The Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement and New Mexico's Gross Receipts and Compensating Taxes

APPENDIX A

| Agreement Provisions (by section) | Does New Mexico comply? |
|---|--|
| 301 : State level administration required | |
| (1) registration | Yes 7-1-12 & taxpayer may register thru participating local gov'ts |
| (2) filing returns | Yes 7-1-13B |
| (3) tax payment | Yes 7-1-13D & administrative provisions of local-option taxes |
| (4) distribution to local gov'ts | Yes 7-1-6-series |
| (5) audits | Yes 7-1-11 (altho nothing specifically says locals may not audit, administration & interpretation of local taxes is reserved to TRD in local tax acts) |
| 302 : Local tax base must equal state base, | No One systematic differencecross- |
| except where difference is required by federal law (e.g., treatment of satellite TV service) | boundary transportation services. |
| 303 : Taxpayer registration: | No NM has no provisions for joint or common registration with outside jurisdictions |
| (1) must participate in on-line system (2) must participate in common system (3) registration in one state is registration in all member states (4) no registration fee if not required to register (5) written signature not to be required (6) agent may register taxpayer (7) taxpayer may cancel under uniform provisions | Signature is required administratively |
| 304: Notice for state tax changes: (1) provide as much notice as practicable (2) limit changes to 1 st day of quarter (3) notify taxpayers of tax base changes (4) notify taxpayers of regulation changes (5) failure of taxpayer to receive notification does not relieve liability | Yes Yes Yes; Annual legislative update in CRS package ?? No specific routine procedure Yes |
| 305 : Local rate and boundary changes: (1) Rate changes effective only | |

| () 15! 1 | V |
|---|---|
| (a) on 1 st day of quarter | Yes |
| (b) after minimum of 60 days notice to non- | No; Notice rarely more than 30 days |
| catalogue taxpayers | |
| (c) after minimum of 120 days notice to | No |
| catalogue taxpayers | |
| (2) Boundary changes effective for tax | Yes; See provisions in Municipal Code re |
| purposes only on 1 st day of quarter | boundary changes |
| (3) Provide & maintain database | |
| (a) local boundary changes | No |
| (b) local rates | No |
| (c) local gov't identification codes meet FIPS | No |
| standards | |
| (d) 5 & 9-digit ZIP codes matched to local | No |
| jurisdictions with lowest applicable rate | |
| (4) Taxpayer permitted to use 5-digit ZIP if | No |
| cannot find 9-digit ZIP after exercising due | |
| diligence | |
| (5) Participate with other states in address- | No |
| based system for assigning taxing jurisdictions, | |
| meeting requirements of federal Mobile | |
| Telecommunications Sourcing Act | |
| 306 : Relief from liability when taxpayer | No |
| collects wrong tax due to reliance on erroneous | |
| data in state's tax database but no relief | |
| available if state provides an address-based | |
| system | |
| 307 : Database | |
| (1) Electronic databases required must be | No |
| made available in downloadable form | |
| (2) Database provisions do not apply to sales at | Yes |
| seller's location | |
| (3) State not required to have databases to join | Yes |
| Agreement but must by date set by governing | |
| Board. | |
| 308 : Permissible rates | |
| (1) No multiple state rates, except on food, | No; partial deductions are equivalent to |
| food ingredients and drugs | multiple rates (7-9-62, -73.1, -77) |
| (2) No multiple local rates; local sales tax rate | Yes, because locals are not authorized to levy |
| must equal local comp rate (if levied) | local compensating taxes. |
| (3) Above not applicable to taxes on | |
| electricity, piped natural gas or other heating | |
| fuels or to retail sale or transfer of motor | |
| vehicles, aircraft, watercraft, modular homes, | |
| manufactured home or mobile homes | |
| 309 : (pointer to other sections) | |
| 310 : General sourcing rules | No ; NM imposes tax on the seller, not the |
| 1 | 1 |

