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SUMMARY

Synopsis of Bill

House Joint Resolution 15 amends Article 4, Section 10 of the Constitution of New Mexico to
provide an annual salary for legislators not to exceed the average salary paid to legislatorsin the five
contiguous states.

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS

If passed, this question would appear on the ballot in the November 2000 general election. The next
general election that would include constitutional questions on the ballot will be in November 2002.
Should the question be approved by the voters, the change would not make a fiscal impact until the
2003 Legidature. Based on the current salaries of legislatorsin Arizona ($24,000), Colorado
($30,000), Oklahoma ($38,400), Texas ($7,200) and Utah ($4,500), the average salary in New
Mexico would be about $20,820. The total recurring cost to the state general fund would approxi-
mate $2,331.8 beginning in FY03. (See attachment for the six-state comparison of legislative salaries
and benefits and other expense alowances.)

Also, the Secretary of State reportsit costs $30.0 to place an item on the ballot. Included in the cost
is: (1) the publishing of constitutional amendments in English and Spanish for four consecutive
weeks in one newspaper in each county of the state; (2) the oral translation and radio broadcast into
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the Native American languages of Tewa, Tiwa, Towa, Keres, Zuni, Mescalero Apache, Jicarilla
Apache and Navajo; and (3) the printing of amendments booklets in English and Spanish (including
Spanish language trand ation cost) and distribution to all county clerks (100,000 booklets were
printed for 2000 general election). Therefore, there would be a nonrecurring cost to the general fund
of $30.0in FY03. Thisbill does not contain the appropriation needed to fund these costs.

RELATIONSHIP

House Bill 449 amends Section 2-1-8 NMSA 1978 and provides for asalary for legislators contingent
upon the adoption by the people of an amendment to the constitution approving legislative salaries.
The annual salary provided for in this bill is $21,000, payable in 12 equal installments on the first day
of each calendar month.

DKB/njw
Attachment



LEGISLATIVE MANAGEMENT Attachment

TABLE 1. COMPENSATION & LIVING EXPENSE ALLOWANCE DURING SESSION, 2000

State Salary Per Diem
Arizona $24,000/year. | $35/day for 1% 120 days of regular session and special session and $10/day
thereafter. Members residing outside Maricopa County receive an additional
$25/day for the 1# 120 days of aregular session and a special session and an
additional $10/day thereafter. Set by statute.

Colorado $30,000/year. | $45/day for members living in the Denver metro area. $99/day for members

living outside Denver. Per diem is determined by the legislature.

New Mexico | None. $136/day tied to federal rate & the constitution.

Oklahoma $38,400/year. | $103/day tied to federa rate.

Texas $ 7,200/year. | $118/day set by the Ethics Commission.

Utah $ 100/day. $75/day lodging allotment for each calendar day, tied to federal rate. $42/day

per diem for each calendar day. (NOTE: Regular session is 45 days long.)
TABLE 2. LIVING EXPENSE ALLOWANCE DURING INTERIM, 2000
State Interim Per Diem

Arizona $35/day with prior approval of presiding officer set by statute.

Colorado Members are reimbursed for actual expenditures.

New Mexico | $136/day tied to federal rate.

Oklahoma $25/day set by the legislature.

Texas Senators receive $118/day for legidlative business in Travis County, not to exceed 10 days per
month. Representatives receive $118/day for legislative businessin Travis County, not to
exceed 12 days per month. Per diem amount is determined by the Ethics Commission and the
number of daysis determined by the Senate Caucus and the Committee on House Administra
tion.

Utah $42/day meals; up to $75/day for lodging.

TABLE 3. ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION FOR HOUSE/ASSEMBLY LEADERS, 1999

State Presiding Officer | Majority Leader | Minority L eader Other Leaders

Arizona None. None. None. None.

Colorado All leaders receive $99/day during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership

matters.

New Mexico | None. None. None. None.

Oklahoma $17,932 $12,364 $12,364 Speaker pro tem, $12,364
Texas None. None. None. None.

Utah $1,000 $500 $500 Whips and asst whips, $500

Sour ce: National Conference of State Legislators
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TABLE 4. ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION FOR SENATE LEADERS, 1999

State Presiding Officer | Majority Leader | Minority L eader Other Leaders
Arizona $500 None. None. None.
Colorado All leaders receive $99/day during interim when in attendance at committee or leadership
matters.
New Mexico | None. None. None. None.
Oklahoma $17,932 $12,364 $12,364 None.
Texas None. None. None. None.
Utah $1,000 $500 $500 Whips and asst whips, $500
TABLE 5. ADDITIONAL COMPENSATION FOR COMMITTEE CHAIRS, 1999
State Additional Compensation for Committee Chairs
Arizona None.
Colorado None.
New Mexico | None.
Oklahoma $12,364 for Appropriations and Budget Committee Chairs.
Texas None.
Utah None.
TABLE 6. STATE LEGISLATORS TRAVEL ALLOWANCE, 1999
State Mileage Accessto State Au- Credit Phone Card/ Phone
tos Card Allowance
Arizona 30¢/mile on actual Access to motorpool | No. No.
miles. for legidative trips
only.
Colorado 20¢ or 24¢ if 4Awd ve- | No. No. Yes. Officia state busi-
hicle. Actual miles ness only.
paid.
New Mexico | 32.5¢/miletied to fed- | No. No. No.
eral rate
Oklahoma 32.5¢/miletied to fed- | No. No. $1,000 during interim.
eral rate.

