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Date: November 16, 2018 
Prepared By: Ochoa 
Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM): 6.61.9 NMAC, 
Certificates of Endorsement Waiver 

Proposed Rule Abstract 

1. Agency: Public Education Department
2. Rule Citation: 6.61.9 NMAC, Certificates of Endorsement Waiver
3. Rulemaking Action: Repeal and Replace
4. Register Issue and Date of Notice of Proposed Rulemaking: Volume 29, Issue 15, August 14, 2018
5. Effective Date: November 13, 2018
6. Citation to Specific Legal Authority: Sections 22-2-1, 22-2-2, and 22-10A-14 NMSA 1978
7. Short Explanation of the Rule’s Purpose: To update the requirements for seeking an endorsement waiver,

renewing an endorsement waiver, and requesting department review of a denied endorsement waiver.
8. Link to Full Text of the Rule: http://164.64.110.134/nmac/nmregister/xxix/6.61.9.html
9. How Information on the Rule Can Be Obtained: https://webnew.ped.state.nm.us/bureaus/policy-innovation-

measurement/rule-notification/
10. Comment Period and Deadlines: August 14, 2018 to September 19, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.  Written comments

may be submitted to the Policy Division, New Mexico Public Education Department, Room 101, 300 Don
Gaspar Avenue, Santa Fe, NM 87501, rule.feedback@state.nm.us, or by fax to (505) 827-6520

11. Rule Hearing: September 19, 2018 from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 a.m. at 300 Don Gaspar Avenue in Mabry Hall,
Santa Fe, NM 87501

12. Link to Permanent Agency Rulemaking Record:
http://statenm.force.com/public/SSP_RuleHearingSearchPublic

Adopted Rule Update 

1. Register Issue and Date of Adopted Rule: Volume 29, Issue 21, November 13, 2018
2. Date Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Was Reported to the Committee: September 27, 2018
3. Link to Proposed Rule Report:

https://www.nmlegis.gov/handouts/ALESC%20092618%20Item%207%20A.3%20-
%20PROPOSED%20RULE%20Certificates%20of%20Endorsement%20Waiver%20Rulemaking.pdf

4. Minor, Non-Substantive Changes from the Rule as Proposed: Other than minor wording changes, a
subsection was added to Section 6.61.9.8 NMAC limiting endorsement waivers in mathematics, language
arts, science and social studies to individuals with a secondary teaching license for seventh through 12th
grade, a middle level license for fifth through ninth grade, and a license for prekindergarten through 12th
grade. These endorsement waivers will not be available to teachers who hold a birth through
prekindergarten license, a prekindergarten through third grade license, an elementary license for
kindergarten through eighth grade, a secondary vocational-technical license, and a special education
license. See Attachment 1, 6.61.9 NMAC, Certificates of Endorsement Waiver Adopted Rule.
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Summary of Proposed Rule 

The August 14, 2018 issue of the New Mexico Register contained a Notice of Proposed 
Rulemaking to repeal and replace the current rule that establishes the requirements 
for seeking an endorsement waiver, renewing an endorsement waiver, and 
requesting Public Education Department (PED) review of a denied endorsement 
waiver. The proposed rule also defines which endorsements qualify for a waiver 
application.  

Analysis 

The proposed rule maintains much of the waiver process required by the current rule, 
but with greater brevity. When local educational agencies (LEAs) apply to PED for an 
endorsement waiver, they will have to submit documentation within 60 days of the 
start date of the employee’s contract, demonstrating the employee is filling a vacancy 
that has remained unfilled through no fault of the LEA.  

The LEA and employee must then 
also submit a detailed plan for the  
new employee’s completion of the 
endorsement requirements to PED. 
The certificate of endorsement 
waiver will then be issued for up to 
one year. Essentially, the proposed 
rule leaves the actual waiver process 
unchanged. 