(1) Retail sale of tangibles-buyer. (a) Seller's location if purchaser receives product there Yes (b) Purchaser's (or purchaser's donee's) location when product not received at seller's No location (c) Purchaser's address from seller's records, sale documents or shipping documents No (2) Lease or rental of property (a) Requiring periodic payments--(i) 1st payment same as sale of tangible (ii) Subsequent payments sourced to primary No property location No (b) Single payments, same as sale of tangible (3) Lease or rental of motor vehicles, aircraft, No etc. not qualifying as transportation equipment (a) Requiring periodic payments, sourced to primary property location **No,** except that property used outside NM is (b) Not requiring periodic payments, sourced not taxed same as sale of tangible No, except that property used outside NM is (4) Sale or lease of transportation equipment, not taxed same as sale of tangible. "Transportation equipment" includes (a) Locomotives & railcars used in interstate commerce Yes, deductible for GRT (7-9-70); exempt (b) Trucks & truck-tractors with GVWR over from Comp (7-9-30) Yes; exempt from both GRT (7-9-22) & 10,000 pounds, trailers, semi-trailers & passenger buses registered thru IRP or Comp (7-9-23) operated in interstate commerce (c) Aircraft operated in interstate or foreign commerce Yes, deductible for GRT (7-9-70); exempt from Comp (7-9-30) (d) Containers designed for use with or part of foregoing No **311**: Definition "receive" & "receipt" **No**; in NM, seller is taxpayer (7-9-4) **312**: Multiple points of use: (1) Purchaser, other than a direct pay permit holder, buying a digital good, software delivered electronically or service that will be used in more than one jurisdiction (a) must immediately notify the seller using a specified exemption form (b) pay the tax on a direct pay basis using any reasonable, consistent apportionment method (2) Direct pay purchaser reports and pays in accordance with permit

| 313 : Direct mail sourcing: | No generally; in NM, seller is taxpayer. Further, this would usually be |
|---|---|
| | |
| (1) Purchaser, other than a direct pay permit holder, buying "direct mail" must deliver either (a) Direct Mail Form to seller, in which case purchaser becomes liable for tax (b) information showing jurisdictions to which mail is to be sent, in which case seller collects tax based on purchaser's info (2) If purchaser fails to do either, seller must collect tax passed on addresses of mailees (3) Direct pay purchaser reports and pays in | considered a service. No Partly yes; a seller would be liable for mailing service to in-state recipients Partly yes; a seller would be liable for mailing service to in-state recipients No No |
| accordance with permit | |
| 314: Telecommunications sourcing: (1) Except for telecommunications defined below, telecommunication service on a call-by-call basis shall be sourced to | |
| (a) jurisdiction in which call originates & terminates; or | Yes |
| (b) jurisdiction in which call originates or terminates & in which service address is located | Yes, NMAC 3.2.1.18 & 7-9C-2 |
| (2) Except for telecommunications defined below, telecommunication service other than on a call-by-call basis shall be sourced to customer's primary place of use (3) Defined telecommunications services | Yes, NMAC 3.2.4.13 B, H & I |
| (a) Mobile telecommunications other than air-to-ground and prepaid, In accordance with federal rules | Yes |
| (b) Post-paid calling service sourced to origination point | ?? |
| (c) Prepaid calling service is to be treated as sale of a tangible (d) Private communications service | Partly yes; treated as sale of a license, so POS sales will be taxed as seller's location Not taxed; exempt under GRT per 7-9-38.1 & deductible under 7-9C-6 |
| 315 : Telecommunications definitions | |
| 316: Enactment of exemptions (with "exemption" understood to include "deduction", "exclusion", etc.) (1) Product-based | |
| (a) If Agreement does not define a product or a term that includes the product, member may | Yes |

| . 1 (1 1 2 | D 1 11 |
|---|--|
| enact product-based exemption | Probably no |
| (b) If Agreement defines a product or a term | |
| that includes the product, member must | |
| exempt either whole group or none | |
| (2) Entity-based | Yes |
| (a) If Agreement does not define a product or | |
| a term that includes the product, member may | |
| enact entity-based exemption | Yes, probably |
| (b) If Agreement defines the product, member | |
| may enact entity-based exemption if it uses the | |
| definition | Yes |
| (c) If Agreement defines a term that includes | |
| the product, member may enact entity-based | |
| exemption | |
| 317 : Administration of Exemptions | |
| (1) When exemption is claimed: | |
| (a) Seller must obtain identifying info from | Yes |
| purchaser & reason for claiming exemption | 103 |
| | Yes |
| (b) Purchaser not required to provide | 168 |
| signature except when using a paper | |
| exemption certificate | No neither Coverning Doord nor such forms |
| (c) Seller shall use standard form for claiming | Noneither Governing Board nor such forms |
| exemption electronically as adopted by | exist but very unlikely that NTTCs in |
| Governing Board | current format would be acceptable |
| (d) Seller shall obtain same proof for | |
| claiming exemption regardless of medium of | Yes; see deduction requirements |
| transaction | |
| (e) Exempt purchasers may be issued | Partly yes; 501(c)(3)s and gov'ts are issued |
| identification number for presentation to | NTTCs |
| sellers | Yes; 7-1-10 & 7-1-11 |
| (f) Seller shall retain adequate records and | |
| present them to member states on request | ?? partly yesNTTCs, 7-9-43 |
| (g) Exemptions shall be administered when | |
| practicable thru direct pay permit, exemption | |
| certificates or other means that do not burden | |
| sellers | No; "good faith" standard7-9-43 & NMAC |
| (h) Except for fraud on part of seller, seller | 3.2.201.14 |
| shall be relieved of liability if purchaser | |
| improperly claimed an exemption but shall | |
| hold the purchaser liable instead. | |
| 318 : Uniform tax returns: | |
| (1) Only one return required per period for all | Yes; taxpayers for their own convenience |
| jurisdictions within state | may choose to submit more than one |
| (2) Returns to be due no earlier than 20 th of | Yes (7-9-11) |
| month following month of transaction | |
| (3) Allow Model 1, Model 2 & Model 3 [See | No; no governing Board as yet |
| (3) Throw Proder 1, Proder 2 & Proder 3 [See | 1 10, no go toming bound as you |

