# 12 13 14 15 20

16

17

18

19

21

22

23

24

25

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

## SENATE MEMORIAL 66

# 51st legislature - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - second session, 2014

### INTRODUCED BY

William H. Payne

RECOGNIZING THE UNIVERSITY OF NEW MEXICO ON THE ONE HUNDRED TWENTY-FIFTH ANNIVERSARY OF ITS FOUNDING.

A MEMORIAL

WHEREAS, in 1889, the university of New Mexico was established by act of the legislative assembly of the territory of New Mexico; and

WHEREAS, in 1892, Hodgin hall, the first building on campus, was constructed with a budget of thirty thousand dollars (\$30,000); and

WHEREAS, in 1894, the university graduated its first class; and

WHEREAS, in 1912, the university of New Mexico's two hundred students celebrated New Mexico's statehood; and

WHEREAS, in 1922, the university received accreditation; and

.196488.1

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

WHEREAS, in 1945, the state's only college of pharmacy was established, to be followed by the schools of law (1947), medicine (1964) and architecture (1967); and

WHEREAS, in 1966, the first basketball game was played at university arena, known throughout the sports world as the pit; and

WHEREAS, in 1968, the first of the university's four branch campuses was established in Gallup, to be followed by Los Alamos (1980), Valencia county (1981) and Taos (2003); and

WHEREAS, in 1994, the university established the university of New Mexico health sciences center; and

WHEREAS, in 2014, the university will have one hundred seventy-four thousand alumni; and

WHEREAS, on February 28, 2014, the university will celebrate the one-hundred-twenty-fifth anniversary of its founding;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that the university of New Mexico be commended for one hundred twenty-five years of service to the residents of New Mexico; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the university of New Mexico alumni association and to the president of the university of New Mexico.