Under the proposed rule some 
endorsements will no longer be 
eligible for a waiver including 
teaching English to speakers of 
other languages (TESOL), bilingual 
education, and modern or classical 
languages. TESOL changes may 
impact schools across the state, as a 
TESOL endorsement is required for 
teachers who serve students who are 
classified as English learners (EL).  
Schools already struggle to staff 
these positions and this proposed 
change will likely impact schools 
with a high EL population. This 
proposed change could result in 
more long term substitutes in TESOL 
positions, as there aren’t as stringent 
requirements for long term 
substitutes to serve EL students.  

Charter Schools and School Districts with Highest Percent EL Population 
FY 18 

Location 
Number of EL 

Students 
Overall Student 

Population 
Percent EL 
Population 

Dream Dine 18 24 72% 

La Promesa Early Learning 224 377 59% 

Walatowa Charter High 26 56 46% 

DEAP 11 23 46% 

Hatch Valley Public Schools 507 1,268 40% 

Academy of Trades and Tech 46 123 37% 

Anthony Charter School 39 107 37% 

Gadsden Independent Schools 4,607 13,407 34% 

La Resolana Leadership 23 66 34% 

Deming Public Schools 1,827 5,381 34% 

Source: PED 

School Districts with Highest Number of EL Students 
FY 18  

School District 
Number of EL 

Students 
Overall Student 

Population 
Percent EL 
Population 

Albuquerque Public Schools 13,451 89,770 15% 

Gadsden Independent Schools 4,607 13,407 34% 

Gallup-McKinley County Schools 3,086 11,399 27% 

Las Cruces Public Schools 2,833 24,694 11% 

Santa Fe Public Schools 2,786 13,087 21% 

Source: PED 
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The proposed rule also requires PED to consider a waiver candidate’s NMTEACH 
effectiveness rating when determining whether to approve or deny a waiver request. 
Further, the proposed rule also prohibits a waiver from being approved if the 
candidate’s effectiveness rating from the prior year was ineffective or minimally 
effective.  



4



New Rule

http://164.64.110.134/nmac/nmregister/xxix/6.61.9.html[11/13/2018 4:49:29 PM]

New Mexico Register / Volume XXIX, Issue 21 / November 13, 2018

TITLE 6               PRIMARY
AND SECONDARY EDUCATION
CHAPTER 61     SCHOOL PERSONNEL - SPECIFIC LICENSURE
REQUIREMENTS FOR INSTRUCTORS
PART 9  CERTIFICATES OF ENDORSEMENT
WAIVER

6.61.9.1  ISSUING AGENCY:  Public Education Department (PED), hereinafter
the department.
[6.61.9.1 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.1
NMAC, 11/13/2018]

6.61.9.2  SCOPE:  This rule governs the requirements for the
issuance and duration of endorsement waivers to those individuals who do
not
meet the requirements for endorsements as required for providing instructional
services in certain areas.
[6.61.9.2 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.2
NMAC, 11/13/2018]

6.61.9.3  STATUTORY AUTHORITY:  Sections 22-2-1, 22-2-2, and 22-10A-14, NMSA
1978
[6.61.9.3 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.3
NMAC, 11/13/2018]

6.61.9.4                 DURATION:  Permanent.
[6.61.9.4 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.4
NMAC, 11/13/2018]

6.61.9.5  EFFECTIVE DATE:  November 13, 2018, unless a later date is
cited in the history note at the end of a section.
[6.61.9.5 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.5 NMAC, 11/13/2018]

6.61.9.6  OBJECTIVE:  This rule establishes the process and
requirements for school districts, state-chartered charter schools, and state
institutions to request and receive endorsement waivers.
[6.61.9.6 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.6
NMAC, 11/13/2018]

6.61.9.7                 DEFINITIONS:  [RESERVED]
[6.61.9.7 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.7
NMAC, 11/13/2018]

6.61.9.8  REQUIREMENTS FOR INITIAL
ENDORSEMENT WAIVER REQUESTS:
A. Endorsement waivers shall:

(1) be authorized by the department, in writing;
(2) permit
a superintendent, state-charter administrator, or governing authority of a
state institution to fill an existing

licensed teaching position in a public
school or state institution with an individual holding a standard license who
does not hold the specific
endorsement required for that position; and

(3) be issued for up to one school year.
B. Endorsement waivers may be requested in the following
areas:

(1) agriculture;
(2) business education;
(3) family and
consumer sciences;
(4) gifted education;
(5) health;
(6) information tech coordinator;
(7) language
arts;
(8) library media;
(9) mathematics;
(10) performing
arts;
(11) physical education;
(12) psychology;
(13) reading;
(14) science;
(15) social studies;
(16) technology education;
and
(17) visual arts.

