Probation and Parole



NMCD Fees Collected — NMCD 053100

Parole Fees - $35 assessed monthly paid to NMCD (NMSA 31-21-10)
Probation Fees - $35 assessed monthly paid to NMCD (NMSA 31-20-6)
Probation/Parole Costs: Costs assessed against an offender by the court at the
time of sentencing by the Adult Parole Board or through an Interstate Compact

Supervision transfer are not to be less than $35.00 per month or more than
$150.00 per month

Community Corrections Fees — $35 assessed monthly paid to NMCD

Monetary costs assessed against offenders as part of participation in
specialized programs

GPS/Alcohol Monitoring Fees — Collected for lost/damaged equipment -
paid to NMCD

Monetary costs assessed against offenders as part of being placed on GPS.
This may also include reimbursement for lost or damaged GPS equipment

New Mexico Corrections Department



NMCD FY 18 Collections Paid To NMCD

Probation Costs $1,768,490.54
Parole Costs $377,258.48
GPS/Alcohol Monitoring $35,371

Total $2,181,119.9
$2.5 M part of our operating budget

Community Corrections
Total $44,158.05
$40 K part of our operating budget
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Fees Collected Paid Outside NMCD

Restitution — According to Restitution Agreement (case by case basis) paid to
victim(s) (NMSA 31-21-10/31-20-6)

Full or partial payment of actual damages to victim with actual damages being
what a victim could recover against the defendant in a civil action arising out of
the same facts and circumstances, except punitive damages and damages for
pain and suffering, mental anguish and loss of consortium. Without limitation,
actual damages may also include damages for wrongful death.

DNA Fees - $100 per statute - (NMSA 29-3-10) including out of state offenders
must pay $100 DNA fee
Collected by NMCD; processed and forwarded to DPS

Court Fines and Fees Misc — Collected by PPD and distributed accordingly
(NMSA 31-20-6)

Fines: Monetary penalties assessed by the sentencing Court per the applicable
statutory penalty for that offense.

Fees: Monetary costs assessed by the sentencing court per statutory authority and
payable to the court, or other designated public agency (i.e., DNA j)/ ees, lab fees etc).
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Fees Collected Paid Outside NMCD

Restitution $726,762.36
DNA Fees $204,538.86

Court Fees $367,096.57

Total $1,306,584.90
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Annual Total Collected by NMCD

Total Collected by NMCD annually including
fees not paid to NMCD

$3,487,704.86
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Additional Information

Centralized Offender Payment System (COPS): An automated
system located in F-track which tracks and monitors offender
payment for PPD

The agency places priority on services and opportunities that
encourage offenders to make restitution to the victim(s) of the
crime(s) and/or to the community

When funds are collected from offenders, the agency
administrator ensures the appropriate collection, safequarding
and disbursement of all monies consistent with law, policies, and
directives. Staff is trained in these processes and they are
reviewed annually. (NMCD -053100)

Probation/Parole costs for services provided will be collected on a
monthly basis as required by New Mexico statutes
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Additional Information

Designated Division personnel are responsible for the collection
and daily disbursement of all probation costs, restitution, fines and
other fees and costs assessed against a probationer ordered by a
court of legal jurisdiction and such other costs the court orders
Division personnel to collect. Designated Division personnel are
also responsible for collection of any parole costs assessed against
parolee by the New Mexico Adult Parole Board. 2 full-time FTE

Probation and Parole Officers are responsible for assessing
changes in each offender’s financial status, which would affect the
offender’s ability to pay.

Officers have the ability to request a waiver/modification to
probation/parole costs or Restitution Agreement based on
offenders circumstance. Must be approved by sentencing
authority.
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Additional Information

NON-PAYMENT of the required costs is a violation of probation or
parole, but offenders shall not be confronted with possible
probation/parole violations for failure to meet financial obligations
other than those that are specific conditions of probation/parole.
However, offenders should be encouraged to pay their financial
obligations.

All payments will be made in the form of money orders or cashier’s
checks.

Payments for probation/parole costs, Community Corrections
costs, and GPS costs will be made payable to the New Mexico
Corrections Department (NMCD).

Payments for restitution will be made payable to the victim, unless
otherwise directed by the Court.
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Additional Information

In cases where an offender is due to be discharged from
supervision and has not fully paid their assessed restitution
amount, no less than go days from the date of discharge, the
PPO will complete a Promissory Note form (CD-053101.3)
with details of the offender’s continued payments to the
victim after their discharge date and instructions on how to
submit those payments. A copy of the Promissory Note will be
placed in the offender’s file and sent to the victim so that both
parties are aware of the terms of the note. If the offender
refuses to sign the promissory note no less than go days prior
to discharge, the PPO shall request a status hearing with the
Court with a recommendation for unsatisfactory discharge.
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