## 51ST LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 2013 INTRODUCED BY

James R.J. Strickler

HOUSE BILL 368

AN ACT

RELATING TO ELECTIONS; RENUMBERING PRECINCTS IN SECTION 35-1-27 NMSA 1978 (BEING LAWS 1968, CHAPTER 62, SECTION 29, AS AMENDED) TO COINCIDE WITH THE CURRENT PRECINCT NUMBERS USED IN SAN JUAN COUNTY; MOVING ONE PRECINCT EACH TO DIVISIONS FOUR AND FIVE FROM DIVISION SIX.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:

**SECTION 1.** Section 35-1-27 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, Chapter 62, Section 29, as amended) is amended to read:

"35-1-27. MAGISTRATE COURT--SAN JUAN DISTRICT ELECTION DIVISION PRECINCTS. --

There shall be six magistrate divisions in San Juan magistrate district, each division having its own magistrate. Divisions 1, 4 and 6 shall operate as a single court in Aztec and divisions 2, 3 and 5 shall operate as a .191784.1

bracketed material]

1

2

3

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

single court in Farmington.

- B. Magistrate judges shall not be elected at large from the district, but shall be elected by the voters of the division for which the magistrate sits. Magistrate judges may reside anywhere within the magistrate district and shall have district-wide jurisdiction. The composition of the divisions for elections purposes is:
- (1) division 1 is composed of San Juan county precincts [41, 46, 47, 60 through 67, 69 and 72] 41, 48, 57, 58, 60 through 67, 69 and 72;
- (2) division 2 is composed of San Juan county precincts [1 through 4, 8 through 14, 19 and 82] 1 through 8, 18, 21 and 23 through 25;
- (3) division 3 is composed of San Juan county precincts [<del>20, 22 through 25, 27, 28, 30, 40, 42 through 44 and 49</del>] <u>28, 31, 32, 38 through 40, 42 through 44, 46, 47, 49 and 59</u>;
- (4) division 4 is composed of San Juan county precincts [5 through 7, 15, 16, 53, 57, 71, 79, 81 and 83 through 86] 9 through 17, 19, 20, 50, 53, 71 and 77;
- (5) division 5 is composed of San Juan county precincts [<del>18, 21, 26, 29, 31, 45, 51, 52 and 54</del>] <u>22, 26, 27, 29, 30, 33 through 37, 45 and 51; and</u>
- (6) division 6 is composed of San Juan county precincts [55, 56, 58, 59, 68, 70 and 73 through 76] 52, 54

  .191784.1