C. Endorsement
waivers in mathematics, language arts, science, and social studies shall be
limited to individuals with teaching
licensure in secondary education, grades 7
- 12; middle level licensure, grade 5 - 9; and licensure for grades pre-K - 12.

D. Requests for endorsement waivers shall:
(1) be
based on an emergency in which, due to circumstances beyond the control of the
district, state-chartered charter

school, or state institution, and as
determined by the department, a vacancy exists in a teaching position requiring
an endorsement listed in

ATTACHMENT 1
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http://164.64.110.134/nmac/nmregister/xxix/6.61.9.html[11/13/2018 4:49:29 PM]

Subsection A of 6.61.9.8 NMAC that must be filled
immediately or as soon as practicable to avoid a deterioration of significant
services;
(2) be submitted within 60 calendar days of the beginning date
of the endorsement waiver candidate’s employment

contract with the district,
state-chartered charter school, or state institution;
(3) include documentation of unsuccessful recruitment efforts to
fill the vacant position including the methods used and

the dates and duration
of efforts;
(4) demonstrate
that the request has been made with the knowledge and consent of the candidate
for the endorsement

waiver;
(5) include documentation of the candidate’s degree and coursework
taken; and
(6) include
a detailed plan completed and signed by the candidate identifying how they will
gain the needed

endorsements, including the completion at least nine college
credit hours within one school year.
[6.61.9.8 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.8
NMAC, 11/13/2018]

6.61.9.9  REVIEW OF INITIAL ENDORSEMENT
WAIVER REQUESTS:
A. The
department shall review all requests for endorsement waivers within 60 calendar
days of receipt.  Waiver requests shall
be

valid for one school year unless granted renewal according to the terms
stated in 6.61.9.11 NMAC.
(1) Approved waivers shall detail the
conditions under which the waiver has been approved.
(2) Denied
waivers shall state the reasons for the denial and shall provide details regarding
the right of the district, state-

chartered charter school, or state institution
to request a review or appeal.
B. The department shall consider the following criteria when
determining whether to approve or deny an endorsement waiver

request:
(1) whether the candidate’s plan for gaining the endorsement
meets the criteria defined in Subsection C of 6.61.9.8

NMAC;
(2) the waiver history of the candidate;
(3) whether the degree and coursework taken by the endorsement
waiver candidate could later qualify the candidate to

receive an endorsement in
the area requested;
(4) whether the candidate will be reasonably capable of
completing required coursework or passing required content tests

for the
waiver; and
(5) the NMTEACH effectiveness rating of the waiver candidate.

C. Endorsement waivers shall not be approved if:
(1) the
waiver request does not have the written consent of the candidate;
(2) the request is for endorsements
in teaching English to speakers of other languages, bilingual education, or
modern and

classical languages pursuant to Subsection F of 6.32.2.10 NMAC; or
(3) the candidate’s NMTEACH effectiveness rating from the prior
year is ineffective or minimally effective.

D. The
department may deny a request for an endorsement waiver for the following
reason:
(1) the candidate’s degree or college coursework is too far
removed from the focus area of the endorsement waiver;
(2) the application is submitted without supporting
documentation or a certification attesting to the specific methods,

dates, and
duration of recruitment efforts;
(3) the candidate has held an endorsement waiver for more than
three years, whether consecutive or not;
(4) the
candidate has previously been issued an endorsement waiver and has failed to
comply with the conditions of the

department, including taking and passing
required assessments; or
(5) the request is submitted beyond the 60-day deadline without
demonstrating good cause for the delay.

