1	HOUSE BILL 395
2	48TH LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2008
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Kathy A. McCoy
5	
6	
7	
8	FOR THE WATER AND NATURAL RESOURCES COMMITTEE
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO WATER; AMENDING A SECTION OF THE WATER PROJECT
12	FINANCE ACT TO PROVIDE FOR A REPRESENTATIVE OF MUTUAL DOMESTIC
13	WATER CONSUMERS ASSOCIATIONS ON THE WATER TRUST BOARD.
14	
15	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
16	Section 1. Section 72-4A-4 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001,
17	Chapter 164, Section 4, as amended) is amended to read:
18	"72-4A-4. WATER TRUST BOARD CREATED
19	A. The "water trust board" is created. The board
20	is composed of the following [sixteen] <u>seventeen</u> members:
21	(1) the state engineer or the state engineer's
22	designee;
23	(2) the secretary of finance and
24	administration or the secretary's designee;
25	(3) the <u>chief</u> executive [director] <u>officer</u> of
	.170729.1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete

1 the New Mexico finance authority or the [executive director's] 2 officer's designee; 3 the secretary of environment or the (4) 4 secretary's designee; (5) 5 the secretary of energy, minerals and natural resources or the secretary's designee; 6 7 the director of the department of game and (6) fish or the director's designee; 8 9 the director of the New Mexico department (7) 10 of agriculture or the director's designee; 11 (8) the executive director of the New Mexico 12 municipal league or the executive director's designee; 13 the executive director of the New Mexico (9) 14 association of counties or the executive director's designee; 15 [five] six public members appointed by (10) 16 the governor and confirmed by the senate and who represent: 17 (a) the environmental community; 18 (b) an irrigation or conservancy 19 district that uses surface water; 20 (c) an irrigation or conservancy 21 district that uses ground water; 22 (d) the New Mexico acequia [water users; 23 and] association; 24 (e) soil and water conservation 25 districts; and .170729.1 - 2 -

bracketed material] = delete

underscored material = new

1	(f) mutual domestic water consumers			
2	associations;			
3	(ll) one public member appointed by the Indian			
4	affairs commission; and			
5	(12) the president of the Navajo Nation or the			
6	president's designee.			
7	B. The chair of the board shall be elected by a			
8	quorum of the board members. The board shall meet at the call			
9	of the chair or whenever three members submit a request in			
10	writing to the chair, but not less often than once each			
11	calendar year. A majority of members constitutes a quorum for			
12	the transaction of business. The affirmative vote of at least			
13	a majority of a quorum present shall be necessary for an action			
14	to be taken by the board.			
15	C. Each public member of the board appointed by the			
16	governor shall be appointed to a four-year term. [To provide			
17	for staggered terms, two of the initially governor-appointed			
18	public members shall be appointed for terms of two years and			
19	three members for terms of four years. Thereafter] All			
20	governor-appointed members shall be appointed for four-year			
21	staggered terms. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by			
22	the governor for the remainder of the unexpired term.			
23	D. Public members of the board shall be reimbursed			
24	for attending meetings of the board as provided for nonsalaried			
25	public officers in the Per Diem and Mileage Act and shall			
	.170729.1			

- 3 -

	1	receive no other compensation, perquisite or allowance.
	2	E. Public members of the board are appointed public
	3	officials of the state while carrying out their duties and
	4	activities under the Water Project Finance Act."
	5	- 4 -
	6	
	7	
	8	
	9	
	10	
	11	
	12	
	13	
	14	
	15	
	16	
<u>new</u> delete	17	
new del	18	
E] =	19	
<u>underscored material</u> [bracketed material]	20	
<u>mat</u>	21	
<u>red</u>	22	
<u>rscc</u> eket	23	
<u>unde</u> [bra	24	
PI —	25	
		.170729.1