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Relates to House Bill 129 and Senate Bill 217 
 
SOURCES OF INFORMATION 
LFC Files 
 
Responses Received From 
Public Education Department (PED) 
 
SUMMARY 
 
     Synopsis of Bill  
 
Senate Bill 15 limits the total class time to administer assessments for adequate yearly progress 
(Section 22-2C-4 NMSA 1978) and for the statewide college and workplace readiness 
assessment system (Section 22-2C-4.1 NMSA 1978) to no more than five days each in both the 
fall and spring semester in any school year. 
 
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS  
 
This bill contains no appropriation.  
 
PED indicates HB15 could bring New Mexico out of compliance with the federal Elementary 
and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) waiver that requires implementation of statewide 
standards and assessments, which could result in the state losing up to $120 million in federal 
funding. However, losing the waiver would not automatically lead to the state losing federal 
funds; rather, if the state lost the waiver it would have to comply with adequate yearly progress 
(AYP) as defined under the ESEA. If the state then failed to meet those requirements, it could 
lose federal funding. Additionally, it is not clear from PED’s analysis whether five days per 
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semester is insufficient time to administer federally-required assessments.  
 
PED also notes that if signed into law, the bill could require a major overhaul of state testing 
procedures, which could require additional expenditures over and above money currently 
invested in testing. There is not sufficient information from the department to determine whether 
and how much the tests would need to be adjusted in order to meet the requirements of the bill.  
 
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES 
New Mexico state law requires the following tests: 
 
Statewide assessment and accountability system (Section 22-2C-4 NMSA 1978): 

 (1)   for grades three through eight and for grade eleven, standards-based assessments in 
mathematics, reading and language arts and social studies;   
(2)   for grades three through eight, a standards-based writing assessment with the writing 
assessment scoring criteria applied to the extended response writing portions of the 
language arts standards-based assessments; and   
(3)   for one of grades three through five and six through eight and for grade eleven, 
standards-based assessments in science by the 2007-2008 school year.  

 
Statewide college and workplace readiness assessment system (Section 22-2C-4.1 NMSA 1978): 

 (1)   in grade nine, a short-cycle diagnostic assessment in reading, language arts and 
mathematics to be locally administered in the fall and at least two additional times during 
the year;   
(2)   in grade ten, a short-cycle diagnostic assessment in reading, language arts and 
mathematics that also serves as an early indicator of college readiness, to be locally 
administered at least three times during the year; and   
(3)   in grade eleven, in the fall, one or more of the following chosen by the student:   

(a)   a college placement assessment;   
(b)   a workforce readiness assessment; or   
(c)   an alternative demonstration of competency using standards-based 
indicators.   

 
Information published on PED’s website indicates standards-based assessments administered 
pursuant to Section 22-2C-4 NMSA 1978 generally take less than 11 hours per student. (See 
attachment.) Information on the PED website suggests the department has worked with school 
districts since 2011 to decrease the amount of time consumed by these required tests. While LFC 
staff does not currently have information for time taken for short-cycle assessments as required 
by Section 22-2C-4.1 NMSA 1978, given the time it takes for end-of-course assessments as 
documented in the attachment, it is unlikely that short-cycle take more than 2 hours per subject 
per exam in reading, language arts, and mathematics. According to PED analysis, statewide 
college and workforce readiness assessments as required in this section have never been 
administered; schools use standard one-day national assessments, including the SAT and ACT, 
in their place. Based on this information, it appears administration of these already fall within the 
five day per-semester limit, if the bill is interpreted to mean that the limit applies to the time for 
an individual student to take the tests. 
 
However, the bill’s requirement that “total class time to administer the assessments… shall not 
exceed five days in the fall semester and five days in the spring semester in any school year” is 
unclear as written. It could mean a five day per semester limit per individual student, class, 
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school, or school district or charter school. If it’s construed to mean 5 total days of testing for 
schools, it could be problematic for schools to School districts would be affected much 
differently depending on the intent and interpretation of the bill.  
 
While the bill is limited to tests as required by the statewide assessment and accountability 
system and the statewide college and workplace readiness assessment system, PED and school 
districts may implement additional assessments. For example, PED requires certain assessments 
in order for districts to be eligible to receive funding from certain programs, such as the 
department’s early literacy initiative Reads to Lead. However, these tests are not mandated by 
state law and are not affected by the bill as written. 
 
