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SUMMARY

     Synopsis of SIAC Amendment

This amendment includes the following:

• Removes the emergency clause included in the original bill  

• The definition of “refund anticipation loan fee” is amended to distinguish a tax preparer and a
lender.  

• The maximum fees allowed under the Refund Anticipation Loan Act are changed from ninety
dollar ($90) maximum to 10 ½ percent of the principal amount of the principal of the loan

• The fees charged a debtor cannot be different for a tax preparation and filing fee than the
creditor charges customers not applying for a refund anticipation loan

     Synopsis of Original Bill

According to the Regulation and Licensing Department, Senate Bill 322 requires additional and
duplicative licensure for any small loan company already licensed pursuant to the New Mexico Small
Loan Act of 1955, if the small loan company engages in making refund anticipation loans to
consumers in New Mexico.

     Significant Issues
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The department identified the following significant issues regarding this bill:

A few small loan companies currently licensed pursuant to the New Mexico Small Loan Act of 1955
would be affected.

The bill places limitations on the annual percentage rate and the finance charge that lenders may
charge on refund anticipation loans.

The bill also contains penalties where the lender may have to refund double the amount of fees
collected or received.

This bill requires an annual license fee for a refund anticipation loan creditor of $400 for the principal
place of business and $400 for each branch maintained in the state.

Maximum fees established in the bill are:

C $90 to prepare and file a state and federal income tax return;

C $90 as a refund loan anticipation fee;

C An annual percentage rate calculated pursuant to the bill cannot exceed 120 percent; and

C The Financial Institutions Director, by rule, may adjust the maximum fee established in the
bill upon a finding that the adjusted fee more accurately compensates a creditor for the actual
services rendered.

CONFLICT/DUPLICATION/COMPANIONSHIP/RELATIONSHIP

According to the department, this bill duplicates licensure for a few small loan companies. The fee
provisions in the bill conflict with the New Mexico Small Loan Act of 1955, the New Mexico Bank
Installment Loan Act of 1959 and the general laws governing Money, Interest and Usury.  The bill also
does not require lenders to fully comply with the minimum requirements set forth in the federal truth-in-
lending laws.
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