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SHORT TITLE 

CABLE TV PROVIDER RATE CHANGE 
EXPLANATIONS SB  

 
 

ANALYST Earnest 
 

APPROPRIATION (dollars in thousands) 
 

Appropriation  Recurring 
or Non-Rec 

Fund 
Affected 

FY07 FY08   

NFI NFI   

   
 (Parenthesis ( ) Indicate Expenditure Decreases) 
 
 
 

REVENUE (dollars in thousands) 
 

Estimated Revenue  Recurring 
or Non-Rec 

Fund 
Affected 

FY07 FY08 FY09   

 $0.1* $0.1* Recurring General Fund 

   
 (Parenthesis ( ) Indicate Revenue Decreases) 
*Unknown but possible positive revenue impact from assessment of new penalties.  
 
 
SOURCES OF INFORMATION 
LFC Files 
 
Responses Received From 
Public Regulation Commission (PRC) 
Office of the Attorney General (AOG) 
 
SUMMARY 
 

Synopsis of Bill  
 
House Bill 1129 enacts a new provision of the New Mexico Telecommunications Act, Section 
63-9A-1 to 63-9A-20, to require cable television service operators to deliver written notice of 



House Bill 1129 – Page 2 
 
any increase in cable television rates to the Public Regulation Commission (PRC) within thirty 
days of the effective date of that increase. The notice must request that the PRC set a date, time 
and place for a public meeting where the cable operator shall explain and discuss the need and 
rationale for the increase. If that notice is not given, then PRC must, by its own motion or upon 
the request of an interested party, order the cable operator to appear at a public meeting. 
 
PRC shall impose civil penalties of $1,000/ day, up to $10,000 on a cable operator who fails 
without good cause to comply with the notice requirements or fails to attend a public meeting as 
required and for each day the operator does not contact the Commission to schedule another 
meeting.  The operator may appeal the imposition of a penalty to the District Court.   
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
The fiscal impact would be limited but potentially positive due to new penalties for non-
compliance. 
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
Under federal law, regulation of rates and service quality of the cable television industry is 
shared between the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and the local franchising 
authority, typically local governments in New Mexico.  The local government is allowed to 
determine and collect a "franchise fee" consisting of a percentage of the cable company's annual 
revenues; that franchise fee may vary from one local government to another.    
 
Both OAG and PRC question whether the state has authority under federal law to regulate the 
cable television industry.  Although not directly prescribing state regulation, this bill gives 
additional authority to the PRC, including the imposition of penalties, over cable providers. 
 
According to OAG: 
 

The authority of the state to regulate cable television rates or to punish cable operators for 
failing to comply with state laws attempting to regulate those rates is questionable. 
However, this bill appears to be an attempt to confer authority on the Public Regulation 
Commission to regulate the imposition of rate changes by compelling attendance by cable 
operators at “meetings” and imposing other requirements on those operators with regard 
to rate changes.   
 
Title III of the Federal Telecommunications Act of 1996 eliminated regulation of “non-
basic” (e.g. pay-per-channel, tiered channel services beyond basic cable rates, or pay-per-
view) cable television. Neither the Federal Communications Commission, nor the state, 
has the authority to regulate those rates, or to punish cable operators for failing to comply 
with state laws regarding those rates. Furthermore, small cable operators are also exempt 
from state or federal rate regulation. (http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/csgen.html.) However, 
this bill does not distinguish between basic cable rates and non-basic rates, and does not 
refer to small cable operators which are not subject to any regulation.  
 
Furthermore, the authority of the Public Regulation Commission to regulate any cable 
television rates or the conduct of cable operators with respect to any rate changes is 
uncertain. Regulation of basic cable services rates has been delegated to “local 
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franchising authorities” who are certified by the Federal Communications Commission. It 
does not appear that the Public Regulation Commission has received that designation.   
 
Furthermore, Section 301 of the federal act amended 47 U.S.C. 552 to govern notice to 
subscribers of rate changes. That amendment provides “A cable operator may provide 
notice of service and rate changes to subscribers using any reasonable written means at 
its sole discretion”. Given the possible preemptive effect of that amendment, it is unclear 
as to the authority of the state to require that a cable operator provide additional notice to 
the Public Regulation Commission of a rate change, or to require a cable operator to 
attend a “meeting” regarding a rate change, or to impose penalties on a cable operator 
who does not comply with those requirements.  
 
The bill allows the Commission to impose a penalty on a cable operator who fails to 
attend a public “meeting” for the day of the scheduled hearing, and “for each business 
day after the date of the meeting that the cable operator does not contact the commission 
to schedule another meeting”. However, it does not appear to consider those “meetings” 
to be hearings involving usual due process protections. It does not provide any right to a 
hearing before imposition of penalties. Referring to mandatory hearings as “meetings” 
does not exempt those proceedings from due process requirements.  
 
Imposing a penalty based upon failing to attend a “meeting”, or failing to contact the 
Commission to schedule a meeting, may be construed as an improper exercise of the 
state’s police power to penalize certain conduct implicating the right of free association 
and other individual rights. This is especially significant considering the PRC’s apparent 
lack of authority to regulate cable television rates. 

 
PRC indicates that the only authority it has over cable television is the power to assess a penalty 
upon a cable provider for each occurrence of cramming or slamming or for each disconnection or 
threat to disconnect (Sections 63-9G-1 through 9 NMSA 1978).  PRC staff understands that the 
FCC refers any questions or complaints regarding rates for basic service and equipment, 
installation and service charges to a customer's local government/franchising authority.  This 
shared jurisdiction between the FCC and the local government may call into question the 
authority of the PRC to enforce the civil penalties provided for in this bill.  Furthermore, it is not 
clear whether the duty of the cable company to report the increase to the PRC "within 30 days of 
the effective date of an increase of its rates" is a requirement for the cable company to file 30 
days before or after the effective date.  This question is raised because the daily penalty liability 
commences on the "effective date of the increase." 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS 
 
PRC indicates that any administrative implications could be managed with current resources. 
 
TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
According to PRC, the definition section of the New Mexico Telecommunications Act 
specifically exempts "one-way cable television service" from its regulation of "public 
telecommunications service", the critical phrase that defines the scope of regulation under the 
NM Telecommunications Act.  Also, rural telecommunications companies are exempted from 
regulation under the NM Telecommunications Act and are regulated pursuant to the Rural 
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Telecommunications Act of New Mexico (Sections 63-9H-1 et al); would that mean that a cable 
company that operates in a rural telecommunications company's territory is not subject to the 
provisions of this bill? 
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
PRC questions whether this bill gives PRC authority to regulate cable rates or simply provides a 
forum for the airing of public grievances. 
 
ALTERNATIVES 
 
PRC offers the following alternative: 
 

A more effective remedy may be a bill that mandated local governments/franchising 
authorities to have a public hearing before they would allow a cable company to 
implement any price increases.  In that type of context, the local government/franchising 
authority would have to acknowledge the conflict between the rationale for the increase 
and the                                         ultimate result of the increase:  i.e. an increase in 
revenue to the cable television provider and more revenue coming into the local 
government through an increase in revenues upon which the local government bases its 
franchise fee percentage.  

 
 
 
BE/nt                              


