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Home Health Care

Skilled care given by health care professionals such as nurses, physical, occupational, and speech
therapists

The care must be ordered by a physician or a non-physician provider
18,000 NM Medicare beneficiaries used home health benefit

72 Medicare certified home health agencies

Hospice
Addresses patient’s physical, emotional, social, and spiritual needs

Helps the patient’s family and caregivers
O e r e Emphasis is on caring, not curing
Care typically provided in the home

11,438 NM Medicare beneficiaries used hospice benefit

42 Medicare certified hospice agencies

Personal Care Services
Medicaid community benefit for individuals with a nursing facility level of care determine

Assistance with some or all of activities of daily living

Purpose is to avoid institutionalization and/or to increase individual’s ability to remain independent

Over 32,000 Medicaid personal care service members




Home Is
Patient

Preferred &
Safe Care
Setting

AARP Public Policy Institute report
that 90% of people 65 and older
would prefer to receive care in
their homes for as long as
possible.

94% of Medicare beneficiaries would
prefer to receive post-hospital short-term
health care at home.

Patients treated in a home-based
setting following a visit to the
emergency room were significantly
less likely to be admitted or
readmitted to the hospital.



EVV & Home Health Care

 December 2016 Congress passed the 21t
Century Cures Act

* The Cures Act was supposed to promote the
interoperability of health information
technology and aims to reduce regulatory
burdens on providers.

* CMS mandated Electronic Visit Verification to
be implemented by home health agencies
January of 2024.

* New Mexico Medicaid took the path of least
resistance and our home health agencies are
paying the price.




Electronic Visit
Verification

Currently only 5 of the 50 states or 10% are
continuing to use a closed model solution.

e Tennessee has recently announced it will
be moving to an Open Model solution.

e Alabama initially deployed a closed model
solution but moved to an Open Model
solution after about a year.

B Oper Model
B Closed Model

Closed Model —
Censidering change 1o
Open Model



20 Year History of
Personal Care Services

Reimbursement
Rates

YEAR REIMBURSEMENT |  MINIMUM WAGE REQUIREMENTS
(PCO Rates)

Santa Fe | Abg. |Las Cruces| N.M.
1999 $18.00
2002 $16.00
2003 $15.50
2004 $13.50 $8.50 | $5.15 $5.15 $5.15
2007 $13.50 $8.50 | $6.75 $5.85 $5.85
2008 $13.16 $9.50 | $7.50 $7.50 $7.50
2009 $12.88 $10.29 | $7.50 $7.50 $7.50
2012 $12.88 $10.29 | $7.50 $7.50 $7.50
2013 $12.88 $10.51 | $8.50 $7.50 $7.50
2014 $12.88 $10.66 | $8.60 $7.50 $7.50
2015 $13.40 $10.84 | $8.75 $8.40 $7.50
2016 $13.27 $10.91 | $8.75 $8.40 $7.50
2017 $13.27 $10.91 | $8.80 $9.20 $7.50
2018 $13.27 $11.09 | $8.95 $9.20 $7.50
2019 $13.40 $11.40 | $9.20 $10.10 $7.50




PCS Reimbursement Rate 2020-2024

Reimbursement

Santa Fe Abq. Las Cruces N.M.

2020 $12.10/hr $9.35/hr $10.25/hr $9.00/hr
Minimum Wage

2020 $14.10 $13.55 $13.55 $14.90

Reimbursement Rate

2021 $12.32/hr $10.50/hr $10.50/hr $10.50/hr
Minimum Wage

2021 $14.32 $14.70 $13.80 $16.40
Reimbursement

2022 $12.32/hr 11.50/hr $11.50/hr $11.50/hr
Minimum Wage

2022 $14.32 $15.70 $14.80 $17.40
Reimbursement

2023 $14.03/hr $12.00/hr $12.00/hr $12.00/hr
Minimum Wage

2023 $16.03 $16.20 $15.20 $17.90
Reimbursement

2024 $14.03/hr $12.00/hr $12.00/hr $12.00/hr
Minimum Wage

2024 $16.78 $16.96 $15.91 $18.74




New Mexico Response to Rising Provider Costs

PCS Reimbursemnt Rate
Shrinking Margins

2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024
= Min Wage $7.50 $7.50 $9.00 $10.50 $11.50 $12.00 $12.00
® Reimbursement Rate $13.27 $13.40 $14.90 $16.40 $17.40 $17.90 $18.74

B Provider Costs $11.98 $11.98 $14.32 $16.61 $18.13 $18.90 $18.90




New Mexico State Comparison

New Mexico

Arizona

Colorado- Denver
(non-relative)

Colorado- Denver
(relative)

Colorado- Non Denver
(non relative)

Colorado- Non Denver (relative)
Oklahoma
Utah

Personal Care Personal Care
15 min. 1 hour
S4.69 $18.74
$8.70 $34.80
S7.73 $30.92
$6.83 S27.32
S7.09 $28.36
$6.17 S24.68
S5.26 S21.04
$6.19 $24.76

$12.00
$14.35

$17.29
$17.29

$14.42
$14.42
$7.25
$7.25



Recommenaations

Pressure NMHCA to Increase personal care
move toward an open service reimbursement
electronic visit rates to support
verification (EVV) model recruitment and
retention of qualified
workforce

Exempt personal care
service and home and
community based service
providers from future
state tax assessments
(such as PFML, etc)
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