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State Transportation Revenue Sources
(2023)

Motor Fuel Taxes comprised
41.1% of state transportation
revenue in 2016, compared 
to 37.6%  in 2023. 
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State Gas Tax Changes

State Actions
• Since 2013, 34 states & D.C. 

have increased their gas tax.

• 24 states & D.C. have 

indexed or variable-rate gas 

taxes.
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Source: FY23 estimates from National Association of State Budget Officers (NASBO).

Total Percentage of Transportation Fund Revenue from Gas Tax 
(FY23)
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States with Fees on Plug-In Hybrid and/or Electric Vehicles

State Actions
• 39 states have EV 

annual registration fees.

• 22 states plug-in hybrid fee.

• EV fees range from the 

lowest at $50 (Colorado, 

Hawaii, South Dakota) to 

the highest at $290 (New 

Jersey by 2028)
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Road Usage Charges (RUC)

Research and Planning

Multi-state Research 
Participants

Pilot Conducted

Ongoing Operations / 
Transitioning & Growing

Setup

Updated: February 7, 2024
* The pilot project in Connecticut was conducted by TETC, not the state

Source: CDM Smith
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State RUC Programs

Utah

• Created by Utah’s Legislature: SB 136 established a voluntary 
RUC program. 

• Effective Date: January 2020.

• Eligible Vehicles: Alternative fuel vehicles including full electric 
vehicles, plug-in hybrid and gasoline hybrid vehicles. 

• Payment and Vendor Options: One firm—DriveSync—offers 
reporting and payment services. Smartphone required. Device 
required if vehicle has On Board Diagnostic (OBD) technology. It is 
NOT required if vehicle has embedded telematics technology.

• Other Provisions: 

• On Jan. 1, 2023, the RUC rate is one-cent per mile. The RUC 
cap is $130.25 for an annual and $100.75 for a six-month 
registration. The RUC rate increases incrementally in 
subsequent years.

• RUC participants can never be charged more than the annual 
registration fee and receive monthly invoices.

• Vehicle owners with privacy concerns may opt for short-term 
data retention or choose instead to pay the flat EV registration 
fee.

Oregon

• Created by Oregon’s Legislature: SB 810 (2013) directed 
ODOT to establish the nation’s first fully operational RUC 
program.

• Effective Date: OReGO, the RUC program, went live in July 
2015.

• Eligible Vehicles: Electric, plug-in, compressed natural gas 
and propane vehicles

• Payment and Vendor Options: Three firms—Azuga, Emovis 
and ODOT—offer reporting and payment services.

• Other Provisions: 

• Vehicles achieving at least 40 mpg, as well as electric 
vehicles, are exempt from paying supplemental 
registration fees by enrolling ($33 for vehicles with fuel 
efficiency at or above 40 mpg and $110 for electric 
vehicles).

• The per-mile rate is set at 5% of the per-gallon license 
tax (currently 1.9 cents per mile). OReGO participants 
receive a credit for fuel tax they pay. 
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State RUC Programs Cont.
Hawaii

• Created by Hawaii’s Legislature: SB 1534 (2023) established a mandatory RUC program.  

• Effective Date: July 1, 2025. 

• Eligible Vehicles: Only electric vehicles. 

• Payment and Vendor Options: Fee is calculated based on the vehicle's two most recent odometer 
readings, which are done during annual vehicle safety inspection. Road user fee must be paid concurrent 
with annual registration renewal. Fee is capped at $50 annually. 

• Other Provisions: 

• Mileage Rate is .08 cents a mile. 

• Until June 30, 2028, electric vehicle owners may pay a $50 registration surcharge as opposed to 
participating in the RUC program. 

• Revenue collected will be deposited into the state highway fund. 

• Hawaii DOT must submit plan to the Legislature by Dec. 2025 for transitioning all vehicles in Hawaii to a 
road usage charge. 
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State RUC Programs 

Virginia

• Created by Virginia’s Legislature: SB 890 (2020) established a voluntary RUC program.

• Effective Date: Virginia’s voluntary mileage choice program went live on July 1, 2022. 
• Eligible Vehicles: Fuel efficient (25 mpg average) and electric vehicles.

• Payment and Vendor Options: One firm—Emovis—offers reporting and payment services.

• Other Provisions: 

• Drivers with eligible vehicles may choose to participate in the mileage use fee program instead of paying an annual flat 
highway use fee. 

• Mileage choice program participants have option to choose a mileage reporting device with or without GPS capability. 

• The mileage choice fee is calculated by dividing the highway use fee by the average number of miles traveled by a 
passenger vehicle (11,600 miles) in the Commonwealth to determine a per-mile fee. Mileage choice participants will 
never pay more than their annual highway use fee. 
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Transportation Network Company (Uber/Lyft) Fees

States with fees on TNCs

States with fees on TNCs 
dedicated to Transportation
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Delivery Fees

Colorado (SB 260, 2021)
Enacted 27 cent fee on all retail and food deliveries 
at point of sale. 