[6.61.9.9 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.9
NMAC, 11/13/2018]

6.61.9.10               RENEWAL OF AN ENDORSEMENT WAIVER:  Endorsement waivers may be renewed if
evidence of enrollment in or
pending completion of required coursework and
testing requirements is provided.  It
shall be the sole responsibility of the district, state-chartered
charter
school, or state institution to submit this documentary evidence to the
department’s licensure bureau.

A. Requests
for the renewal of an endorsement waiver shall:
(1) be submitted by the superintendent, state-chartered charter school
administrator, or the governing authority of a state

institution, on a
department-approved form;
(2) document all courses completed and exams taken by the
candidate in the prior school year;
(3) demonstrate the candidate’s compliance with all conditions
required by the department for issuance of an endorsement

waiver in the prior
school year; and
(4) contain a
detailed plan for completion of endorsement requirements within the current
school year by the educator.

B. Endorsement renewals shall not be approved if:
(1) the candidate does not consent to providing the
instructional services required of the position for which the waiver is

being
sought;
(2) prior non-use of an endorsement waiver is used as the reason
for renewing the waiver; or
(3) the request for renewal does not comply with the
requirements of 6.61.9.8 NMAC.

                C.            Endorsement renewals may not be approved if the candidate fails to complete and earn credit for college coursework to obtain
the requisite credentials or obtain the degree required for the endorsement without good cause as determined by the department.
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                D.            Provided
that the holder of an endorsement waiver has complied with all conditions for
the issuance of an endorsement imposed
during the preceding school year, there
shall be no need for the public school or state institution to reestablish the
existence of an emergency.
[6.61.9.10 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.10
NMAC, 11/13/2018]
 
6.61.9.11               REQUESTS FOR REVIEW OF DENIED
WAIVERS:
                A.            Candidates with a denied waiver, denied waiver renewal,
or a waiver under review shall not provide instructional services in the
classroom for which the endorsement waiver is being sought unless the candidate
also has a valid substitute certificate and is performing services as
a
substitute teacher pursuant to Section 22-0A-15 NMSA 1978 and 6.63.10 NMAC.
                B.            Requests
for review of a denied initial endorsement waiver shall:
                                (1)           be in writing;
                                (2)           be
addressed to and received by the director of the department’s licensure bureau
within 30 calendar days of receipt of
the denial by the district,
state-chartered charter school, or state institution;
                                (3)           contain
a statement of reasons why the endorsement waiver should be issued;
                                (4)           document the candidate’s progress to-date toward completion
of the required coursework and tests necessary to obtain
the endorsement and
what steps will be taken to fulfill said requirements within the duration of
the endorsement waiver.
                C.            Requests
for review of a denied renewal endorsement waiver shall:
                                (1)           be in writing;
                                (2)           be
addressed to and received by the director of the department’s licensure bureau
within 30 calendar days of receipt of
the denial by the district,
state-chartered charter school, or state institution;
                                (3)           contain a statement of reasons why the endorsement waiver
should be renewed; and
                                (4)           provide documentation justifying the reasons for the
candidate’s failure to satisfy the requirements for issuance of an
endorsement
during the preceding school year.
                D.            After review of a denied waiver, the decision of the
department shall be communicated as soon as practicable.  The decision of
the department shall
constitute a final agency decision and may be appealed pursuant to a district
court in accordance with applicable law.
[6.61.9.11 NMAC - Rp, 6.61.9.11
NMAC, 11/13/2018]
 
HISTORY OF 6.61.9
NMAC:
History of Repealed
Material:
6.61.9 NMAC, Certificates of Waiver, filed 7-2-2001 -
Repealed effective 10/31/2007.
6.61.9 NMAC, Certificates of Waiver, filed 10/31/2007 was repealed
and replaced by 6.61.9 NMAC - Certificates of Waiver, effective 11/13/2018.
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