1	HOUSE MEMORIAL 50
2	52ND LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2016
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Sarah Maestas Barnes
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	A MEMORIAL
11	RECOGNIZING THE UNIVERSITY OF NEW MEXICO WOMEN'S CROSS COUNTRY
12	CHAMPIONSHIP TEAM.
13	
14	WHEREAS, in one of the most dominating performances in
15	national collegiate athletic association history, the number
16	one university of New Mexico women's cross country team won its
17	first national title on November 15, 2015 at the national
18	collegiate athletic association division one cross country
19	championships; and
20	WHEREAS, the Lobos' championship is the second national
21	collegiate athletic association title in university of New
22	Mexico history; and
23	WHEREAS, the university of New Mexico's talented quad of
24	runners lived up to their reputation as the team to beat,
25	running through the thirty-one-team field to an eighty-point
	.203369.2

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete I

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

victory over runner-up Colorado; and

WHEREAS, New Mexico's margin of victory is the fifth largest in national collegiate athletic association history and the best since 2004; and

WHEREAS, senior Courtney Frerichs led the Lobo runners over the women's six-kilometer course, placing fourth overall in nineteen minutes, forty-eight seconds; and

WHEREAS, Courtney was the Lobos' top runner at four of the five meets at which the team ran in 2015, and her finish is the best in the university of New Mexico women's cross country program history; and

WHEREAS, sophomore Alice Wright was not far behind Courtney, finishing fifth overall, followed by junior Rhona Auckland, who finished thirteenth overall, senior Calli Thackery, who finished fifteenth overall, and senior Molly Renfer, who finished twenty-fourth overall; and

WHEREAS, all five athletes earned all-American honors, making them the first women's team to have five all-Americans in a single championship since Villanova in 2009; and

WHEREAS, rounding out the New Mexico contingent, Heleene Tambet finished seventy-fourth and Whitney Thornburg finished one hundred ninth; and

WHEREAS, New Mexico head coach Joe Franklin had nothing but praise for the championship winners who earned the right to wear turquoise and represent New Mexico;

- 2 -

.203369.2

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete

1	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
2	REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that the university
3	of New Mexico women's cross country team be congratulated on
4	its national collegiate athletic association division one cross
5	country championship win; and
6	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be
7	transmitted to coach Joe Franklin and the university of New
8	Mexico women's cross country team.
9	- 3 -
10	
11	
12	
13	
14	
15	
16	
17	
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
	.203369.2

underscored material = new
[bracketed material] = delete