Key Economic Impact Concerns from Law Enforcement
Training

Assessment of impairment in traffic stops using A.R.I.D.E. and D.R.E. training is the
next step to S.F.S.T. roadside tests. Currently S.F.S.T. training is mandatory in the
basic police officer academy curriculum. S.F.S.T. refresher training is mandated by NM
Law Enforcement Academy Board rule for biennial in-service training. A.R.I.D.E. training
may be substituted for the S.F.S.T. refresher training. The rule only requires the
training for law enforcement officers who enforce D.W.I. laws as a requirement of their
job duties.

Without any per se guidelines for THC in DWI contacts to determine impairment officers
must rely upon their observations using S.F.S.T. protocols as well as A.R.I.D.E. training.
5 states have set per se limits ranging from 1ng/ml to 5ng/ml. (Governors Highway

Safety Association — www.ghsa.org)

There are no tuition costs for the A.R.1.D.E. or D.R.E. courses as they are funded by
NM Department of Transportation through federal grants. Agencies will incur significant
costs in overtime to cover staffing while law enforcement officers are in training.

Equipment

Roadside testing tools are currently under evaluation and have not been validated for
accuracy. At this time a cost associated with oral swabs tests or breath analysis
equipment has not been defined.

The funding recommendations of Marijuana Legalization work group outline a $1,000
per officer at a cost of $5.1M. This strategy will favor larger agencies with more existing
resources than smaller agencies. Although the proposal allows local jurisdictions to
determine local training and equipment needs our rural jurisdictions with limited
resources may need additional financial assistance.

Hound Labs Breathalyzer $600 - $800 per device
Cannabix Technologies Inc. THC Breath Analyzer ~ $1,000 - $1,500 per device

NarcoCheck THC Saliva Test (swab) $20 per test



New Mexico Drug Recognition Expert Program

Currently we have 72 Certified Drug Recognition Experts in New Mexico. Our short term
goal is to bring that number to 100 and expand from there. We've noticed we stay
stagnant around 70-80 DREs due to DRE turnover we experience each year. The
turnover can be caused by any number of things (Retirement/Promotion/Change in
Position etc)

The 72 DREs around New Mexico are broken down into the following Departments:

6 DREs at Kirtland Air Force Security Forces Squadron
9 DREs at the Albuquerque Police Department
1 DRE at the Aztec Police. Department
1 DRE at the Bosque Farms Police Department
3 DREs at the Carlsbad Police Department
2 DREs at the Clovis Police Department
4 DREs at the Dona Ana Sheriffs Office
1 DRE at the Espanola Police Department
2 DREs at the Farmington Police Department
1 DRE at the Hobbs Police Department
1 DRE at the Laguna Pueblo Police Department
2 DREs at the Las Cruces Police Department
1 DRE at the Lea County Sheriffs Office
2 DREs at the Los Alamos Police Department
3 DREs at the Los Lunas Police Department
16 DREs at the New Mexico State Police

2 in Albuquerque

3 in Valencia
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1 in Socorro

2 in Gallup
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1in Las Cruces

1 in Silver City

1 in Deming
6 DREs at the Rio Rancho Police Department
2 DREs at the San Juan County Sheriffs Office
1 DRE at the San Miguel County Sheriffs Office
2 DREs at the Sandoval County Sheriffs Office
1 DRE at Silver City Police Department
1 DRE at the Taos Police Department
3 DREs at the Valencia County Sheriffs Office
1 DRE at White Sands Missile Range Police Department



We follow the International Association of Chiefs of Police's International Standard for
the Drug Evaluation and Classification Program as far as the Certification Requirements
for a Drug Recognition Expert are concerned.

