SENATE BILL 667

46TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 2003 INTRODUCED BY

Leonard Tsosie

AN ACT

RELATING TO THE REDISTRICTING OF THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS;
ESTABLISHING CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS FOR THE ELECTION OF
REPRESENTATIVES TO THE UNITED STATES CONGRESS; AMENDING,
REPEALING AND ENACTING SECTIONS OF THE NMSA 1978.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

Section 1. Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S.S.), Chapter 7, Section 1) is repealed and a new Section 1-15-16 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read:

"1-15-16. [NEW MATERIAL] UNITED STATES REPRESENTATIVE--COMPOSITION OF DISTRICTS. --

A. Congressional district one is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 2 through 18, 20 through 30, 32 through 57, 61 through 67, 71 through 77, 81 through 84, 86, 88 through 92, 94 through 99, 101 through 107, 110 through 114,

. 145003. 1

119 through 125, 131 through 133, 135, 150 through 154, 161 through 166, 180 through 187, 191 through 197, 211, 212, 214 through 217, 221, 223 through 226, 241 through 246, 251 through 258, 271 through 275, 278, 281 through 287, 289 through 308, 311 through 318, 321 through 323, 326 through 333, 341 through 347, 351 through 358, 371 through 375, 381 through 387, 400 through 447, 449 through 454, 461 through 466, 471 through 478, 480 through 500, 502 through 569, 571, 573 and 601 through 603; Sandoval county precincts 1 through 5, 11 through 13, 28 and 53 through 56; Torrance county; and Valencia county precincts 6, 8, 15, 16, 21 through 26, 28 through 30, 32 through 36 and 38.

B. Congressional district two is composed of Catron county; Chaves county; Curry county precincts 5 through 9, 11 through 15, 17 through 28, 30, 32, 36 and 37; De Baca county; Dona Ana county; Eddy county; Grant county; Hidalgo county; Lea county; Lincoln county; Luna county; Otero county; Roosevelt county; Sierra county; Socorro county precincts 1 through 14, 16 and 17; and Valencia county precincts 1 through 5, 7, 9 through 12, 14, 17 through 20, 27, 31 and 37.

C. Congressional district three is composed of Bernalillo county precincts 1, 19, 31, 80, 85, 87, 93, 115 and 116; Cibola county; Colfax county; Curry county precincts 1 through 4, 10, 16, 29, 31 and 33 through 35; Guadalupe county; Harding county; Los Alamos county; McKinley county; Mora county; Quay county; Rio Arriba county; Sandoval county . 145003.1

1

2

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

precincts 6 through 10, 14 through 27, 29 through 51, 58 through 64 and 67; San Juan county; San Miguel county; Santa Fe county; Socorro county precinct 15; Taos county; Union county; and Valencia county precinct 13."

Section 2. Section 1-15-16.1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1991 (1st S. S.), Chapter 7, Section 2) is amended to read:

"1-15-16.1. PRECINCTS. --

Precinct designations and boundaries used in the [1991] 2003 congressional redistricting are those precinct designations and boundaries established pursuant to the Precinct Boundary Adjustment Act and revised and approved pursuant to that act by the secretary of state as of [August 16, 1991] January 1, 2003.

В. [The boards] A board of county commissioners shall not create any precinct that lies in more than one congressional district [nor] and shall [the boards of county commissioners not divide any precinct so that the divided parts of the precinct are situated in two or more congressional Votes cast in [any general, primary or other] a statewide election from precincts created or divided in violation of this subsection shall be invalid and shall not be counted or canvassed."