Α	MEMORIAL
---	----------

DECLARING	FEBRUARY	16,	2016	"SANTA	FE	COUNTY	DAY"	IN	THE
SENATE.									

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

WHEREAS, in 1852, Santa Fe county was established as one of the first counties in the United States territory of New Mexico; and

WHEREAS, Santa Fe county has within its boundaries the local government jurisdictions of the city of Espanola, the city of Santa Fe and the town of Edgewood; and

WHEREAS, Santa Fe county has within its boundaries the tribal government jurisdictions of the Pueblo of Santa Clara, the Pueblo of San Ildefonso, the Pueblo of Nambe, the Pueblo of Pojoaque, the Pueblo of Tesuque, the Pueblo of Cochiti and the Pueblo of Santo Domingo; and

WHEREAS, Santa Fe county also encompasses many long-inhabited traditional communities; and

WHEREAS, county residents are governed by publicly elected officials on the board of county commissioners, the county clerk, the county assessor, the county treasurer, the county probate judge and the county sheriff; and

WHEREAS, the great variety of cultures and traditions represented in Santa Fe county has created a vibrant and unique community; and

WHEREAS, Santa Fe county honors and promotes the strong SM 33

Page 1

traditions and culture of the indigenous people of
 New Mexico, the Hispanic people of New Mexico and the Anglo
 people of New Mexico;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that Santa Fe county residents, past and present, be recognized for their contributions in creating an inclusive environment honoring the county's diverse cultures and traditions; and

9 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that February 16, 2016 be
10 declared "Santa Fe County Day" in the senate; and

4

5

6

7

8

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be 11 transmitted to the mayor of the city of Espanola, the mayor of 12 the city of Santa Fe, the mayor of the town of Edgewood and 13 the governors of the Pueblo of Santa Clara, the Pueblo of San 14 Ildefonso, the Pueblo of Nambe, the Pueblo of Pojoaque, the 15 Pueblo of Tesuque, the Pueblo of Cochiti and the Pueblo of 16 Santo Domingo.____ SM 33 17 Page 2 18