## HOUSE MEMORIAL 30

# 52ND LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - FIRST SESSION, 2015

### INTRODUCED BY

Luciano "Lucky" Varela

# A MEMORIAL

DECLARING JANUARY 29, 2015 "SANTA FE COUNTY DAY" IN THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

WHEREAS, in 1852, Santa Fe county was established as one of the first counties in the United States territory of New Mexico; and

WHEREAS, Santa Fe county has within its boundaries the local government jurisdictions of the city of Espanola, the city of Santa Fe and the town of Edgewood; and

WHEREAS, Santa Fe county has within its boundaries the tribal government jurisdictions of the Pueblo of Santa Clara, the Pueblo of San Ildefonso, the Pueblo of Nambe, the Pueblo of Pojoaque, the Pueblo of Tesuque, the Pueblo of Cochiti and the Pueblo of Santo Domingo; and

WHEREAS, Santa Fe county also encompasses many long-.199140.1

inhabited traditional communities; and

WHEREAS, county residents are governed by publicly elected officials on the board of county commissioners, the county clerk, the county assessor, the county treasurer, the county probate judge and the county sheriff; and

WHEREAS, the great variety of cultures and traditions represented in Santa Fe county has created a vibrant and unique community; and

WHEREAS, Santa Fe county honors and promotes the strong traditions and culture of the indigenous people of New Mexico, the Hispanic people of New Mexico and the Anglo people of New Mexico;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that Santa Fe county
residents, past and present, be recognized for their
contributions in creating an inclusive environment honoring the
county's diverse cultures and traditions; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that January 29, 2015 be declared "Santa Fe County Day" in the house of representatives; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the mayor of the city of Espanola, the mayor of the city of Santa Fe, the mayor of the town of Edgewood and the governors of the Pueblo of Santa Clara, the Pueblo of San Ildefonso, the Pueblo of Nambe, the Pueblo of Pojoaque, the Pueblo of Tesuque, the Pueblo of Cochiti and the Pueblo of

.199140.1

Santo Domingo.

- 3 -

.199140.1