1	SENATE MEMORIAL 33
2	52ND LEGISLATURE - STATE OF NEW MEXICO - SECOND SESSION, 2016
3	INTRODUCED BY
4	Nancy Rodriguez
5	
6	
7	
8	
9	
10	A MEMORIAL
11	DECLARING FEBRUARY 16, 2016 "SANTA FE COUNTY DAY" IN THE
12	SENATE.
13	
14	WHEREAS, in 1852, Santa Fe county was established as one
15	of the first counties in the United States territory of New
16	Mexico; and
17	WHEREAS, Santa Fe county has within its boundaries the
18	local government jurisdictions of the city of Espanola, the
19	city of Santa Fe and the town of Edgewood; and
20	WHEREAS, Santa Fe county has within its boundaries the
21	tribal government jurisdictions of the Pueblo of Santa Clara,
22	the Pueblo of San Ildefonso, the Pueblo of Nambe, the Pueblo of
23	Pojoaque, the Pueblo of Tesuque, the Pueblo of Cochiti and the
24	Pueblo of Santo Domingo; and
25	WHEREAS, Santa Fe county also encompasses many long-
	.203215.1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete 1 inhabited traditional communities; and

WHEREAS, county residents are governed by publicly elected officials on the board of county commissioners, the county clerk, the county assessor, the county treasurer, the county probate judge and the county sheriff; and

WHEREAS, the great variety of cultures and traditions represented in Santa Fe county has created a vibrant and unique community; and

WHEREAS, Santa Fe county honors and promotes the strong traditions and culture of the indigenous people of New Mexico, the Hispanic people of New Mexico and the Anglo people of New Mexico;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF NEW MEXICO that Santa Fe county residents, past and present, be recognized for their contributions in creating an inclusive environment honoring the county's diverse cultures and traditions; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that February 16, 2016 be declared "Santa Fe County Day" in the senate; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that copies of this memorial be transmitted to the mayor of the city of Espanola, the mayor of the city of Santa Fe, the mayor of the town of Edgewood and the governors of the Pueblo of Santa Clara, the Pueblo of San Ildefonso, the Pueblo of Nambe, the Pueblo of Pojoaque, the Pueblo of Tesuque, the Pueblo of Cochiti and the Pueblo of

- 2 -

.203215.1

<u>underscored material = new</u> [bracketed material] = delete 2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

	1	Sente Demines
		Santo Domingo.
	2	- 3 -
	3	
	4	
	5	
	6	
	7	
	8	
	9	
	10	
	11	
	12	
	13	
	14	
	15	
delete	16	
	17	
	18	
二 二	19	
ria.	20	
[bracketed material] =	21	
ed	22	
cket	23	
[bra	24	
_	25	
		.203215.1

<u>underscored material = new</u>