• In first year, fee generated $75.9 million.

• Fees are collected by the retailer. 

• Generated funds for Highway Users Tax Fund 
(HUTF) for use by local governments. 

• Generated funds for Statewide Bridge and 
Tunnel Enterprise 

• Generated funds for Clean Transit Enterprise.

Minnesota (HF 2887, 2023)
Enacted 50 cent fee for each retail delivery purchases over 
$100 that includes at least one taxable item.

• Estimated to generate $59 million in first year. 
• Exempts baby products, medical devices, prepared 

food, food and food ingredients. 
• Exemptions for small businesses, MnDOT permitted 

delivery vehicles and food and beverage service 
providers. 

• Proceeds deposited into Transportation 
Advancement Account and Food Delivery Support 
Account. 

• Transportation Advancement Account provides road 
and project funding for local jurisdictions.
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Kilowatt Hour Charges  i.e. EV Public Charging Station Fees ​
Eight states—Georgia, Iowa, Kentucky, Montana, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Utah and Wisconsin—have laws taxing 
electricity consumed at public EV charging stations. Revenue is mostly dedicated to transportation infrastructure. 

Kentucky (HB 8, 2022)

o Creates a 3 cent-per-kWh excise tax and a 3-cent surtax 
on power used to charge electric vehicles, beginning in 
2023. The tax rate will then be adjusted each year 
based on changes in the National Highway Construction 
Cost Index (NHCCI), and funds from the tax will be 
deposited into the state’s road fund. 

Iowa (HF 767, 2019)
o Created a 2.6-cents-per-kWh tax on energy delivered 

outside of a private residence beginning July 1, 2023. 
o Credits revenue to two separate funds, both of which 

improve and maintain roads in the state. 

Oklahoma (HB 2234, 2021)

o Creates a new 3-cents-per-kWh tax on electricity used 
for EV charging at public charging stations beginning 
January 1, 2024. The tax does not apply to private 
residential charging. 

o The new law provides for the state’s EV fees to be 
deposited into a new Driving on Road Infrastructure 
with Vehicles of Electricity (DRIVE) Revolving Fund until 
2027, after which 15% of these revenues will be 
diverted directly to county governments. The fund will 
be used for road and bridge infrastructure.

https://apps.legislature.ky.gov/record/22rs/hb8.html
https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/policy/otps/nhcci/pt1.cfm
http://webserver1.lsb.state.ok.us/cf_pdf/2021-22%20ENR/hB/HB2234%20ENR.PDF
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• NCSL Alternative Transportation User Fees Foundation Partnership - https://www.ncsl.org/transportation/ncsl-
alternative-transportation-user-fees-foundation-partnership

• State Road Usage Charge Toolkit- https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-road-user-charge-pilot-
results-and-legislative-action.aspx

• Recent Legislative Actions Likely to Change Gas Taxes- https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/2013-and-
2014-legislative-actions-likely-to-change-gas-taxes.aspx

• Variable Rate Gas Taxes- https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/variable-rate-gas-taxes.aspx

• Electric Vehicle and Plug-in Hybrid Fees - https://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/new-fees-on-hybrid-and-electric-
vehicles.aspx

• Transportation Funding and Finance State Bill Tracking Database-
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/ncsl-transportation-funding-finance-legis-database.aspx

NCSL Transportation Funding Resources

https://www.ncsl.org/transportation/ncsl-alternative-transportation-user-fees-foundation-partnership
https://www.ncsl.org/transportation/ncsl-alternative-transportation-user-fees-foundation-partnership
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-road-user-charge-pilot-results-and-legislative-action.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/state-road-user-charge-pilot-results-and-legislative-action.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/2013-and-2014-legislative-actions-likely-to-change-gas-taxes.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/2013-and-2014-legislative-actions-likely-to-change-gas-taxes.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/variable-rate-gas-taxes.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/new-fees-on-hybrid-and-electric-vehicles.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/energy/new-fees-on-hybrid-and-electric-vehicles.aspx
https://www.ncsl.org/research/transportation/ncsl-transportation-funding-finance-legis-database.aspx
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Thank you for joining today! 

Doug Shinkle

Director of Transportation Program

Douglas.Shinkle@NCSL.ORG

303-521-6359

www.ncsl.org

@NCSLorg

Denver 
7700 East First Place, 
Denver CO 80230  

Washington D.C. 

444 North Capitol Street, N.W. 
Suite 515, 
Washington, D.C. 20001

http://www.ncsl.org/
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