1	HOUSE BILL 362
2	52ND LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 2015
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Paul C. Bandy
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	AN ACT
11	RELATING TO JUDICIAL DISTRICTS; CREATING THE FOURTEENTH
12	JUDICIAL DISTRICT; MODIFYING THE ELEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT;
13	PROVIDING FOR TRANSFER OF JUDGES, DISTRICT ATTORNEYS,
14	PERSONNEL, APPROPRIATIONS, CONTRACTS AND OBLIGATIONS.
15	
16	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO:
17	SECTION 1. Section 34-6-1 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1941,
18	Chapter 75, Section 1, as amended) is amended to read:
19	"34-6-1. JUDICIAL DISTRICTSThe state shall be divided
20	into judicial districts as follows:
21	A. first judicial district, the counties of Santa
22	Fe, Rio Arriba and Los Alamos;
23	B. second judicial district, the county of
24	Bernalillo;
25	C. third judicial district, the county of Dona Ana;
	.199351.1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete

1 fourth judicial district, the counties of D. 2 Guadalupe, San Miguel and Mora; fifth judicial district, the counties of Eddy, 3 Ε. Chaves and Lea; 4 sixth judicial district, the counties of Grant, 5 F. Luna and Hidalgo; 6 7 G. seventh judicial district, the counties of Socorro, Torrance, Sierra and Catron; 8 9 Η. eighth judicial district, the counties of Taos, Colfax and Union; 10 I. ninth judicial district, the counties of Curry 11 12 and Roosevelt; tenth judicial district, the counties of Quay, J. 13 14 DeBaca and Harding; eleventh judicial district, the [counties] Κ. 15 county of McKinley [and San Juan]; 16 twelfth judicial district, the counties of Otero 17 L. and Lincoln; [and] 18 thirteenth judicial district, the counties of 19 Μ. 20 Cibola, Sandoval and Valencia; and N. fourteenth judicial district, the county of San 21 Juan." 22 SECTION 2. Section 34-6-14 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1968, 23 Chapter 69, Section 17, as amended) is amended to read: 24 JUDGES--ELEVENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT.--There "34-6-14. 25 .199351.1 - 2 -

bracketed material] = delete

underscored material = new

1 shall be [eight] three district judges in the eleventh judicial 2 district. [The judges of divisions one, three, four, six and 3 eight shall reside and maintain their principal offices in San Juan county. The judges of divisions two, five and seven shall 4 reside and maintain their principal offices in McKinley 5 county.]" 6 7 SECTION 3. A new Section 34-6-16.1 NMSA 1978 is enacted to read: 8 9 "34-6-16.1. [NEW MATERIAL] JUDGES--FOURTEENTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT.--There shall be five judges in the fourteenth 10 judicial district." 11 12 SECTION 4. TEMPORARY PROVISION--TRANSFER OF JUDGES, DISTRICT ATTORNEYS, PERSONNEL, APPROPRIATIONS, CONTRACTS AND 13 14 OBLIGATIONS.--Judges serving in eleventh judicial district 15 Α. divisions one, three, four, six and eight who maintain their 16 17 offices in San Juan county shall be transferred to divisions one, two, three, four and five, respectively, of the fourteenth 18 19 judicial district, together with all budgets, personnel, money, 20 funds, appropriations, accounts, furniture, equipment, office supplies and other things of value and all contracts, debts, 21 liabilities or other obligations attributable to those 22 divisions. 23 Β. The district attorney serving in the eleventh 24 25 judicial district division one, composed of San Juan county, is .199351.1

- 3 -

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete

transferred to the fourteenth judicial district and shall retain all budgets, personnel, money, funds, appropriations, accounts, furniture, equipment, office supplies and other things of value and all contracts, debts, liabilities or other obligations attributable to division one.

C. The district attorney serving in the eleventh judicial district division two, composed of McKinley county, shall become the sole district attorney for the eleventh judicial district and shall retain all budgets, personnel, money, funds, appropriations, accounts, furniture, equipment, office supplies and other things of value and all contracts, debts, liabilities or other obligations attributable to division two.

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

SECTION 5. TEMPORARY PROVISION--JUDICIAL ELECTIONS.--

A. Candidates running for the position of district judge from divisions one, three, four, six and eight of the eleventh judicial district shall be elected by the qualified voters of San Juan county at the general election held in 2020.

B. Candidates running for the position of district judge from divisions two, five and seven of the eleventh judicial district shall be elected by the qualified voters of McKinley county at the general election held in 2020.

SECTION 6. REPEAL.--Sections 36-1-8.2 and 36-1-8.3 NMSA 1978 (being Laws 1981, Chapter 25, Sections 1 and 2, as amended) are repealed.

.199351.1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete

- 4 -