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APPROPRIATION

Recurring Fund

Appropriation Contained Estimated Additional |mpact or Non-Rec Affected

FYO03 FYO04 FYO03 FYO04

See Narrative Recurring General Fund

(Parenthesis () Indicate Expenditure Decreases)

Duplicates SB 245

Relates to, and possible conflicts with, HB 189, HB 250, HB 327, HB 333, HB 335, HB 341, HB
405, HB 415, SB 16, SB 84, SB 93, SB 242, SB 245, SB 248, SB 259, SB 260, SB 262, SB 263,
SB 264, SB 267, and SB 313.

REVENUE
: Subsequent Recurring Fund
Estimated Revenue Y ears | mpact or Non-Rec Affected
FY03 FYO04
Significant (See Narrative) Recurring Federal Highway

Construction Fund

(Parenthesis () Indicate Revenue Decreases)
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SUMMARY

Synopsis of HCPACAmendment

The House Consumer and Public Affairs Committee Amendment inserts the following language
into the title: “Providing for immobilization of a subsequent offender’s Motor Vehicle”.

The Amendment further inserts language into the bill providing that upon any subsequent con
viction, as a condition of probation, a subsequent offender is required to have the motor vehicle
he was driving immobilized for a period of five days. An exception is made if the immobiliza-
tion of the motor vehicle causes an undue hardship to the subsequent offender’ s immediate fam-
ily or the family of the owner of the motor vehicle. The cost of the immobilization will be paid
by the subsequent offender.

The insertion of the language provided for in this amendment would have a positive impact on
New Mexico’'s Federal Highway construction fund. The Federal interim final rule provides that,
to avoid atransfer of funds, a State must meet certain requirements. The Amendment would al-
low New Mexico to be in full compliance with these requirements and the fund would cease to
be sanctioned.

Synopsis of Original Bill

House Bill 249 amends Section 66-5-35, 66-8-102 and 66-8-111 of the NMSA 1978. House Bill
249 eliminates the current procedure by which an individual could obtain a limited license by
having an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle. It denies limited licenses to subse-
guent DWI offenders under any circumstances.

Under House Bill 249, only afirst time DWI offender could receive a limited driver’s license if

1. Theoffender isenrolled in a DWI school and;

2. Has valid auto insurance, and has proof of employment, or is in school, and needs to
travel to and from, or

3. Hasenrolled in treatment

House Bill 249 also increases the minimum jail sentence for a second offense to not less than 5
consecutive days (increased from 72 hours). Finally, House Bill 249 provides that a subsequent
DWI offender who refuses to submit to a chemica test during a DWI investigation will have his
license revoked for a period of one year. The bill eliminates any exceptions to this mandatory
term of revocation.

Significant |ssues

Currently, New Mexico's Federal Highway construction fund is being sarctioned (by way of a
transfer) yearly for not having all of the following repeat DWI offender laws in place. The sarc-
tions have resulted in transfers totaling $12 million.

The Federa interim final rule provides that, to avoid a transfer of funds, a State must meet the
following requir ements (for 2"® and subsequent DWI offenders):
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1. A minimum one-year license suspension. The offender cannot be eligible for
any driving privileges, such as arestricted or hardship license. Currently, New
Mexico does not meet this requirement, but would with enactment of this bill.

2. Impoundment or immobilization of, or the installation of an ignition interlock
system on, motor vehicles. The State's law must require the impoundment or
immobilization of, or the installation of an ignition interlock on, al motor ve-
hicles owned by the repeat intoxicated offender. To comply with this criterion,
the State law must require that the impoundment or immobilization be im-
posed during the one-year suspension term, or that the ignition interlock sys-
tem be installed at the conclusion of the suspension period. Currently, New
Mexico does not meet this requirement, but would with the amendment.

3. An assessment of their degree of acohol abuse, and treatment as appropriate.
The State's law must require that al repeat intoxicated drivers undergo an as-
sessment of their degree of alcohol abuse and the law must authorize the im-
position of treatment as appropriate. Currently, New Mexico does comply
with this requirement.

4. Mandatory minimum sentence. The State's law must impose a mandatory
minimum sentence on all repeat intoxicated drivers. For a second offense, the
law must provide for a mandatory minimum sentence of not less than five
days of imprisonment or 30 days of community service. For a third or subse-
guent offense, the law must provide for a mandatory minimum sentence of not
less than ten days of imprisonment or 60 days of community service. Cu-
rently, New Mexico does not meet these requirements, but would with the en-
actment of thisbill.

The consequences for driving on a revoked license must be significant and readily enforced in
order to make the revocation provisions meaningful and effective. DWI offenders are known for
their failure to comply with court orders prohibiting their driving. At this time, driving on a re-
voked license is a misdemeanor, the penalty for which may be a term of incarceration. Thus, if
diligently enforced, the result could be a considerable rise in the number of DWI offenders incar-
cerated.

An increase in the mandatory penalties will likely result in more DWI offenders going to tria,
rather than entering into plea agreements. This will impact the District Attorneys Office, Public
Offenders Office, Courts and, if convicted, the Corrections Department

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS

If New Mexico came into compliance with all Federal requirements for the federal highway con-
struction fund, the fund would cease to be sanctioned. The Department’s Federal Highway con
struction fund has been sanctioned $3 million in FY 00, $3 million in FY 01, and $6 million in
FY 02.

The administrative impact on the DMV, state and local law enforcement agencies, the courts and
the Corrections Department will result in higher costs for these agencies.



House Bill 249 -- Page4

ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS

The heightened enforcement activities required of the DMV and state and local law enforcement
personnel may result in a need for additional FTE and budget resources.

The District Attorneys Office, Public Defenders Office, Courts and Correction Department will
see an increase in trials, number of persons incarcerated, and length of incarceration.

TECHNICAL ISSUES

The Administrative Office of the District Attorney’s (AODA) suggests that an alternative would
be to provide for use of the interlock device on convictions of any first DWI, not just an aggra-
vated DWI; to not eliminate the availability of alimited driver’s license for a second DWI nor
increase the mandatory minimum sentence for that offense; and finally to make athird DWI a
felony.

OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES

The AODA suggests the bill has significant implications for socia policy. The AODA states
that athough the bill is intended to deter DWI and more severely punish those convicted of
DWI, whether the increased punishment and consequences for subsequent DWI’s will have a
salutary effect is highly questionable. The AODA indicates the legislation providing for inter-
lock devices of the repeat offender’s vehicle has the most promise for preventing subsequent
DWI arrests.

The Department of Public Safety (DPS) correctly states that the bill eliminates the current proce-
dure by which an individual could obtain a limited license by having an ignition interlock device
installed on their vehicle. The bill denies limited licenses to subsequent DWI offenders under
any circumstances. It is the concern of DPS that this may have an undesirable effect of forcing
individuals faced with license revocation and no option to obtain limited driving permit privi-
leges legally of breaking the law and driving without licensing privileges or insurance in order to
support themselves or their family.
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