PED’s analysis states that HB15’s limitation on allowable testing time for statewide assessments 
would render the current assessments unusable, which would bring New Mexico out of 
compliance with the 2012 Elementary and Secondary Education Act waiver the state received 
from the U.S. Dept. of Education. However, given the time estimated for testing as published on 
the PED website, this does not appear to be the case.  
 
Finally, the bill does not address time for test preparation; while the time taken for testing could 
be limited, school districts often spend additional class time preparing for a test.  
 
ADMINISTRATIVE IMPLICATIONS  
 
PED would be required to enforce the testing limits as defined in the bill; this would put more 
administrative burden on the department. Given high vacancy and turnover rates, it is not clear if 
the department would have sufficient resources to oversee the provisions of the bill. 
 
CONFLICT, DUPLICATION, COMPANIONSHIP, RELATIONSHIP 
 
HB 129 and SB 217 both allow for students to receive a waiver from PED-approved college and 
career readiness assessment and other assessments under certain circumstances. 
 
TECHNICAL ISSUES 
 
The term “days” as used in the bill could be interpreted in a variety of ways. For example, does a 
day in which testing takes place counts as a “day” of testing, or just the portion of the day in 
which the test is taken? Depending on how the term is interpreted, the amount of testing allowed 
under the bill could vary significantly.  
 
Also, the bill is unclear in regards to whom or what is the subject of the five day limit – 
individual students, schools, or school districts. This should also be clarified.  
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Over the last 4 years, the Public Education Department, in collaboration with districts, has worked to reduce overall testing time for New Mexico students while still maintaining 

best instructional practices and providing actionable data to educators and parents to better support our students as they prepare for success in college& career. 

GRADE
LEVEL

ASSESSMENT
CONTENT AREA(S) ASSESSMENT NAME

YEAR
PASSED

PRIOR ESTIMATED 
TESTING TIME

2010

ESTIMATED TESTING TIME 
2015

DIFFERENCE
2010 TO 2015

K–1 Reading Interim Assessment (DIBELS)
(screening and monitoring) 2009 3–6 minutes

(3 times/year)
3–6 minutes
(3 times/year)

Same

2 Reading Interim Assessment (DIBELS)
(diagnostic assessment) 2009 6–10 minutes

(3 times/year)
6–10 minutes
(3 times/year)

Same

3 Reading, math, writing Accountability Assessment (PARCC) 2003 10 hours 40 minutes 6 hours 25 minutes 1 hour 20 minute decrease

4 Reading, math, science; 
writing added 2015

Accountability Assessment (SBA/PARCC) 2003 10 hours 40 minutes 9 hours 45 minutes 2 hour 20 minute
decrease

5 Reading, math,
writing Accountability Assessment (PARCC) 2003 10 hours 40 minutes 6 hours 45 minutes 3 hour 55 minute decrease

6 Reading, math; writing added 2015 Accountability Assessment (PARCC) 2003 10 hours 40 minutes 7 hours 25 minutes 3 hour 15 minute decrease

7 Reading, math, science; 
writing added 2015 Accountability Assessment (SBA/PARCC) 2003 10 hours 40 minutes 10 hours 25 minutes 15 minute decrease

8 Reading, math, writing Accountability Assessment (PARCC) 2003 10 hours 40 minutes 7 hours 25 minutes 3 hour 15 minute decrease

9 and 10 Reading, writing, math Interim Assessments
(short-cycle assessments) 2007 30–90 minutes

(3 times/year)
30–90 minutes
(3 times/year)

Same

9* Reading, math, writing Accountability Assessment (PARCC) 2011 None 7 hours 30 minutes 7 hour 30 minute increase

10* Reading, math; writing added 2015 Accountability Assessment (PARCC) 2011 None 7 hours 30 minutes 7 hour 30 minute increase

11** Reading, math, science; 
writing added 2015 Accountability Assessment (SBA/PARCC) 2003 13 hours 40 min 10 hours 30 minutes 3 hour 10 minute decrease

Throughout
High School

All courses for
high school
credit***

EoC/Final Exam 1986 90 minutes per course (district 
determined)

90 minutes per course (district 
determined) Same

New Mexico Statewide Assessment Program: Required Assessments