| 403] taxpayers to submit simplified returns | |
|--|--|
| containing no more fields than authorized by | |
| Governing Board | No |
| (4) Allow any seller registered under | |
| Agreement but who is not a Model 1, Model 2 | |
| or Model 3 seller or is not required to register | |
| in the member state to file annual returns, | |
| provided that returns may be required when | |
| taxpayer owes \$1,000 or more | No |
| (5) Participate with other state in developing a | |
| more uniform return | Yes |
| (6) May require Model 1, Model 2 & Model 3 | |
| taxpayers to file electronically | |
| 319 : Uniform rules on remittances: | |
| (1) Require only one remittance per return | Yes |
| (2) May require remittances from Model 1, | Yes (7-1-13.1) |
| Model 2 & Model 3 sellers to be filed | |
| electronically | |
| (3) Allow for ACH credit & debit payments | Yes (7-1-13.4) |
| (4) Provide alternative method for making | ?? |
| same day payments if electronic funds transfer | |
| fails | |
| (5) If due day falls on legal banking holiday, | Yes (7-1-77) |
| taxes are due on next business day | |
| (6) Data accompanying remittance must | Probably yes; Governing Board does not yet |
| conform to uniform tax type and payment type | exist but TRD probably complies |
| codes approved by Governing Board | because it uses industry-standard |
| | codes now |
| 320 : Uniform rules for recovery of bad debt: | V (7.0.67 1.1 : |
| (1) Member must allow a deduction for bad | Yes (7-9-67; cash basis taxpayers have none) |
| debts | N 1 |
| (2) Member must use federal definition of "bad | No but could be adopted by regulation |
| debt" at 26 USC 166 (as adjusted by | |
| Agreement) | V (7.0.67) |
| (3) Allow bad debt to be deducted in period in | Yes (7-9-67) |
| which it is written off taxpayer's books | W (7.0.67) |
| (4) If written-off bad debt is recovered, it must | Yes (7-9-67) |
| be reported in period of recovery | N T |
| (5) If amount of bad debt exceeds taxable sales | No |
| for period, refund may be claimed | NT- |
| (6) When "certified service provider" files on | No |
| behalf of taxpayer, CSP may claim bad debt | |
| allowance but must pass benefit on to taxpayer | Vac makahlar tamawa11 in CDT |
| (7) Taxpayer receiving any payment on a | Yes, probably: taxpayer would incur GRT |
| written-off bad debt must apply payment first | liability out of its own pocket if it |
| proportionally to taxable price and tax | didn't follow this procedure. If |

| 323 : Caps and thresholds | N 2001 |
|---|---|
| (1) No state may use caps or thresholds on | No, NM has one cap at 7-9-74 |
| application of sales and use rates or | |
| exemptions after 12/31/05 and until then may | |
| not use caps that impose administrative | |
| hardship on retailers | |
| (2) States may not impose caps or thresholds | Yes; no separate local caps or thresholds |
| on local tax rates | |
| 324 : Rounding rule | |
| (1) After 12/31/05, states must use these | |
| rounding rules | |
| (a) Tax computation must go to third decimal | ?? could be required by regulation; some tax |
| place | rates run to the 6^{th} decimal place |
| (b) Tax must be rounded up to whole cent | No; law, regs & instructions are silent, could |
| whenever digit in third decimal is greater than | be required by regulation |
| four | |
| (2) States shall allow taxpayers to compute tax | Yes |
| on an item or invoice basis. | |
| (3) No state shall require taxpayers to compute | Yes |
| tax using a bracket system | |
| 325 : Customer refund procedures | |
| (1) Rules below apply when state allows | |
| customer to seek refund from seller but do not | |
| require states to adopt such a procedure | |
| (2) Refund from seller is first remedy. Cause | No |
| of action does not accrue until purchaser has | |
| given written notice to seller & seller has had | |
| 60 days to respond | |
| (3) Seller will be presumed to have reasonable | No |
| business practices in collecting taxes if it uses | |
| either a provider or system certified by the | |
| state & has remitted all collected taxes less | |
| appropriate credits and allowances | |
| 326 : Direct pay permitsEach member state | No ; looked at another way, every NM GRT |
| shall allow direct pay permits | taxpayer is a "direct payer" |
| 327 : Library of definitions | |
| (1) If a term defined by Agreement's "library | No; although NM does not use most of the |
| of definitions" (Appendix C) appears in the | terms in the Library, there are some |
| member state's own sales or use tax law, | conflicts either in the GR&CTA or |
| member state must adopt/enact library | regs: e.g., "lease or rental"; "sales |
| definition | price" vs. "gross receipts"; tangible |
| | personal property; prewritten |
| | computer software; "drug" and |
| | "prescription"; prosthetic device |
| (2) Members may not use a library-defined | |
| term in a way contrary to the library definition | |
| • • | • |

