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Presentation to the New Mexico Disability Concerns Subcommittee

Madame Chair and Members of the Committee,

My name is Jackson Brainerd. I am a fiscal and labor policy analyst with the National Conference of
State Legislatures. I want to thank you for having me here today to speak on state minimum wage
exemptions. If you’re not familiar with NCSL, we are a bipartisan organization that serves the
legislatures and staffs of the states and territories. We do not have an official opinion on ideal
minimum wage rates or policies related to minimum wage exemptions.

Trends in Minimum Wage Increases

Before I get into subminimum wages, I want to give a quick overview of the state of the national
minimum wage picture generally. Minimum wage debates have been picking up steam across the
country. In the last four years, there have been 30 enacted increases via either legislation or ballot
measure compared three in the four years prior. Nineteen states began the new year with a higher
minimum wage because of recently approved measures or annual indexed increases. This trend
seems to be cooling down, as no states have enacted an increase in 2017. However, the New
Mexican legislature was one of three to pass an increase that was subsequently vetoed.

Current Minimum Wages

Six states and Washington D.C. now have minimum wages above $10.00. Currently D.C.’s is the
highest at $11.50. Close to half the states are between $7.50 and $10, while the rest of the states are
at the federal rate of $7.25. Most debates have primarily been focused around general rate increases
but, here and there, states have been looking into raising wages for certain types of employees who
are generally allowed to be paid at rates below the statutory minimum. These efforts commonly
pertain specifically to tipped workers, youth workers, or workers with disabilities.

Fair Labor Standards Act

The federal Fair Labor Standards Actis a New Deal-era law and the primary federal statute
regulating employment wages. It provides for a national minimum wage along with exemptions to
the minimum wage rate for certain types of employees, including learners, students, apprentices,
patient workers, messengers and people with disabilities. States may establish standards more
protective of employees than those set by the FLSA, and they can also regulate the wages and hours
of employees who are not subject to the FLSA. For the most part, states have chosen to adopt the
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exemptions included in the FLSA and, therefore, most recent legislative action on this front has
sought to limit them.

Tipped Minimum Wages

Tipped wages are technically subminimum wages, although the FLSA requirement is that tipped
earnings must at least equal the minimum wage when added to the sub-wage. Nevertheless, there
have been instances where this law has proven difficult to enforce. Furthermore, the tipped wage,
which was frozen at $2.13 in 1996, has eroded over time relative to the regular minimum wage,
which has been raised multiple times. This has spurred some states to consider eliminating or
reducing the tip credit.

A handful of states and territories require full wage before tips (Alaska, California, Guam,
Minnesota, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, and Washington). Twenty-five states and D.C. require tipped
workers be paid above federal minimum cash wage ($2.13) but below full rate. Seventeen states,
Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands require only the same wage as the federal Fair Labor Standards
Act. At least seven states have enacted legislation raising tipped wages since 2014, but fewer have
moved to eliminate the use of tip credits entirely. After Maine voters eliminated the tip in the 2016
election, the legislature restored it the 2017 session.

Training Wages

The FLSA also provides for subminimum wages for youth workers under 20, as well as full-time
students, student-learners and apprentices. A subminimum wage no lower than $4.25 may be paid to
these workers for the first 90 days of employment. The goal of these lower wages is similar to that
of subminimum wages for people with disabilities and is frequently stated in statute: to prevent the
curtailment of employment opportunities. Fourteen states have adopted the federal youth minimum
wage, and another 18 states have youth minimum above the federal level or with other restrictions.
Voters in South Dakota overturned the creation of youth minimum wage in the 2016 election. In
2017, at least four states (Maine, New York, New Hampshire, Oregon) proposed legislation to
create a youth minimum wage, while Idaho proposed a training wage increase.

