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FISCAL IMPACT REPORT

ORIGINAL DATE 02/02/08
SPONSOR  Miera LAST UPDATED HB 558

SHORT TITLE Educational Assistant Minimum Salaries SB

ANALYST Hanika-Ortiz

APPROPRIATION (dollars in thousands)

Appropriation Recurring Fund
Pprop or Non-Rec Affected
FYO08 FY09
$33,716.0 Recurring General Fund

(Parenthesis () Indicate Expenditure Decreases)

SOURCES OF INFORMATION
LFC Files

Responses Received From
State Personnel Office (SPO)
New Mexico Higher Education Department (NMHED)

SUMMARY

Synopsis of Bill

HB 558 appropriates $33.716 million from the General Fund to PED for expenditure in FY09 to
distribute to school districts and charter schools to provide minimum salaries for educational
assistants who meet the educational qualifications provided in Section 22-10A-17.1 NMSA
1978.

FISCAL IMPLICATIONS

The appropriation of $33.716 million contained in this bill is a recurring expense to the General
Fund. Any unexpended or unencumbered balance remaining at the end of FY09 shall revert to
the General Fund.

The LFC budget recommendations for the PED in FY09 included a 2% salary increase; and, an
additional 1% for a total of 3% for a certain category of employees, which included educational
assistants.
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SIGNIFICANT ISSUES

HB 558 sets a minimum salary of $12,000 annually for educational assistants and establishes
minimum salary pay according to educational requirements.

For the 2008-2009 school years, educational assistants who have a minimum of thirty hours
approved academic credit will be given a pay increase to the minimum salary of $12.69. If the
employee holds an associate’s degree or at least sixty hours approved academic credit, the
minimum hourly wage will be $16.91. If the employee holds a bachelors degree or at least ninety
hours approved academic credit, the minimum hourly wage will be $21.13.

At least fifteen hours of approved academic credits shall include courses similar to language arts,
reading or language arts, or reading pedagogy; writing or writing pedagogy; mathematics or
mathematics pedagogy; reading, writing and mathematics readiness; professional education,
classroom management, teaching assistance or special education; and/or early childhood
development. The PED will be expected to promulgate rules to implement the new provisions.

PERFORMANCE IMPLICATIONS

Teacher education programs at institutions in the state of New Mexico offer courses and
programs for educational assistants to attain 2-year and 4-year degrees. According to the No
Child Left Behind Act, in order for educational assistants to become highly qualified they must
have in place an associate degree in a teacher education field of study.

ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS

It is assumed that PED will administer the funds.

CONFLICT, DUPLICATION, COMPANIONSHIP, RELATIONSHIP

HB 558 is a duplicate bill to SB 484

TECHNICAL ISSUES

NMHED notes that as "Public Education" has been stricken from the statute, yet “department”
remains in the language, it may be unclear which department this legislation refers.

WHAT WILL BE THE CONSEQUENCES OF NOT ENACTING THIS BILL

Employee’s performing work as educational assistants will continue to operate under each school
districts classification and pay system.
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