A MEMORIAL

RECOGNIZING JANUARY 19, 2007 AS "SCHOOLS ON THE RISE DAY" IN THE NEW MEXICO SENATE AND RECOGNIZING ELEVEN SCHOOLS ON THE RISE AND EIGHTEEN QUALITY SCHOOL DISTRICTS IN WHICH ALL OF THE SCHOOLS IN THE DISTRICT HAVE MET ADEQUATE YEARLY PROGRESS.

WHEREAS, New Mexico's standards, assessments and school accountability are now among the best in the country; and

WHEREAS, the quality counts 2006 report indicates that teacher quality has improved for the fourth straight year, demonstrating that educators in New Mexico are raising the bar for all students; and

WHEREAS, closing the achievement gap in New Mexico's schools should be a matter of concern for all residents of the state; and

WHEREAS, three hundred seventy-two of the state's public schools are meeting or exceeding adequate yearly progress, and eighteen districts have been recognized as "Quality Districts" in which all schools made adequate yearly progress for the school year 2005-2006; and

WHEREAS, through quality leadership and high expectations for students, eighteen districts achieved the high standard of all schools in the district meeting or exceeding adequate yearly progress, including: Animas public

schools; Capitan municipal schools, Cimarron municipal schools, Clayton public schools; Cloudcroft municipal schools; Elida municipal schools; Fort Sumner municipal schools; Hondo Valley public schools; Logan municipal schools; Los Alamos public schools; Melrose public schools; Mosquero municipal schools; Roy municipal schools; San Jon municipal schools; and Texico municipal schools; and

WHEREAS, through the hard work and dedication of faculty and administrators, eleven public schools have achieved the standard of adequate yearly progress for two consecutive years and are no longer designated as schools in need of improvement, including: Eugene Field elementary school from Albuquerque public schools; Central primary school and Bloomfield childhood learning center from Bloomfield municipal schools; Dixon elementary school from Espanola public schools; Anthony elementary school from Gadsden independent schools; Milan elementary school and Laguna-Acoma middle school from Grants-Cibola county schools; Tome elementary school from Los Lunas public schools; Nob Hill elementary school and Sierra Vista primary school from Ruidoso municipal schools; Dowa Yalanne elementary school from Zuni public schools;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that January 19, 2007 be designated as "Schools on the Rise Day" to honor and showcase the eleven

schools identified as meeting or exceeding adequate yearly progress for the last two school years; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that "Schools on the Rise Day" also recognize the eighteen school districts that are "Quality Districts", in which one hundred percent of all of the school district's schools met or exceeded annual yearly progress in the school year 2005-2006; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the public education department; Eugene Field elementary school from Albuquerque public schools, Central primary school and Bloomfield childhood learning center from Bloomfield municipal schools, Dixon elementary school from Espanola public schools, Anthony elementary school from Gadsden independent schools, Milan elementary school and Laguna-Acoma middle school from Grants-Cibola county schools, Tome elementary school from Los Lunas public schools, Nob Hill elementary school and Sierra Vista primary school from Ruidoso municipal schools and Dowa Yalanne elementary school from Zuni public schools.

SM 3 Page 3