14 (c) program

Section 14(c) of the FLLSA authorizes an employer to pay subminimum wages to a worker with a
disability after receiving a certificate from the Department of Labor’s wage and hour division. It
doesn’t apply unless a disability actually impairs the worker’s productive capacity for the work being
performed. The DOL determines the special minimum wage rates based on the quantity and quality
produced by the worker with a disability compared to production rates of workers without
disabilities, as well as prevailing wages, or wages paid to experienced workers who do not have
disabilities for similar work in the same geographic regions. The rates are reviewed and re-
determined at least every six months.
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https://www.dol.gov/whd/regs/compliance/whdfs39.htm

According to the National Council on Disability, the 14(c) program is primarily used by non-profit

or state-operated social service providers, like sheltered workshops, rather than the for-profit sector.
Roughly 5,600 employers pay subminimum wage to 424,000 workers with disabilities nationwide.
This accounts for about 3 percent of the all employed people with disabilities. Seventy-four percent
of 14(c) employees have an intellectual disability. The program used to have a wage floor of 50% of
the statutory minimum rate, but this was repealed by Congress in 1986. Now, it simply requires that
people with disabilities be paid at a rate “commensurate with those paid to non-handicapped
workers” and be “related to the individual’s productivity.” This productivity is typically measured by
employers, who compare how quickly a person with a disability can complete a given task relative to
a worker without a disability. A 2001 GAO report found that the DOL does not systematically
verify that an employet’s assessment of worker productivity and wages are in compliance with the

program.

Federal 14(c) Action/Proposals
There have been steps taken at the federal level to reduce the use of subminimum wage certificates.
As part of WIOA, the Labor Department tightened standards for granting employers exemptions,

required that workers in sub-minimum wage positions receive transitional services focused on
integration into community-based jobs, and required that workers under age 24 be offered
transitional services before placed in exempt jobs. A recent executive order raised minimum wages
for federal contract workers with disabilities.

There have been several congressional efforts to repeal the 14(c) program as well. In 2017, several
measures have been proposed by members of both parties (H 15/S 1242/H 1377) that would phase
out special wage certificates and raise the minimum wage for workers with disabilities.

State Provisions

Some states adopt federal law by reference, and a 14(c) certificate is all that is required of employers
secking a subminimum license. But many states require that special certificates be obtained from the
state to pay employees with disabilities subminimum wages. Interestingly, a fiscal note accompanying
Maryland’s recent phase-out of subminimum wages mentions that, although 36 organizations in the
state held 14(c) certificates issued by the federal DOL, the state had not received any applications

for state required-certificates from these workshops, despite outreach efforts notifying them of this

requirement.

While most states mirror the FLSA and leave the determination of the subminimum rate and
renewal period to a regulatory authority, some state set explicit subminimum wage floors. Alaska and
Delaware, for instance, set it at 50 percent of the state minimum rate, while Colorado only allows
certified employees to receive a wage 15 percent lower than the state minimum rate. Violations of
state wage and hour laws are typically subject to fines of between $100 and $1000 dollars or 30 days
in jail (e.g. Colorado, California) but some are a bit more strict. A first-time, willful violation in
Washington D.C. results in a misdemeanor and fine of $5,000 per affected employee or no more
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https://www.ncd.gov/sites/default/files/NCD_Sub%20Wage_508.pdf
http://www.gao.gov/new.items/d01886.pdf
https://www.dol.gov/whd/FieldBulletins/fab2016_2.pdf
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2016RS/fnotes/bil_0007/sb0417.pdf

than 30 days in jail for a first-time, willful violation, and a $10,000 fine or no more than 90 days in
jail for subsequent violations.

State Funding for Sheltered Workshops

Because most subminimum wage employment occurs in sheltered workshops (the GAO estimated
95 percent in 2001), state efforts to move funding away from such employment services goes hand
in hand with moving away from subminimum wages. Vermont was technically the first state to
eliminate the subminimum wage after it closed its last sheltered workshop in 2002. Per the
Department of Labor, it has since ensured that no individuals with disabilities are being paid

subminimum wages.