| (3) Except as elsewhere provided, member states shall either tax or exempt all items within a library definition | ?? "health-care" deductions must be examined |
|---|---|
| 328: Taxability matrix (1) Each member must provide to the Governing Board a matrix showing for each | No |
| defined category whether the state taxes or exempts the products in the category (2) Each member shall relieve taxpayers from liability for collecting incorrect amount of taxes if collection based on erroneous information supplied by member | Probably no ; NM would waive penalty only |
| 329 : Effective date for rate changes (1) Tax increases apply to first billing period on or after tax change effective date | No for accrual taxpayers |
| (2) Tax decreases apply to bills issued on or after tax change effective date | No for accrual taxpayers |
| 401 : Seller participation (1) States shall provide on-line registration system | No |
| (2) By registering, seller agrees to & remit sales and use taxes on taxable sales, including | No |
| in member states joining after registration (3) In member states where seller has obligation to register prior to registering under the Agreement, seller may choose to add any required info to convert state registration to Agreement registration or to register directly under the Agreement | No |
| (4) Member states and former member sates may not use fact of Agreement registration as a factor in determining nexus with that state | No |
| 402: Amnesty for registration (1) If the seller was not registered in the state in the 12-month period prior to the seller's registration under the Agreement, member agrees to grant amnesty for uncollected or unpaid sales and use taxes prior to date of registration; amnesty precludes assessments for such items (2) Amnesty does not apply to sellers for any matters for which seller has received notice of | No; State constitution can be read to prohibit formal adoption of such a policy but TRD could assume a "don't ask, don't tell" attitude |
| commencement of audit or to taxes already paid or remitted. (3) Amnesty applies only to seller's obligations as a seller. | |

| 403 : Method of Remittance: Sellers may | |
|---|------------------------------------|
| select to remit in one of the following ways or | |
| in any other way allowed by state | |
| (1) Model 1: seller selects a Certified Service | No |
| Provider as an agent to perform all the seller's | |
| tax functions, except seller's own obligation to | |
| remit tax on its own purchases | |
| (2) Model 2: seller uses Certified Automated | No |
| System | |
| (3) Model 3: seller uses own proprietary | No |
| system that has been certified by Board | |
| 404 : Registration by agent: Seller may be | Yes |
| registered by an agent. Such an appointment | |
| shall be in writing | |
| 501 : Certification of service providers and | NA until Board is created and acts |
| automated systems by Governing Board | |
| 601 :Monetary allowances under Model 1 | No |
| (1) Each member must grant a monetary | |
| allowance to CSPs in accordance with the | |
| contract between the CSP and the Governing | |
| Board | |
| (2) Monetary allowance to be based on base | |
| tax rate or, for sellers voluntarily registering, | |
| on a percentage of the tax revenue generated | |
| for states for which the seller had no obligation | |
| to register for up to 24 months following | |
| registration | |
| 602 : Monetary allowances under Model 2 | No |
| (1) For a period up to 24 months, all sellers | |
| receive a base rate on top of whatever discount | |
| is allowed by state | |
| (2) Monetary allowance for sellers voluntarily | |
| registering will be a percentage of the tax | |
| revenue generated for states for which the | |
| seller had no obligation to register for up to 24 | |
| months following registration and thereafter at | |
| whatever discount the state offers | |
| 603 : Monetary allowances under Model 3 | No |
| Monetary allowance for sellers voluntarily | |
| registering will be a percentage of the tax | |
| revenue generated for states for which the | |
| seller had no obligation to register for up to 24 | |
| months following registration and thereafter at | |
| whatever discount the state offers | |