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FISCAL IMPACT REPORT

ORIGINAL DATE 1/20/16
SPONSOR  James LAST UPDATED HB 68

SHORT TITLE Intentional Child Abuse Penalties SB

ANALYST Klundt

ESTIMATED ADDITIONAL OPERATING BUDGET IMPACT (dollars in thousands)

3 Year Recurring or Fund
FY16 FYl7 FY18 Total Cost | Nonrecurring | Affected
Indeterminate | Indeterminate | Indeterminate
Total but will but will but will Recurring General
increase costs | increase costs | increase costs

(Parenthesis () Indicate Expenditure Decreases)

Relates to HB69

SOURCES OF INFORMATION
LFC Files

Responses Received From

Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC)
Administrative Office of the District Attorneys (AODA)
Public Defender Department (PDD)

Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD)

SUMMARY

Svnopsis of Bill

HB 68 would amend NMSA 1978, Section 30-6-1 to increase penalties for intentional abuse of a
child which does not result in death or great bodily harm. Punishment for a first offense would be
raised from a third degree felony to a second degree felony, while punishment for a second or
subsequent offense would be raised from a second degree felony to a first-degree felony.

The effective date of the enacted bill would be July 1, 2016.
FISCAL IMPLICATIONS
Enhanced sentences over time will increase the population of New Mexico’s prisons and long-

term costs to the general fund. According to the New Mexico Corrections Department (NMCD),
the average cost per day to house an inmate in a state prison is $123, or about $45,250 per year.
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A longer length of stay would increase the cost to house the offender in prison. In addition,
sentencing enhancements could contribute to overall population growth as increased sentence
lengths decrease releases relative to the rate of admissions. The NMCD general fund budget, not
including supplemental appropriations, has grown $5 million, or 7 percent, since FY11 as a
result of growing prison population.

There is no appropriation included in HB68; no additional impact on the operating budgets for
the Children, Youth and Families Department (CYFD) was reported.

The AOC reported any additional fiscal impact to the judiciary would be proportional to the
enforcement of and commenced hearings. Increased penalties cases may result in an increase in
the number of accused persons who will invoke their right to trial and their right to trial by jury.
More trials and more jury trials will require additional judge time, courtroom staff time,
courtroom availability, and jury fees. There will be a minimal administrative cost for statewide
update, distribution and documentation of statutory changes. However, the AOC was unable to
provide any specific estimate for possible fiscal impacts.

The AODA reported a possibility of fiscal impact for District Attorney’s Offices statewide for
additional prosecutorial resources, however no specific estimate was provided.

The PDD reported the proposed change in punishment is not likely to increase caseloads;
however the bill significantly increases the penalty for intentional child abuse resulting in death
making resolution by plea agreement less likely and increasing the number of cases going to
trial. Additionally, the PDD stated such cases will need to be handled by higher-paid, more
experienced attorneys. There could also be an increased need for investigators or experts. Any
increase in the demand or need for more experienced attorneys or other personnel may bring an
associated need for an increase in indigent defense funding to maintain compliance with
constitutional mandates.

SIGNIFICANT ISSUES

CYFD stated negligent abuse of a child and intentional abuse of a child are different with regard
to the mindset of the offender. This bill changes the level of culpability to be more synonymous
with the corresponding level of mindset by increasing the degree of felony when an act of child
abuse is an intentional act.

AOC stated this bill separates out and increases the penalties for intentional child abuse not
resulting in death or great bodily harm from what is currently called abuse not resulting in death
or great bodily harm. The amended language in Section 30-6-1(E) adds the term “negligent”
before the term “abuse,” thus creating a section for negligent abuse and another section for
intentional abuse. The purpose of HB 68 is to enact increased penalties for intentional child
abuse. However, in adding the word “negligent” in Subsection (E), HB 68 is likely to perpetuate
confusion that has existed in in both case law and the Rules for Uniform Jury Instructions. This
issue has been the subject of two recent NM Supreme Court cases, State v Consaul and State v
Montoya.

In State v Consaul, 2014-NMSC-30, the NM Supreme Court expressly overruled prior case law
regarding criminal child abuse stating that, “what has long been called criminally negligent child
abuse should be hereafter labeled reckless child abuse without any reference to negligence.”
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State v Consaul, 2014-NMSC-30, 137, 332 P.3d 850. Consaul explains at great length the
Court’s history of discomfort with language often associated with civil negligence used in the
context of criminal negligence. The Court specifically mentions Section 30-6-1(A)(3) and the
phrase “knew or should have known,” concluding that the legislature must have “intended the
term ‘reckless disregard’ to prevail when ‘knew or should have known’ conflicts.” 1d. §40.

In State v Montoya, 2015-NMSC-10, the NM Supreme Court reiterated its holding in Consaul,
stating that, “thus we now expressly adopt the same rule that *criminally negligent child abuse’
should hereafter be labeled ‘reckless child abuse’ without any reference to negligence.”

A suggestion might be to amend 30-6-1 to reflect the recent NM Supreme Court decisions by
replacing the word “negligent” in Section 30-6-1 with the word “reckless” wherever it appears.
Replace the definition of negligently in Section 30-6-1(A)(3) with reckless

"negligently” refers to criminal negligence and | “reckless” means consciously disregard a

means that a person knew or should have known of
the danger involved and acted with a reckless
disregard for the safety or health of the child.

substantial and unjustifiable risk of such a nature
and degree that its disregard involves a gross
deviation from a reasonable standard of conduct.

Source: AOC

PERFORMANCE IMPLICATIONS

The AOC reported the courts are participating in performance-based budgeting. This bill may
have an impact on the measures of the district courts in the following areas:

e Cases disposed of as a percent of cases filed

e Percent change in case filings by case type

CONFLICT, DUPLICATION, COMPANIONSHIP, RELATIONSHIP

The AOC stated HB68 and HB69 both amend the same section (30-6-1) but have some
inconsistencies. For example, subsection G in HB68 is new material, whereas subsection G in
HB69 is the current subsection H.

The AODA reported a concern regarding a companion bill (HB 69), Intentional Child Abuse
Resulting in Death, which will further amend 30-6-1 to address stronger punishment for
intentional abuse leading to death of a child crimes. The agency believes HB 68 must be enacted
first, and HB 69 thereafter, to avoid a situation where HB 69 changes the law and then, it could
be argued, HB 68 changes it back to its original version, because HB 68 does not include any
changes to the child abuse resulting in death wording.
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Estimated

. Estimated Estimated
Most Serious Annual
. L Increased Increased Increased
Crime Degree Admissions
o Sentence length Cost Per Cost for all
Admission Charge | (average of
Offender Offenders
last 4 years)
Move from 3rd to
2nd Degree Child 31 0.96 $43,295 $1,342,151
Abuse
Move from 2nd to
1st Degree Child 4 4.17 $188,493 $753,974

Abuse

Using the New Mexico Corrections Department’s average cost to incarcerate a male
inmate of $45,250 per year in a state-owned prison.




