward 2023 —Peter Mantos, Secretary, DoIT
2:00 p.m.	(3)	Overview of Public Safety Radio Communications and the P25 - Digital Trunked Radio System Project —Michael Rohrbacher, Director, Public Safety and Radio Communications, DoIT
3:00 p.m.	(4)	New Mexico Bioscience Authority Update —Richard Larson, M.D., Ph.D., President, New Mexico Bioscience Authority; Vice President of Research, University of New Mexico (UNM) Health Sciences Center
4:00 p.m.	(5)	Picuris Energy Project Update —Abbas Akhil, Former State Representative, District 20; Principal, Renewable Energy Ventures, LLC
4:30 p.m.		Public Comment
5:00 p.m.		Recess

Thursday, November 17

9:00 a.m. (6) Los Alamos National Laboratory (LANL) Update —Frances Chadwick, Staff Director, LANL —Kathy Keith, Director, Community Partnerships Office, LANL 10:00 a.m. **(7) Technology Readiness Gross Receipts Tax Credit Update** —Mariann Johnston, Deputy Program Director, Richard P. Feynman Center for Innovation, LANL —David Kistin, Manager, Technology and Economic Development, Sandia National Laboratories (SNL) 10:30 a.m. (8) **State Education Network Update** -Ovidiu Viorica, Program Manager, Broadband and Technology, Public School Facilities Authority 11:30 a.m. (9) Office of Broadband Access and Expansion (OBAE) Update —Kelly Schlegel, Director, OBAE, DoIT —Dianne Lindstrom, Deputy Director, OBAE, DoIT 12:00 noon Lunch (10) **SNL** Status Update 1:30 p.m. —James S. Peery, Ph.D., Director, SNL 2:30 p.m. (11) Education and the Economy: The Importance of Research and **Development** —Joseph Shepard, Ph.D., President, Western New Mexico University —Nelia Dunbar, Ph.D., Interim Vice President for Research, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology —David Hanson, Ph.D., Assistant Vice President for Research, UNM —Ganesh Balakrishnan, Ph.D., Director, New Mexico Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research —Luis Cifuentes, Ph.D., Vice President for Research, New Mexico State University 3:30 p.m. **Public Comment** 4:00 p.m. Adjourn