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SOURCES OF INFORMATION 
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SUMMARY 
 

Synopsis of Bill  
 
Section 66-8-102 NMSA 1978 currently provides that it is unlawful to operate a vehicle with an 
alcohol concentration in one’s blood or breath (“BAC”) of .08 or more.  HB 1233 would amend 
that statute as follows: 

 
A. HB 1233 would make it unlawful to drive a motor vehicle if the operator has:  a BAC of .08 

at the time of driving, .09 or more within one (1) hour of driving and the alcohol 
concentration results from alcohol consumed before or while driving; a BAC of .10 or more 
within two (2) hours of driving and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed 
before or while driving; and a BAC of .11 or more within three (3) hours of driving and the 
alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed before or while driving.   
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B. HB 1233 would make it unlawful to operate a commercial motor vehicle if the operator has:  

a BAC of .04 at the time of driving, .05 or more within one (1) hour of driving and the 
alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed before or while driving; a BAC of .06 
or more within two (2) hours of driving and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol 
consumed before or while driving; and a BAC of .07 or more within three (3) hours of 
driving and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed before or while driving.   

 
C. HB 1233 would redefine aggravated driving under the influence as having:  a BAC of .16 at 

the time of driving, .17 or more within one (1) hour of driving and the alcohol concentration 
results from alcohol consumed before or while driving; a BAC of .18 or more within two (2) 
hours of driving and the alcohol concentration results from alcohol consumed before or while 
driving; and a BAC of .19 or more within three (3) hours of driving and the alcohol 
concentration results from alcohol consumed before or while driving.   

 
HB 1233 also amends NMSA 66-8-110 by providing that tests performed under the Implied 
Consent Act more than three (3) hours after driving may be introduced as evidence of the alcohol 
concentration in the defendant’s blood at the time of the test and the trier of fact can then 
determine what weight to give to the test result.   
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
According to the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT), “federal requirements 
mandate states to implement a strict BAC.04 law for Commercial Driver License holders.  A bill 
was passed in the 2004 Legislative session to bring New Mexico into compliance.  However, this 
bill would impact the strict BAC .04 provision.  If the State does not have this law, the New 
Mexico Department of Transportation will be subject to a 5% withholding of Federal 
Construction Funds (approximately $10 Million) the first year, and 10% (approximately $20 
million) in subsequent years.”    
 
The bill would probably result in a minimal to moderate increase in the number of DWI 
convictions because the “expanded testing window” will bring more individuals into the scope of 
the law.  The bill will probably cause a minimal to moderate increase in the Correction 
Department’s prison population and probation/parole caseloads.  However, is difficult to 
estimate just how many new convictions will result if this bill becomes law.  The bill does not 
make any appropriation to cover any increases in prison population and probation/parole 
caseloads that the bill is likely to cause.   
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
 
In State v. Day, 140 N.M. 544, 14 P.3d 103 (Ct.App. 2006), the Court of Appeals held that, in 
prosecuting DWI cases, the State must introduce evidence regarding BAC of the defendant at the 
time the driver was operating the vehicle.  The Court rejected the State’s argument that NMSA 
66-8-102(C) (1) creates a statutory presumption of intoxication for BAC readings of .08 or 
greater when no significant delay occurs between driving and testing and held that a “reasonable 
amount of time” and “no significant delay” are much too uncertain for any presumption or for a 
rational jury inference of a .08 BAC or more at the time of driving. 
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The Scientific Laboratory Division of the Department of Health (“SLD”) has a limited number of 
experts available to provide the scientific extrapolation evidence demanded by the Court of 
Appeals; therefore, the effective prosecution of DWI cases in New Mexico has been jeopardized 
by the holding in Day. 
 
The Court of Appeals further stated in Day, however, that the “difficulty of proof in using the 
scientific retrograde extrapolation process to prove a BAC at the time of driving is an important 
reason why our Legislature should address the need for effective legislation.”  This legislation is 
an attempt on the part of the Legislature to address the issue raised in Day by eliminating the 
need for an expert SLD witness in most DWI prosecutions in the state. 
 
