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F I S C A L    I M P A C T    R E P O R T 
 

 
SPONSOR Park 

ORIGINAL DATE  
LAST UPDATED 

2/6/07 
 HB 503 

 
SHORT TITLE Classroom Teacher Income Tax Credit SB  

 
 

ANALYST Francis 
 

REVENUE (dollars in thousands) 
 

Estimated Revenue  Recurring 
or Non-Rec 

Fund 
Affected 

FY07 FY08 FY09   

($3,300.0) ($13,200.0) ($11,000.0) Recurring General Fund 

   
 (Parenthesis ( ) Indicate Revenue Decreases) 
 
Relates to HB117 
 
SOURCES OF INFORMATION 
LFC Files 
 
Responses Received From 
Taxation and Revenue Department (TRD) 
 
SUMMARY 
 

Synopsis of Bill 
 
House bill 503 amends the Income Tax Act to allow a credit to classroom teachers in either 
private or public schools of $500.00 provided the teacher earns has taxable income of no more 
than $100,000. 
 
The effective date is January 1, 2007. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
There are approximately 23,000 teachers in both public and private primary and secondary 
schools and about 95 percent of them are expected to qualify for the full amount of the credit.  
As the average teacher’s salary is approximately $39,000 and the entry level is approximately 
$30,000 which means that virtually all of the ones will qualify for the full credit.  For 2007, the 
credit is expected to reduce personal income tax revenues which flow to the general fund by $11 
million (22,000 * $500).  Due to the timing of the legislation, it’s assumed that 30 percent of the 
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2007 impact will be in FY07 and the remainder in FY08.  The impact for 2008 is divided evenly 
between FY08 and FY09. 
 
Table 1: Teacher Salaries in NM 

SOC 
Code Occupational Title Industry 

Title 
Entry 
Level 

Mean 
(average) Median Experienced

252012 
Kindergarten Teachers, 
Except Special 
Education  

Total, All 
Industries $29,826.00 $38,185.00 $37,291.00 $42,364.00

252022 
Middle School 
Teachers, Except 
Special and Vocatio 

Total, All 
Industries $29,977.00 $38,578.00 $37,450.00 $42,879.00

252031 
Secondary School 
Teachers, Except 
Special and Voca 

Total, All 
Industries $30,349.00 $41,411.00 $39,790.00 $46,942.00

Source: NM Department of Labor 
  
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
The definition of teacher in HB503 includes teachers who work at “during at least nine months” 
in the taxable year for a New Mexico school district or NM-accredited private school and teach 
kindergarten through twelfth grade.  This provision could be construed due to the language as 
any teacher who works during some nine month period.  While the intent is clear to require at 
least nine months employment, the language is ambiguous. 
 
Since virtually all teachers are likely to qualify, Taxation and Revenue Department (TRD) points 
out that it is equivalent to giving a $500 pay raise to all public teachers outside of the normal 
appropriation process. 
 
The Public Education Department (PED) raises some important issues: 

The definition of “classroom teacher” in the bill would exclude duly licensed teachers 
teaching in the state’s institutions and the state’s educational institutions (e.g., School for the 
Visually Impaired, School for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing, New Mexico Military Institute 
and the various juvenile justice and other juvenile treatment facilities operated or licensed by 
the Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD)). 
 
The definition of “classroom teacher,” which understandably is directed only toward those 
teachers actually teaching in a classroom, found n Section 22-1-2(Z) of the Public School 
Code is quite different, which is likely to result in teacher-union disapproval ("teacher means 
a person who holds a level one, two or three-A license and whose primary duty is classroom 
instruction or the supervision, below the school principal level, of an instructional program or 
whose duties include curriculum development, peer intervention, peer coaching or mentoring 
or serving as a resource teacher for other teachers”). 

 
TRD reports that the language does not spell out that PED must accredit the private school and 
could be interpreted as any NM entity providing accreditation. TRD also indicates that the 
proposed statute might be perceived as unfairly penalizing teachers who, with their spouse’s 
income, have over $100,000 in taxable income.  
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TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
TRD: 

Language on page 2, lines 7 thru 12 stating that “an individual who was employed during at 
least nine months of the taxable year” qualifies for the credit is unclear.  One could interpret 
it to mean that the individual could be employed during any part of a nine month period in 
the year since no minimum period of employment is specified.   
 

NF/nt                              