As far as how the employment situation of people with disabilities have fared since it’s repeal, that
might depend on how you interpret the available data. The number of employed Vermonters with
disabilities has gradually increased over time. The State Data Report, published in 2014 by the
Institute for Community Inclusion (which opposes sheltered employment), found that found people

with intellectual disabilities were most likely to find jobs within a year of applying in Vermont, as
were people with other types of disabilities. Thirty-eight percent of people with disabilities in
Vermont participated in integrated employment in 2013, and those with intellectual disabilities who
were employed worked an average of sixteen hours per week. However, according to a 2016 Harvard
Civil Rights-Civil Liberties Law Review report, “because Vermont no longer has any sheltered
employment settings, this means that the remaining 63% of people with disabilities in Vermont were
not employed in any capacity, and those who had employment were working well under half-time.”

Other State Actions

Other states have recently looked into ending sheltered employment, though such efforts have faced
resistance. In Massachusetts, a 2013 the state Department of Developmental Services put forward a
“blueprint for success” that called for shuttering sheltered workshops. However, in 2015, the state
budget limited its reach by prohibiting the state from reducing funding for sheltered workshops
serving people with disabilities who voluntarily chose such employment services. Similatly, in
response to Governor Andrew Cuomo’s proposal to eliminate sheltered employment in New York,
a 2015 bill known as the “Employment First Choice Act” was proposed to the New York State
Senate that would have allowed persons with developmental disabilities to choose to remain in
sheltered employment.

New Hampshire became the first state to eliminate subminimum wages for people with disabilities
when it passed SB 47 in 2015 by explicitly prohibiting employers from employing people with
disabilities at a lower hourly rate than the federal minimum wage, except for training programs or
family businesses. In 2016, Maryland enacted a measure (HB 420/SB 417) that eliminated the ability
of the State Commissioner of Labor and Industry to allow sheltered workshops to pay subminimum

wages to employees with disabilities and set up a phase-out of existing certificates authorizing the
payment of a subminimum wage by October, 2019. As part of the phase-out, it required the state
Department of Labor, Licensing, and regulation to track the wages, unemployment rates, and
employment outcomes of people with disabilities moving out of congregated employment settings.
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https://www.dol.gov/odep/topics/date/20150423-Blind.pdf
http://publicsource.org/vermont-closed-workshops-for-people-with-disabilities-what-happened-next/
https://legiscan.com/NH/text/SB47/id/1225985
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2016RS/bills/hb/hb0420E.pdf
http://mgaleg.maryland.gov/2016RS/bills/sb/sb0417f.pdf

Recent Subminimum Proposals

There have been a few additional state legislative proposals to close sheltered workshops or repeal
subminimum wages for workers with disabilities in the last couple years. In addition to New Mexico,
legislation was introduced in Oregon, Maine, and Texas but none of them progressed beyond
committee. A bill is still pending in California that would have the state subsidize the difference
between the subminimum wage and the minimum wage for certain employers of workers with
disabilities. If an employer hires a worker who may be paid a special minimum wage at the full
minimum wage rate or higher, they would be eligible for a credit equal to the difference between the
statewide minimum wage and the special minimum wage provided to that employee, multiplied by
the hours worked.

In closing, states weighing changes to subminimum wage policies are doing so in the context of a
national discussion on the role and benefits of the minimum wage generally. In looking to alter the
status quo on subminimum wages, the same policy questions apply. Is the goal to provide a living
wage? Are enforcement mechanisms strong enough? How will required wage increases affect
employment opportunities for those the increase is seeking to help? While there are financial
concerns for employers who take advantage of subminimum wage programs, the rights of
individuals with disabilities who are paid below minimum wage can’t be overlooked either. It’s a
balancing act that we can expect states to continue to grapple with in the coming years.

This concludes my remarks. I am now glad to answer any questions.
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