PERFORMANCE IMPLICATIONS 
 
As provided above, if adopted, the bill would address the holding of the Court of Appeals in 
State v. Day and eliminate the need for an expert SLD witness in most DWI prosecutions in the 
state. 
 
ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS 
 
According to the Administrative Office of the District Attorney, because HB 1233 is 
scientifically unsound, the long term impact of HB 1233 would be to make prosecution of DWI 
cases based upon per se blood or breath alcohol levels much more difficult, and would probably 
have an adverse effect within the State. 
 
HB 1233 proposes a time-dependent increase in legal blood alcohol level for instances when the 
alcohol test is taken at 1, 2, and 3 hours after the traffic stop, based upon the idea that blood 
alcohol levels decline over time. However, a time-dependent increase is unnecessary, because it 
has been documented in refereed scientific journals that blood alcohol concentrations do not 
change over a period of 2 hours after the traffic stop for DWI. Between 2 and 3 hours after the 
traffic stop, if the alcohol levels change at all from the time of driving, they will decline slightly 
by perhaps 0.01-0.02 %.  It is only after 2-3 hours that the blood alcohol begins a linear decline 
with time.  Therefore, adjustment of the legal blood alcohol limits is not necessary within 3 hours 
of the traffic stop. 
Furthermore, if one wanted to compensate for the physiological decline in blood alcohol levels 
over time, one could do it by adjusting the legal blood alcohol downward over time which is the 
opposite of what is proposed in HB 1233. The time-dependent adjustment of legal blood alcohol 
levels upward proposed by HB 1233 actually has the opposite effect of what is intended by the 
sponsor.  That is, it effectively increases the legal limit for blood alcohol at the time of driving 
above 0.08%.  Blood alcohol level has been demonstrated to plateau for at least 2 hours of the 
traffic stop, so a time-dependent adjustment over this time period is unnecessary and could be 
seriously problematic.  
 
RELATIONSHIP 
 
No other bills duplicate HB 1233. 
 
The following bills relate to HB 1233: SB 443, HB 403, HB 420 and SB 440.  However, each of 
these bills provides a three hour window for testing after operation of the vehicle without 
providing the sliding scale set forth in HB 1233.   
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HB 1247 likewise relates to HB 1233, but provides a two hour window for testing after operation 
of the vehicle without providing the sliding scale set forth in HB 1233.   
 
TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
It will be difficult to “group” DWI defendants into a .09 or .10 or .11 category, etc. Proposed 
Section C (1) and (2) seems to categorize all intoxicated drivers of either ordinary vehicles or 
commercial vehicles as having similar blood alcohol levels after a certain time period passes. 
That is unrealistic based on our lack of knowledge as to defendant’s metabolic rate, elimination 
rate, meals eaten that day, amount of drinks ingested that day, type of alcohol ingested that day, 
medical history, etc.  
 
OTHER SUBSTANTIVE ISSUES 
 
This escalating scale is contrary to the available research on this issue.  Research shows that a 
person’s BAC after being stopped for a DWI is likely to “level off” for up to a two hour period.  
Then, for each additional hour, the person’s BAC would drop approximately .01 per hour.  For 
example, if a person was stopped at 8:00 p.m. with a BAC of .08, the person would still likely 
have a BAC of .08 at 10:00 p.m. At 11:00 p.m., the person would likely have a BAC of .07, at 
12:00 midnight a BAC of .06, etc.  However, this bill would require this same person to have a 
BAC of .10 at 10:00 p.m. and a BAC of .11 at 11:00 p.m., etc. This is a lower standard and is 
contrary to available research.     
 
ALTERNATIVES 
 
Revising HB 1233 to include accurate scientific data in regards to BAC levels.  
 
WHAT WILL BE THE CONSEQUENCES OF NOT ENACTING THIS BILL 
 
Status quo, meaning that if DUI laws are not amended, post-State v. Day, if a driver is charged 
with driving while intoxicated and the prosecution lacks evidence of “driving impairment to the 
slightest degree” or chooses to proceed exclusively under per se DUI, which requires proof of a 
breath or blood alcohol concentration [BAC] at or above a defined level at the time of driving, 
BAC test results, obtained after the time of driving, will have to be related back to the BAC at 
the time of driving through scientific evidence.   
 
CS/mt                             