These standards require a candidate:
e Be proficient in the administration and interpretation of the SFSTs prior to being
accepted into a DRE School
e Have experience in DWI enforcement/testimony prior to being accepted into a
DRE School
Attend a ARIDE prior to being accepted into a DRE School

Be certified by SLD to operate the Intoxilyzer 8000 prior to being accepted into a
DRE School

Once accepted:
e Attend a two week class (put on annually at various locations around New
Mexico)
» The two week school involves two 'wet-labs' in which the student much show
proficiency in the SFSTs to continue with the training
Pass a 'pre-school' test to continue with the training
Pass multiple quizzes throughout the school
Pass a comprehensive 100 question test at the conclusion of the two weeks
Once they pass the two week school, they are flown to Sacramento, California
where they perform 12 "hands on" evaluations on drug-impaired subjects
e They must maintain an accuracy rate on the categories they believe the subject
is under the influence of in corroboration with a toxicology sample
Complete all reports for the aforementioned evaluations
Pass an incredibly comprehensive (approximately 5-7 hour) test showing
proficiency with the concepts of DRE program

Once they complete all this, they are Certified as Drug Recognition Experts. Their
certification lasts for two years and they 'recertify’ every other year.

ARIDE is not a "Certification" training, it is considered more of an awareness training.
We put on 18 ARIDESs around New Mexico each year. So far in 2019 we've trained 215
Officers in ARIDE (we still have 3 more classes to go). In total, 1,152 officers in New
Mexico have been through the ARIDE class.

The training is covered by the DRE grant. This includes costs for DRE equipment and
lodging (for the DRE School, not ARIDE)/Per Diem (for the DRE School, not
ARIDE)/Flights/Student Manuals etc.

The grant is not used to pay for travel for ARIDE classes because we put 18 on all over
the state each year.



Oral fluid testing for THC. There are some states that have began experimenting with
this technology. We in N.M. have not yet. One of the reasons is the oral fluid testing will
only show the presence of THC.. it cannot show impairment. Impairment in drug-
impaired driving cases cannot be measured by any specific level of chemical in the
blood or other fluids, based on the complexity of what drugs do to the human body.
There is no science to say a specific level is 'per se' impairment, like we have for
alcohol.

The presence of drugs in any particular person is not necessarily indictive of
impairment. Our current laws would not support an officer swabbing a suspected drug
impaired drivers' mouth to make a case against him or her, but even if they did, the
argument can easily be that 'yes, there are drugs present, but that doesn’t mean my
client was impaired'.



GHSA

Current as of 04/10/2019

Marijuana-Related Laws
Marijuana use legalization Marijuana and driving

State Decriminalized Medical Recreational | Zero tolerance law | Per se law
Alabama no no no no no
Alaska yes yes yes no no
Arizona no yes no THC and metabolites no
Arkansas no yes no no no
California ves yes yes no no

m reasonable

Colorado yes yes yes yes Inference 5n
Connecticut yes yes no no no
Delaware yes yes no THC and metabolites no
D.C. yes yes yes no no
Florida no yes no no no
Georgia no no no THC and metaboalites no
Hawaii no yes no no no
Idaho no no no no no
lilinois yes yes no THC and metabolites no
Indiana no no no THC and metabolites no
lowa no no no THC no
Kansas no no no no no
Kentucky no no no no no
Louisiana no no no no no
Maine yes yes yes no no
Maryland yes yes no no no
Massachusetts yes yes yes no no
Michigan no yes yes THC no
Minnesota yes yes no no no
Mississippi yes no no no no
Missouri yes no no no no
Montana no yes no no 5ng
Nebraska yes no no no no
Nevada yes yes yes no 2ng
New Hampshire no yes no no no
New Jersey no ves no no no
New Mexico no yes no no no
New York yes yes no no no
North Carolina yes no no no no
North Dakota no yes no no no
Ohio yes yes no no 2ng
Oklahoma no no no THC and metabolites no
Oregon yes yes yes no no
Pennsylvania no yes no no ing
Rhode Island yes ves no THC and metabolites no
South Carolina no no no no no
South Dakota no no no THC and metabolites no
Tennessee no no no no no
Texas no no no no no
Utah no yes no THC and metabolites no
Vermont yes yes no no no
|Virginia no no no no no
Washington yes yes yes no Sng
West Virginia no yes no no no
Wisconsin no no . no THC no
Wyoming no no n no no

0
*Colorado has reasonable inference law with a limit >0 for THC