Sour ce: National Conference of State Legislators
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State Mileage Accessto State Au- Credit Phone Card/ Phone
tos Card Allowance
Texas 28¢/mile set by Gen- No. Members are eligi- | Official state business
eral Appropriations ble for American only. House members
bill; an alowance for Express Cardsfor | arelimited to available
single, twin and turbo official use. balance in their
engines from 40¢ to monthly operating ac-
$1/mileis also given. counts.
Utah 31¢/mile, round trip No. No. Yes. Legidative use
from home to capital. only.
TABLE 7. CAPITOL OFFICE, DISTRICT OFFICE AND STAFFING ALLOWANCES, 1999
State Allowances
Arizona None.
Colorado $2,000/year.
New Mexico | None.
Oklahoma $350/year for unvouchered office supplies plus seven rolls of stamps.
Texas Senate: $25,000/month for staff salaries. House:$9,750/month for staff salaries, supplies,
stationery, postage, district office rental, telephone expense, etc.
Utah None.

TABLE 8. HEALTH, DENTAL AND OPTICAL INSURANCE BENEFITSFOR STATE LEGISLATORS,

1999
State Health Dental Optical

Arizona State pays a set amount, legislator Optional at legislator’s Optional at legislator’s
pays remaining balance; depending expense. expense.
on plan selected.

Colorado State pays a portion, legislator paysa | State pays full amount. Not available.
portion; amount differs according to Dependents coverage at
plan selected. legislator’s expense.

New Mexico | Not available. Not available. Not available.

Oklahoma State pays full amount. State pays full amount. Optional at legislator’s

expense,

Texas State pays for legidlator, legislator Optional at legislator’s Included in health cover-
pays for dependent coverage. expense. age.

Utah State pays full amount depending on State pays full amount Optional at legislator’s
plan chosen. depending on plan cho- expense.

sen.

Sour ce: National Conference of State Legislators
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TABLE 9. DISABILITY AND LIFE INSURANCE BENEFITSFOR STATE LEGISLATORS, 1999

State Disability Insurance Same as State Lifelnsurance Same as State
Employee Plan Employee Plan
Arizona State pays portion and leg- | Yes. Legislator may opt to pur- Yes.
islator pays portion for chase up to 3 times addi-
long-term disability; short- tional life insurance above
term disability available at the standard $10,000 base
legislator’s expense. that all state employees re-
ceive.
Colorado Not available. No. State pays full amount for Yes.
$12,000 policy.
New Mexico | Not available. No. Not available. No.
Oklahoma State pays full amount. Yes. Same as State pays full amount Yes. Same as
management (%$20,000). For optional management
employees. amounts above that, legisla- | employees.
tor pays.
Texas Optional at legislator’s Yes. Optional at legislator'sex- | Yes.
expense. pense.
Utah Optional at legislator’s Yes. State pays full amount for Yes.
expense. basic coverage ($18,000).
Additional coverage op-
tional at legislator’s ex-
pense.
TABLE 10. RETIREMENT BENEFITSFOR LEGISLATORS, 1999
State Participation | Same as State Minimum Age and Service Re- Contribution Rate
Employees quirement
Arizona Optional. No. Age 65 with 5+ years of service; or 7%.
age 60 with 25+ years of service.
Colorado Mandatory. No. Age 60 with 5 years of service. 8% of gross sdary.
New Mexico | Optional. No. Age 65 with 5+ years of service; $100 per year for
age 64 with 8+ years of service; service after 1959.
age 63 with 12+ years of service; or
any age with 14+ years of service.
Oklahoma Optional. No. Age 60 with 6 years of service. Optional contribu-
tion of 4.5%, 6%,
7.5%, 8.5%, 9% or
10%.
Texas Optional. No. Age 60 with 8 years of service; or 8%
age 50 with 12 years.
Utah Mandatory. No. Age 65 with 4 years of service. Non-contributory.

Sour ce: National Conference of State Legislators
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TABLE 11. RETIREMENT BENEFITSFOR LEGISLATORS, 1999

Estimated Monthly

State

4Years

12 Years

20 Years

Benefit Formula

Arizona

$333.33/month.

$1,000/month.

$1,667/month.

4%/year of credited servicex 3
year average; maximum is 30%
of member’s average yearly sal-
ary.

Colorado

Not yet vested.

$350/month.

$729/month.

2.5% x HAS x creditable service
through 20 years plus 1.5% x
HAS for 21 through 40 years.
Maximum benefit = 80% of em-
ployee sSHAS.

New Mexico

$83.33/month.

$250/month.

$416.66/month.

$250 x years of service (after
1959)

Oklahoma

$426.68 at 10%.

$1,280.04 at
10%.

$2,133.40 at
10%.

Average participated salary x
length of service x computation
factor depending on optional
contributions ranging from .019
to .040.

Texas

Not eligible.

$2,288.25/month.

$3,813.75/month.

2.25% x district judge’ s salary
(currently $8,475) x length of
service.

Utah

Varies.

Varies.

Varies.

$10/month x years of service;
adjusted semi-annually according
to consumer price index, limited
to maximum of 4%.

Sour ce: National Conference of State Legislators
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