TENTATIVE AGENDA for the FOURTH MEETING of the CRIMINAL JUSTICE REFORM SUBCOMMITTEE

September 26, 2018 State Bar Center 5121 Masthead NE Albuquerque

September 27, 2018 State Capitol, Room 322 Santa Fe

Wednesday, September 26 — State Bar Center

9:30 a.m.		Call to Order and Introductions —Representative Antonio Maestas, Co-Chair —Senator Sander Rue, Co-Chair
		Action Item: Approval of Minutes of August 24, 2018 Meeting
9:40 a.m.	(1)	 Crime Prevention and Early Childhood Experiences —Dr. Wayne Lindstrom, Director, Behavioral Health Services Division, Human Services Department; Chief Executive Officer, Interagency Behavioral Health Purchasing Collaborative —Bryce Pittenger, Director, Behavioral Health Services Division, Children, Youth and Families Department
10:45 a.m.	(2)	 Juvenile Sentencing James Dold, Advocacy Director and Chief Strategy Officer, the Campaign for the Fair Sentencing of Youth Eric Alexander, Member, Incarcerated Children's Advocacy Network Francesca Duran-Lopez, Member, Incarcerated Children's Advocacy Network
11:30 a.m.	(3)	Alternatives to Juvenile Detention —Craig Sparks, Director, Bernalillo County Youth Services Center
12:00 noon		Lunch

1:15 p.m. (4)	New Mexico Sentencing Commission (NMSC) Evaluation of Santa Fe Law Enforcement Assisted Diversion (LEAD) Program —Linda Freeman, Executive Director, NMSC			
2:15 p.m. (5)	 LEAD Programs in Other Jurisdictions —Emily Kaltenbach, Member, Santa Fe LEAD Policy Coordinating Committee; New Mexico State Director, Drug Policy Alliance 			
3:00 p.m.	Public Comment			
3:15 p.m.	Recess			
<u>Thursday, September 27</u> — State Capitol, Room 322				
9:00 a.m.	Reconvene			
9:15 a.m. (6)	 Discussion of Criminal Justice and Public Safety Data Collection, Analysis and Application Discussion Participants: Linda Freeman, Executive Director, NMSC The Honorable Edward L. Chavez, Retired Justice, New Mexico Supreme Court; Chair, Criminal Justice and Public Safety Task Force (CJPSTF) Representative Damon Ely, Member, CJPSTF Arthur W. Pepin, Director, Administrative Office of the Courts Henry Valdez, Director, Administrative Office of the District Attorneys (AODA) Damion Bradford, Director of Information Technology, AODA Filemon Gonzalez, Chief Financial Officer, AODA Adolfo J. Mendez II, Chief of Policy and Planning, Office of the Second Judicial District Attorney Bennett J. Baur, Chief Public Defender, Law Offices of the Public Defender (LOPD) Matthew Bevington, Information Systems Administrator, LOPD Steve Kopelman, Executive Director, New Mexico Municipal League (NMML) Regina Romero, Intergovernmental Relations Director, NMML Michael Rael, Sr., Municipal Judge, Questa; Former President, New Mexico Municipal Judge's Association (NMMJA); Member, Board of Directors, NMML Chris McCall, Chief of Police, City of Hobbs; President, Municipal Police Chiefs Association Elise Larsen, Municipal Judge, Los Alamos County; Past President, New Mexico Association of Police Chiefs; Former Chair, NMMJA 			

	 Scott Weaver, Secretary, Department of Public Safety (DPS) Melvin Lee, Chief Information Officer (CIO), DPS Herman Lovato, Deputy Director, Technical Support Division, DPS Regina Chacon, Clearinghouse Supervisor, DPS German Franco, Director, Adult Prison Division, Corrections Department (CD)
	—Tim Oakeley, CIO, CD
	—Jerry Brinegar, Deputy CIO, CD
	—Rachel Druckhammer, Senior Research Associate, Council of State Governments Justice Center
	-Jennifer Ramo, Executive Director, New Mexico Appleseed
	-Meghan Mead, Staff Attorney, New Mexico Appleseed
	-Major Juan Colon, Principal Industry Consultant, National Director of
	Opioids and Illicit Drug Solutions, SAS Institute
12:00 noon	Lunch
1:15 p.m.	Discussion of Possible Legislation

3:45 p.m. Adjourn