1	SENATE BILL 96
2	51st legislature - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - second session, 2014
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Bill B. O'Neill and Mimi Stewart
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO LOBBYING; PROHIBITING FORMER STATEWIDE ELECTED
12	OFFICIALS, FORMER PUBLIC REGULATION COMMISSIONERS, FORMER
13	LEGISLATORS AND FORMER CABINET SECRETARIES FROM ACCEPTING
14	COMPENSATION AS LOBBYISTS FOR A PERIOD OF TWO YEARS AFTER THEIR
15	SERVICE; PROHIBITING EMPLOYERS OF LOBBYISTS FROM COMPENSATING
16	FORMER STATEWIDE ELECTED OFFICIALS, FORMER PUBLIC REGULATION
17	COMMISSIONERS, FORMER LEGISLATORS AND FORMER CABINET
18	SECRETARIES AS LOBBYISTS FOR A PERIOD OF TWO YEARS AFTER
19	SERVICE; IMPOSING A PENALTY.
20	
21	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
22	SECTION 1. A new section of the Lobbyist Regulation Act
23	is enacted to read:
24	"[ <u>NEW MATERIAL</u> ] RESTRICTION ON LOBBYING BY CERTAIN FORMER
25	PUBLIC OFFICIALSPENALTY
	.195466.1

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete

A. A former statewide elected official, a former public regulation commissioner, a former state legislator or a former cabinet secretary shall not accept compensation as a lobbyist for a period of two calendar years after service as a statewide elected official, public regulation commissioner, state legislator or cabinet secretary.

B. A lobbyist's employer shall not compensate a former statewide elected official, a former public regulation commissioner, a former state legislator or a former cabinet secretary as a lobbyist for a period of two calendar years after the person served as a statewide elected official, public regulation commissioner, state legislator or cabinet secretary.

C. A person who violates a provision of this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and upon conviction shall be sentenced pursuant to the provisions of Section 31-19-1 NMSA 1978."

SECTION 2. APPLICABILITY.--The provisions of this act apply to all persons who hold the office of statewide elected official, public regulation commissioner, state legislator or cabinet secretary on or after July 1, 2014.

- 2 -

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

.195466.1