AGENDA

Legislative Education Study Committee Catherine A. Miller Elementary School 6201 Challenger Road Church Rock, New Mexico 87311 (505) 721-1400

July 26 - 28, 2017

Wednesday, July 26

- 9:00 (1) <u>Call to Order, Introductions, and Approval of Agenda and Minutes.</u> Senator Mimi Stewart, Chair
- 9:05 (2) Strategic Initiatives of Local School Districts. Mike Hyatt, Superintendent, Gallup McKinley County Schools; Marc R. Space, Superintendent, Grants-Cibola County Schools; Daniel P. Benavidez, Superintendent, Zuni Public School District
- 11:30 (3) <u>Director's Report.</u>

Informational Items

- a. Administrative Rulemaking
 - i. Educational Retirement Board
 - ii. Licensure for School Health Assistants and Licensed Practical Nurses
 - iii. Guidelines for Implementing Bilingual Multicultural Education Programs
- b. LESC July Newsletter
- c. Zuni Capital Outlay Lawsuit Update
- 12:00 Lunch
- 1:00 **(4)** <u>Impact Aid Overview.</u> Hipolito "Paul" Aguilar, Deputy Secretary, Finance and Administration, Public Education Department (PED)
- 3:00 (5) FY17 and FY18 Reads to Lead Awards and Programs. Debbie Montoya, Director, Priority Schools Bureau, PED; Steve Aguirre, Director, High Plains Regional Education Cooperative; Bill Green, Superintendent, Reserve Independent School District; Kirk Carpenter, Superintendent, Aztec Municipal Schools
- 5:00 Recess

Thursday, July 27

9:00 Call to Order. Senator Mimi Stewart, Chair

Thursday cont.

- 9:05 **(6)** International Education Comparisons and Student Performance on the Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA). Michelle Exstrom, Education Program Director, National Conference of State Legislatures
- 11:00 (7) Education and the Economy. Marc S. Tucker, President and Chief Executive Officer, National Center on Education and the Economy (NCEE); Betsy Brown Ruzzi, Vice President, NCEE and Director, Center on International Education Benchmarking (CIEB)
- 12:00 Lunch
- 1:00 (7) Education and the Economy (continued). Mr. Tucker and Ms. Ruzzi
- 3:00 **(8)** NACA Inspired Schools Network. Kara Bobroff, Principal, Native American Community Academy (NACA), and Executive Director, NACA Inspired Schools Network; Tom Genné, Principal, Six Directions Indigenous School; Louella Poblano, Head Administrator, Dzil Ditl'ooi School of Empowerment, Action and Perseverance
- 4:45 Community Input.
- 5:00 Recess

Friday, July 28

- 9:00 Call to Order. Senator Mimi Stewart, Chair
- 9:05 (9) Educating New Mexico's Native American Students. Derrick J. Lente, New Mexico State Representative, District 65; Dr. Ted. S. Jojola, Professor, School of Architecture and Planning, University of New Mexico; Latifah Phillips, Assistant Secretary for Indian Education, PED; Rosalyn Carroll, Education Specialist, Jicarilla Apache Tribal Department of Education; Dr. Tommy H. Lewis, Superintendent of Schools, Navajo Nation Department of Diné Education (invited); Bernadette Panteah, Director, Zuni Education and Career Development Center

ADJOURN