1	AN ACT	
2	RELATING TO MAGISTRATE COURTS; ELIMINATING CIRCUITS IN THE	
3	COLFAX, GUADALUPE, LEA AND QUAY MAGISTRATE DISTRICTS; MOVING	
4	THE THOREAU DIVISION TO GALLUP IN THE MCKINLEY DISTRICT;	
5	ELIMINATING A DIVISION IN THE LEA MAGISTRATE DISTRICT.	
6		
7	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:	
8	Section 1. Section 35-1-7 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,	
9	Chapter 62, Section 9, as amended) is amended to read:	
10	"35-1-7. MAGISTRATE COURTCOLFAX DISTRICTThere	
11	shall be two magistrates in Colfax magistrate district,	
12	division l in Raton and division 2 in Springer."	
13	Section 2. Section 35-1-13 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,	
14	Chapter 62, Section 15, as amended) is amended to read:	
15	"35-1-13. MAGISTRATE COURTGUADALUPE DISTRICTThere	
16	shall be one magistrate in Guadalupe magistrate district	
17	whose principal court is in Santa Rosa."	
18	Section 3. Section 35-1-16 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968,	
19	Chapter 62, Section 18, as amended) is amended to read:	
20	"35-1-16. MAGISTRATE COURTLEA DISTRICT	
21	A. Through December 31, 2010, there shall be five	
22	magistrates in Lea magistrate district, division l in	
23	Lovington, divisions 2 and 5 operating as a single court in	
24	Hobbs, division 3 in Eunice and division 4. The division 3	
25	magistrate shall ride circuit to Jal on a regularly scheduled	SB 2 Page

SB 239 Page 1

basis and shall ride circuit to Hobbs as needed. The 2 division 4 magistrate shall ride circuit to Lovington, Hobbs 3 and Eunice.

1

4

5

6

7

8

9

22

25

On January 1, 2011, there shall be four Β. magistrates in the Lea magistrate district, divisions 1 and 2 operating as a single court in Hobbs, division 3 in Eunice The division 3 magistrate shall and division 4 in Lovington. ride circuit to Jal on a regularly scheduled basis and shall ride circuit to Hobbs as needed.

10 C. Magistrate judges shall not be elected at large from the district but shall be elected by the voters of the 11 division for which the magistrate sits. Magistrate judges 12 shall reside in their divisions but shall have district-wide 13 jurisdiction. For the 2010 and subsequent elections, the 14 15 composition of the divisions for elections and residence purposes is as follows: 16

division 1 is composed of Lea county 17 (1)precincts 23 through 30, 32 and 41 through 43; 18

(2) division 2 is composed of Lea county 19 20 precincts 33 through 35, 44, 51 through 55 and 61; (3) division 3 is composed of Lea county 21 precincts 20, 22, 31, 36, 62 and 71 through 74; and

division 4 is composed of Lea county (4) 23 precincts 2, 3, 10 through 18 and 21." 24

> Section 4. Section 35-1-20 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, SB 239

8

9

10

1

Chapter 62, Section 22, as amended) is amended to read:

"35-1-20. MAGISTRATE COURT--MCKINLEY DISTRICT.--There shall be three magistrates in McKinley magistrate district, divisions 1, 2 and 3 operating as a single court in Gallup. The division 3 magistrate shall ride circuit to Thoreau."

Section 5. Section 35-1-23 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, Chapter 62, Section 25, as amended) is amended to read:

"35-1-23. MAGISTRATE COURT--QUAY DISTRICT.--There shall be one magistrate in Quay magistrate district whose principal court is in Tucumcari."

Section 6. TEMPORARY PROVISION--CLERK POSITIONS--OTHER 11 RESOURCES. -- The magistrate court clerk positions assigned to 12 the magistrate courts shall not be decreased as a result of 13 this act, but the administrative office of the courts shall 14 15 reassign positions from the eliminated division in the Lea 16 district to other magistrate courts. The administrative office of the courts shall reassign other resources, 17 including furniture, equipment and supplies, to other 18 magistrate courts as needed. 19

Section 7. EFFECTIVE DATE.--The effective date of the provisions of this act is July 1, 2009.\_\_\_\_\_\_ SB 239 Page 3

21 22 23

24

25

20