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PROPERTY TAX CODE

Summarize the potential impaciind effect on

the two constitutional amendm__e__n authorizing
additional property tax savings p' yrams for
veteran property owners.

Constitutional Amendment to InCrease the ’
ffil gislative{ailia




An ad valorem tax is commonly used in the taxation of real property. Ad
valorem taxes are typically calculated on an annual basis. Ad valorem
tax is based on the assessed value of real or personal property. The
assessed value is based on the fair market value,

UNLESS OTHERWISE REQUIRED BY LAW.



MILL LEVIES, TAX RATES, TAX BASE

» The broader the base the lower the rate.
» Narrow the base Increase the rate.

» Twenty-two counties have maxed out their 11.85 mills for operating
budgets.

» Two Constitutional Amendments providing tax savings to veteran
property owners, means a hard hit to revenues and possibility still have
increased property tax savings to everyone else.

» Senior Citizens and Persons with Disability who are on a fixed income will
see an increase in their property taxes.

» EVEN IF THEY ARE ON THE VALUE FREEZE TAX SAVINGS PROGRAM



Opportunities

» |dentified the problems and now the OPPORTUNITIES

>

Because the increase of the veteran's property exemption from $4,000
to $10,000 is indexed for inflation, that means

The Head of Family Exemption currently at $2,000 will continue to lose
value and shift even greater property taxes on homeowners; eventually
making it obsolete (useless).

Present day value for the Head of Family should be at $5,000 in today’s
dollars.

The additional tax burden varies by individual tax district and county
and could range from as low as $25 to as high as $300 per household.

Difficult to calculate because mill levies are done per $1,000 of assessed
value.



CORRECTIVE ACTION VIA 6
CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT

"A. The legislature shall exempt from taxation the property of each head of the family; provided

that the head of the family occupies the property as the primary residence of the head of the ‘ ‘ \‘ w.‘

family, in the amount of:

(1) in each year through 2026, two thousand dollars ($2,000);

(2) in 2027, NOT LESS THAN TWO THOUSAND AND UP TO ten thousand dollars ($10,000) AT COUNTY
OPTION;

and

(3) in 2028 and each subsequent year, the amount provided in Paragraph (2) of this subsection,
adjusted for inflation.”

And then for Subsection B, add “if the honorably discharged member or surviving spouse of the
honorably discharged member occupies

the property as the primary residence of that person...”



FEQUITABLE DISCLOSURE 7
NM one of TEN®?

Texas Central Appraisal Districts Buy the DATA
Utah has Seller disclosures
Missouri leave it up to the County

Mississippi changed its law recently.

WORRVARSY -V V¥V

New Mexico requires homeowners to submit
sales transfer affidavits, but has no such
requirement for corporate and commercial

property.
Fair is Fair
EQUAL TREATMENT UNDER THE LAW




The Team:

» NM COUNTIES
» ASSESSORS' AFFILIATE
» HOMEOWNERS (especially first-time homeowners and value freeze)

» Community Housing Development Organizations

Stakeholders (Partnerse):

» NAOIP

» The New Mexico Association of REALTORS (Commercial Association of REALTORS)
» The Apartment Association of New Mexico

» Title and Escrow Companies



Resource Requirements

» Political Will o help homeowners:

»Personnel: Won't require any additional
staffing or bureaucracy

» Technology: None required because will
use same as residential affidavif

»Fiscal Impact: Won't require any funding
nor reduce any revenues



The Ten (10) Point Plan 10

1.

5

0 RS

Joint Resolutions CA for NM Const art VIII § 5 (Increase Head of Family Exemption
BY COUNTY OPTION)]

Amend 7-38-12.1 and 12.2. Equitable Disclosure
Firm Deadline to apply for Disabled Vetrans tax savings programs Amend 7-38-17

“Reproduction” of physical improvements destroyed by a "declared state
disaster or emergency"” as that term is defined in 12-10-11.1

Phase in nonresidential increases over three years w/ sunset automatic repeal
County property valuation fund clairfications

Incentivise to Increase mulfifamily housing

Update Notice of Value to provide flexibly to County Assessors

Amend 7-38-25 appropriate compensation for County Protest Board members
Update the presumptions of nonresidential tax class and correctness
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