1	AN ACT	
2	RELATING TO THE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY COMMISSION; ADDING TWO	
3	LOCAL GOVERNMENT REPRESENTATIVES AND TWO LOCAL	
4	TELECOMMUNICATIONS SERVICE PROVIDER REPRESENTATIVES TO THE	
5	COMMISSION.	
6		
7	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:	
8	Section 1. Section 15-1C-4 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1999,	
9	Chapter 16, Section 4, as amended by Laws 2003, Chapter 49,	
10	Section 4 and by Laws 2003, Chapter 308, Section 4) is	
11	amended to read:	
12	"15-1C-4. COMMISSION CREATEDMEMBERSHIP	
13	A. The "information technology commission" is	
14	created. The commission consists of seventeen members as	
15	follows:	
16	(1) five members appointed by the governor,	
17	three of whom are from agencies whose primary funding is not	
18	from internal service funds;	
19	(2) one staff member with telecommunications	
20	regulatory experience appointed by the chair of the public	
21	regulation commission;	
22	(3) two members representing education, one	
23	appointed by the secretary of higher education and one	
24	appointed by the secretary of public education;	
25	(4) two members from the national	SB 541 Page l

laboratories;

1

2 three members appointed by the governor (5) 3 to represent the public with information technology and management experience, but who are not employees of the state 4 5 or a political subdivision of the state and who do not have any financial interest in the state information systems or 6 The public members shall serve for 7 state contracts. staggered three-year terms; 8 two members appointed by the governor to 9 (6) represent local government, one appointment to be selected by 10 the governor from a list of three names provided by the New 11 Mexico association of counties and one appointment to be 12 selected by the governor from a list of three names provided 13 by the New Mexico municipal league; and 14 15 (7) two members appointed by the governor to represent local telecommunications service providers. 16 Additionally, the following advisory members 17 Β. may serve on the commission: 18 two members from the judicial 19 (1) 20 information systems council appointed by the chair of that council; 21 (2) one staff member from the legislative 22 council service and one staff member from the legislative 23 finance committee, appointed by their respective directors; 24 and 25

SB 541 Page 2

1	(3) the chief information officer.	
2	C. Members of the commission, except the three	
3	public members appointed by the governor, may select	
4	designees to represent them and vote on their behalf.	
5	D. The members of the commission who are not	
6	supported by public money, or their designees, may receive	
7	per diem and mileage pursuant to the Per Diem and Mileage	
8	Act, but shall receive no other compensation, perquisite or	
9	allowance.	
10	E. The commission shall elect a chair and vice	
11	chair from the active membership of the commission for	
12	two-year terms.	
13	F. The commission shall meet at least semiannually	
14	and may meet at the call of the chair or a majority of the	
15	members."	SB 541
16		Page 3
17		
18		
19		
20		
21		
22		
23		
~ .		
24		
24 25		