**Revised: July 29, 2025** 

## TENTATIVE AGENDA for the THIRD MEETING of the COURTS, CORRECTIONS AND JUSTICE COMMITTEE

July 30, 2025 Inn of the Mountain Gods 287 Carrizo Canyon Road Mescalero

July 31, 2025 Eastern New Mexico University-Roswell 52 University Boulevard Roswell

## Wednesday, July 30 — Mescalero

9:00 a.m.		Call to Order and Introductions —Senator Joseph Cervantes, Chair —Representative Christine Chandler, Vice Chair
9:05 a.m.	(1)	Welcome Remarks —Thora Walsh Padilla, President, Mescalero Apache Tribe
9:30 a.m.	(2)	Gun Law Update and Federal Limitation on Liability on  Manufacturers and Dealers  —Brandon Cummings, District Legislative Aide, Senate District 31
11:00 a.m.	(3)	Possible New Crime Legislation from the Governor —Holly Agajanian, Chief General Counsel, Office of the Governor
12:00 noon		Lunch
12:45 p.m.	(4)	Fair Access to Insurance Requirements (FAIR) Update and Proximate  Cause Insurance Coverage  —Alice Kane, Superintendent, Office of Superintendent of Insurance  —Melissa Grandon, Vice Chair, Governing Committee, New Mexico  Property Insurance Program
2:15 p.m.	(5)	The Missouri Juvenile Justice Model and Its Intersection with New Mexico —Senator Linda M. Trujillo

**Committee Discussion** 3:45 p.m. 4:45 p.m. Recess Thursday, July 31 — Roswell 10:00 a.m. Reconvene 10:05 a.m. (6) **Welcome to Roswell** —Timothy Jennings, Mayor, City of Roswell 10:20 a.m. **Setbacks and Solutions to Corrections in Chaves County (7)** —Bill Williams, Manager, Chaves County —Michael Brisco, Detention Administrator, Chaves County Detention Center 11:05 a.m. (8) **Juvenile Justice and Treatment** —Dianna Luce, District Attorney, Fifth Judicial District —Jennifer Barela, Deputy Chief of Operations, Law Offices of the Public Defender (invited) Lunch 12:05 p.m. **Courthouse Security Staffing Concerns** 12:50 p.m. (9) —The Honorable David K. Thomson, Chief Justice, New Mexico Supreme Court —Pete Golden, Chief Deputy, Bernalillo County Sheriff's Office —Aaron Williamson, Undersheriff, Bernalillo County Sheriff's Office 1:45 p.m. (10) Corrections Department —Alisha Tafoya Lucero, Secretary, Corrections Department 2:45 p.m. Adjourn