A MEMORIAL

REQUESTING THE NEW MEXICO LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL TO ASSEMBLE A

TASK FORCE TO STUDY THE STATUS AND IMPACT OF DISTRICTS CREATED

TO ENCOURAGE DEVELOPMENT IN NEW MEXICO.

WHEREAS, special districts that are created to encourage development, such as tax increment development districts, infrastructure development zones, public improvement districts, business improvement districts and metropolitan redevelopment areas, have attracted great interest in recent years; and

WHEREAS, four tax increment development districts have been created since 2006 and others are being considered for creation; and

WHEREAS, legislation creating new models of development tools or suggesting changes to old forms of development tools is suggested each year; and

WHEREAS, the several forms of special districts that are authorized to be created by statute to aid development in the state and to which the power to require imposition of taxes or to use a portion of existing taxes from within the districts for the purposes for which the districts are created are confusing and the impact of these districts on the local tax base has not yet been studied or determined;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF

REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that the New Mexico legislative council be requested to create a task force to study the status, merit, use and impact of the various districts authorized in statute created to aid development in the state; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force include members who are legislators and stakeholders, such as developers, representatives of local government, county assessors, urban planners, economists and municipal finance experts and legislative and state agency experts on development districts; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that information be gathered from knowledgeable and involved individuals who either support or express concerns about development districts; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the co-chairs of the New Mexico legislative council, the secretary of taxation and revenue, the secretary of economic development, the secretary of finance and administration, the secretary of public education, the bureau of business and economic research at the university of New Mexico and the governor.