1	SENATE BILL 65
2	51st legislature - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - second session, 2014
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Jacob R. Candelaria
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO WATER PROJECTS; SPECIFYING THOSE MEMBERS OF THE
12	WATER TRUST BOARD WHO CAN BE ELECTED AS CHAIR.
13	
14	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
15	SECTION 1. Section 72-4A-4 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 2001,
16	Chapter 164, Section 4, as amended) is amended to read:
17	"72-4A-4. WATER TRUST BOARD CREATED
18	A. The "water trust board" is created. The board
19	is composed of the following sixteen members:
20	(1) the state engineer or the state engineer's
21	designee;
22	(2) the secretary of finance and
23	administration or the secretary's designee;
24	(3) the executive director of the New Mexico
25	finance authority or the executive director's designee;
	.195221.1

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete

1 the secretary of environment or the (4) 2 secretary's designee; (5) the secretary of energy, minerals and 3 natural resources or the secretary's designee; 4 the director of the department of game and 5 (6) fish or the director's designee; 6 7 (7) the director of the New Mexico department of agriculture or the director's designee; 8 the executive director of the New Mexico 9 (8) municipal league or the executive director's designee; 10 (9) the executive director of the New Mexico 11 12 association of counties or the executive director's designee; (10) five public members appointed by the 13 14 governor and confirmed by the senate and who represent: the environmental community; (a) 15 (b) an irrigation or conservancy 16 district that uses surface water; 17 an irrigation or conservancy (c) 18 19 district that uses ground water; 20 (d) acequia water users; and (e) soil and water conservation 21 districts; 22 one public member appointed by the Indian (11) 23 affairs commission; and 24 the president of the Navajo Nation or the 25 (12) .195221.1 - 2 -

bracketed material] = delete underscored material = new

1 president's designee.

2 Β. The chair of the board shall be a public member 3 elected by a quorum of the board members. The board shall meet at the call of the chair or whenever three members submit a 4 request in writing to the chair, but not less often than once 5 each calendar year. A majority of members constitutes a quorum 6 7 for the transaction of business. The affirmative vote of at 8 least a majority of a quorum present shall be necessary for an 9 action to be taken by the board.

C. Each public member of the board appointed by the governor shall be appointed to a four-year term. To provide for staggered terms, two of the initially governor-appointed public members shall be appointed for terms of two years and three members for terms of four years. Thereafter, all governor-appointed members shall be appointed for four-year terms. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the governor for the remainder of the unexpired term.

D. Public members of the board shall be reimbursed for attending meetings of the board as provided for nonsalaried public officers in the Per Diem and Mileage Act and shall receive no other compensation, perquisite or allowance.

E. Public members of the board are appointed public officials of the state while carrying out their duties and activities under the Water Project Finance Act."

- 3 -

.195221.1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [<del>bracketed material</del>] = delete 10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25